We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but Customer Service Skills Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Salem
London, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but Customer Service Skills Lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was a nice,clean hotel. There were no amenities and i felt like i paid too much. I had asked for an end room and double checked upon arrival. I was told my room was on an end but it wasn't. The phone didn't work and because i am from Canada, my cell would not work outside the U.S. I asked to move to the room next door and was first told by the front desk person that she wasn't sure and would check. Then she said the hotel was full so no i couldn't. I pointed out that the room next door was unoccupied at that point but she never did get back to me. She did send 2 men to look at the phone and they replaced it with another. It still didn't work and they told me it was my international phone card. I have never had a problem with my phone card. A lady a few doors down offered to let me use her phone and it worked just fine. This would not have ordinarily been an issue but i did have an emergency and needed to call home. I am a diamond member and i expected better treatment. I found the bed and pillows uncomfortable. I had a non smoking room but this didn't stop two of the cleaning staff from smoking on the sidewalk right outside my door despite the signs. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara-BWPHI, Manager at Best Western Pacific Highway Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are thankful that you chose to stay with us recently. Thank you for your nice comments about the cleanliness of our hotel. It is extremely disconcerting that our staff was inattentive, as this is not the typical behavior you should expect when visiting Best Western Pacific Highway Inn. We will be certain to share your feedback with all of our staff and allow more training to ensure a more pleasant experience in the future. We are very sorry; again thank you for your feedback it is our sincere hope that you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    175
    79
    23
    20
See reviews for
161
115
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln City, OR, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This motel was most adequate, especially if you are traveling with a pet. The potty place is convenient and I hope everyone staying there with a pet is a responsible owner. I very much appreciate a nice place to stay and I am usually traveling with my dog.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara-BWPHI, Manager at Best Western Pacific Highway Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Paul,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for giving us such an excellent recommendation! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olympia, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The employees were average. The breakfast was slightly below average. The accommodations were below average. Problems opening the door. Sink fixture was loose. Had to walk across the parking lot for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara-BWPHI, Manager at Best Western Pacific Highway Inn, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Timothy, thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We would like to apologize for the over all issues you had that did not live up to your expectations, and any inconvenience the situations may have caused you. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us another chance to show what we have done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed five nights at this BW Inn while enjoying the sights in and around Salem. The room was large, very clean and well thought out for travelers with suitcases. The continental breakfast was adequate to start the day. Even the pickiest person would have trouble coming up with something wrong.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0untrygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Room very clean. Excellent indoor heated pool .
Service great , Breakfast great .We had a handicap room and
lots of hand holds in the shower.
The first Best Western that I have been to that had a pancake machine .
The internet wifi worked great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Loved the pool and hot tub area - clean and well maintained. Rooms had been updated and wifi was great - even with the hotel being full every night I was there. The biggest downside was the breakfast - minimal healthy options except pieces of fruit, gravy available with no biscuits, and it was very crowded every morning so I ended up eating out instead since it wasn't worth the wait for a continental style breakfast.

Room Tip: I'm guessing the upstairs rooms are quieter than the downstairs since I could hear people on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute and was lured in by the price and proximity to our event... I didn't look very closely at the pictures. When I pulled into the parking lot I was a bit disappoinited to see it had "outside entrances", and I have to admit I was very skeptical as I checked in. However the Lobby was very nicely updated and the clerk was very helpful and knowledgeable. We walked over to our room and I was PLEASANTLY SUPRISED! The rooms had been very nicely remodeled, very clean and not at all what I expected! The beds were comfy and the continental breakfast the next morning was fantastic! It was MORE than worth the price and I am glad we gave this hotel a chance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marnmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
7.0 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites South Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pacific Highway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pacific Highway Inn

Property: Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
Address: 4646 Portland Rd NE, Salem, OR 97305-1657
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pacific Highway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pacific Highway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Salem
Salem Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing