We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopewell Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Salem B&B and Inns
Newport, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

My wife and I spent our first two nights in the Pacific Northwest at Hopewell Bed & Breakfast. From the beginning we felt welcomed and at home. Mike greeted us at the car and helped carry our very heavy luggage to the room, and it only got better from there. The room was clean, spacious and private (you don't feel as if you're intruding upon the owner's living space since the room is basically a separate and self-contained apartment). The space was tastefully decorated, and it was obvious the amount of care that went into the design and construction of the cottage. Breakfasts were terrific. Mike and Penny went out of their way to accommodate my wife's gluten allergy, and the results were delicious (which isn't always the case!). To top it all off, we left after only two days feeling as if we'd made two new friends in Mike and Penny. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. We've stayed at a number of b&b's, and this one ranks at or near the top of the list. If we're out that way again, we'll definitely try to arrange another stay here. I don't often feel compelled to write reviews, but this place and it's wonderful hosts deserve all the positive reviews they can get. They really are that good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
80
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We recently enjoyed three delightful days/nights at the Hopewell B&B hosted by Mike and Penny. From their warm and friendly greeting, to the exceptional breakfasts, to the accommodation and surroundings, we could not have asked for a more pleasant and relaxing stay. Mike and Penny are gracious hosts and they do not let a single need go unfulfilled. We even met Buddy, their family pet, who was also friendly and welcoming. We can hardly wait to return to this little piece of heaven in Hopewell and encourage all of you to experience this wonderful place. Mike and Lisa

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I are not typically a fan of B&B's, but the B&B in Hopewell just outside of Salem OR has changed our mind. Mike and Penny are fantastic hosts and this B&B has so much to offer it would change any ones mind. The cottages as they are called are clean comfortable and beautiful. The breakfasts that Mike and Penny provided each morning were outstanding. On top of this we were traveling on motorcycles and Mike had us park inside his garage, if you could call it that. This garage had a bathroom, television, living room seating and housed Mike and Penny's RV. For anyone traveling on motorcycles this is a great feature to have available to use. Thanks Mike and Penny we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My husband and I came down to Salem for our friend's 70th birthday party. We could only stay one night. Mike greeted us and we felt so welcomed and at home immediately. We stayed in the country cottage which was bright and cheery -- it opened up onto a huge deck where we enjoyed our delicious breakfast. We loved the country setting, complete with duck pond and an entourage of cows and calves who actually trotted up to greet us when Mike yodelled MooCow! What a fun and unique experience for us! Thank you, Mike!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MingLouieStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

My husband and I recently stayed 2 nights in the Lakeside Lodge at Hopewell Bed & Breakfast. The setting is secluded and beautiful, with terrific views of the surrounding landscape. Mike and Penny are friendly and gracious hosts. The rooms are beautifully appointed and the breakfast far surpassed my expectations. We had eggs Benedict the first day and waffles with scrambled eggs and bacon the 2nd day. There was plenty of fresh fruit, juice and coffee both days. And fresh whipped cream and real maple syrup for my waffles! Delicious, hot and served right in your room! Which is a really nice feature if you are looking for privacy. Hopewell is a great location to bike from, and of course visit all of the terrific wineries in the area. Each room has a private deck with Adirondack chairs which we spent plenty of time relaxing in. And a wonderful hot tub that we enjoyed stargazing from both nights. We will definitely return for another weekend when we need to 'get away from it all' and soak up the peaceful landscape and surroundings of Hopewell B&B.

Room Tip: One room has a King size bed, and the other a Queen. The King room is also a little roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful setting, wonderful people and charming room. We had a relaxing stay here and will definitely return. The breakfast was absolutely delicious and Mike and Penny are delightful people. I would highly recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank roncoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Hopewell B & B is a lovely property with two large suites that are beautifully decorated, each with it's own theme. Penny and Mike greet you warmly on arrival and show you to your lovely room. Both rooms are very comfortable and private with all the special touches you expect in a B & B and don't get often enough. They think of all the little things that make you feel pampered,-nice soaps and lotions, luxury bedding, large bathrooms, "kitchenettes" with microwave, refrigerator, dishes, coffee maker and either a toaster oven (in Lakeside Lodge_ or small apartment range (Country Cottage). It is like staying in a luxury, furnished, studio apartment. The stock the fridge with sodas, and also have a good assortment of wine or beer for purchase. There are also assorted teas. In the summer you can enjoy the decks and gas barbecue. They is a hot tub too. The Lakeside Lodge has a log king bed and The Country Cottage a queen. Each room has satellite TV, a DVD player and WiFi. There is a couch in each room. Both have a table and chair set for eating or playing games. Breakfast is served in your room, or weather permitting on your deck, which has a lovely view. If you forget anything, I'm sure you'll find it in the room. Breakfast was delicious-eggs benedict, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. The location is great for peace and quiet, but close to all the towns around Newberg and McMinnville and the wineries. We have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts, and this is definitely one of the best. We hope to return and do some biking.

Room Tip: Either room is great. If you want a king bed, ask for the Lakeside Lodge room. Country Cottage has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 411Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salem
11.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
13.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Best Western Dallas Inn & Suites
9.1 mi away
Best Western Pacific Highway Inn
11.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Red Lion Hotel Salem
#9 of 23 in Salem
3.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hopewell Bed & Breakfast
Address: 22350 Hopewell Rd., Salem, OR 97304
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our suites,in the heart of Wine Country, have private entrances with every creature comfort. The Country Cottage has a queen bed, full kitchen, bath & deck. Our Lakeside Lodge has a king bed, kitchenette, bath with shower & clawfoot tub, deck, covered porch & pond. Both rooms have great views of the Amity Hills & our cattle pasture.Your private decks have barbacues & a shared a hot tub. A warm hearty breakfast is served on your deck or in your room. We have WI-FI, TV, DVD & individual heat & AC. We have tried to think of everything for your comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing