We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike and Penny are the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hopewell Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Salem B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at Mike and Penny's beautiful bed & breakfast on a road trip through Oregon's wine country. It was the highlight of our trip - to stay on an actual farm with cows in a beautiful, well appointed cottage. The location is perfect - close enough to several wineries, yet quiet and peaceful. Mike and Penny are the sweetest hosts, they gave us great suggestions on wineries and restaurants in the area. Definitely recommended and I hope we get a chance to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rusha_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was the best trip we've had in years. I wanted to surprise my husband with a weekend get-a-way and was a little nervous as he usually does not like B & B's. However, from the photos I had to give it a try and we were SOOO glad. We stayed in the Lakeside cottage and loved the rustic décor. We loved sitting on the porch in the evenings and mornings with our coffee in hand; just enjoying the sounds of the water rippling in the pond outside our front door and the peaceful sounds of "country". Beautifully landscaped Hopewell B & B is charming and we loved it. It was private, cozy, charming and our hosts; Mike and Penny were very gifted in hospitality. It was minutes from the Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum and wonderful restaurants. We hope to return when in need of respite.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trusting7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 3 nights here over Memorial Day weekend, and we enjoyed it immensely. We stayed in the "Country Cottage" which seemed to have everything from a kitchenette with a small oven, microwave and refrigerator/freezer to soft drinks and coffee. The room was nicely decorated and fairly big. The porch overlooked a small pond and a large grassy field - very beautiful and relaxing.

The location is pretty much in the middle of nowhere, but in a good way. It's very close to wineries and about 15 minutes from McMinnville, which has some really good restaurants, but it's very rural and peaceful.

Mike and Penny know a lot about the area and were able to give us good advice about wineries and restaurants. They also make great breakfasts which were big enough that we were able to skip lunch.

Overall, we had a great time and really enjoyed this place. We'll definitely be staying here again the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottKeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 2 nights in mid-Oct 2013 at the Hopewell B&B, we wanted to relax and see the fall colors. We were able to do both at this wonderful B&B. Mike and Penny were gracious and friendly, and provided all we needed for our relaxing getaway. We enjoyed the pond, feeding the cows, the amazing mornings with the sun rising on the beautiful fields and fall colors The cottage we stayed in was clean and comfortable; it included a full kitchen with soft drinks, coffee and popcorn; and we could purchase beer or wine to enjoy on the deck. Breakfast was served in our room which we really enjoyed -- it just seemed more relaxing and intimate. . It is close to 3rd Street in McMinnville where there are great restaurants.

We have only lived in Oregon for a relatively short time and rarely plan to re-visit B&Bs or hotels as there are so many we haven't stayed at yet -- Hopewell B&B is definitely one we will re-visit!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I were wrapping up a 4800 mile cross country road trip this past weekend and the last stop was the Hopewell B&B. We had gotten in a little due to the fact that we were unable to not stop at every vista point on the 101 heading north up through OR, but boy were we impressed upon walking in the room. The pictures don't really do it justice as there's just a sense of comfort and welcoming you get there.
The following day we got to really take in the scenery. Wow. You really feel the tranquility of being right in the middle of wine country. After an amazing tour of wineries, we returned to Mike and Penny providing refreshments to a crew that had been working there that day, and joined in on the fun. A quick soak in the hot tub, and a cool-down in the pond (remember: wine), my wife and I settled in on the porch in our bathrobes with a drink in hand and watched the sunset.
Perfect day.
Quick notes: Breakfast is worth the price of admission. Want to own the bed they have in the
lakeside lounge - so comfy might've stayed in all day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acarv19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Mike and Penny were amazing hosts. They truly made our vacation stay a home away from home and we cannot wait to visit again. This place was central to our wine tasting extravaganza! Stay here, you will not be disappointed, especially with the insanely good breakfasts!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Hopewell B&B is so much more than just a B&B. It actually consists of two cottages located on a huge, secluded, farm-like property (cows included) in the middle of wine country. We had much more privacy than a typical B&B yet all of those homey, personal touches were present. Plus the owners, Penny and Mike, are the nicest people you'll ever meet. My husband and I stayed in the Lakeside room which was absolutely perfect. It is a fairly large cottage with a king-size bed, living room/TV area, equipped kitchen (no stove) and a very spacious bathroom area which includes a clawfoot tub and separate shower. The Pacific Northwest decor was perfect - so much better than that frilly, Victorian stuff. Penny even places a few pairs of the best socks I've ever worn in a basket near the couch to keep your tootsies warm. I visited two Fred Meyers stores (where she bought them) but I don't think they carry them any longer (whaaaaa!). We dined one night out on the large front porch which overlooks the pasture and a duck pond - a perfect place for stargazing (yes they supply binoculars too!). I can't forget to mention the awesome breakfasts they serve! Huge hot breakfasts accompanied by lots of fresh fruits, OJ and coffee or tea. This all may sound too good to be true but please trust this review! I have stayed in hundreds of hotel/B&B's and this is, by far, the best! And the price is so reasonable for what you get! The day before we stayed here, we paid $150 per night for your typical chain hotel room. So, if you want a couple of days (or more) of serenity to get away from it all (and as a bonus meet a couple of incredible people with a level of kindness that you rarely find in human beings), treat yourself to Hopewell B&B. Sherry & Bob

Room Tip: The porch on the Lakeside room was more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
13.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
11.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
11.3 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
14.5 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hopewell Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hopewell Bed & Breakfast

Address: 22350 Hopewell Rd NW, Salem, OR 97304-9619
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salem
Price Range: £113 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our suites,in the heart of Wine Country, have private entrances with every creature comfort. The Country Cottage has a queen bed, full kitchen, bath & deck. Our Lakeside Lodge has a king bed, kitchenette, bath with shower & clawfoot tub, deck, covered porch & pond. Both rooms have great views of the Amity Hills & our cattle pasture.Your private decks have barbacues & a shared a hot tub. A warm hearty breakfast is served on your deck or in your room. We have WI-FI, TV, DVD & individual heat & AC. We have tried to think of everything for your comfort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing