We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, warm pool, big breakfast and small but filling complementary dinners.”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rooms, warm pool, big breakfast and small but filling complementary dinners.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I have been staying here off and on for about 7 years because my job requires it. Years ago, my husband and young children would accompany me on the weekend stay. It has always been great, the staff remembered us, was always friendly and would go out of their way to accommodate us to the best of their ability. The breakfast has a huge variety, the pool is bath tub warm and wonderful! They have even started to serve a small but very hearty dinner during the beginning of the week. The staff here in recent years is definitely not as friendly as it used to be. I travel a lot, the staff here needs to work in their appearances and how they greet and talk to their guests in comparison with other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stpattyspage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are listening and working to make things better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    37
    14
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
24
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here in January, the hotel is in a great location for getting to multiple stores, staff was super friendly. Breakfast was good and they do dinner a few nights a week! Rooms were clean and roomy! Would definitely stay here again! Thank you to Dorane and staff for making my stay a good one!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awhousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our staff tries hard to make sure every guest has the best possible experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the other Salem location last year, and this one has a higher rating than the other, so we opted for it this summer. Big mistake. This hotel is in dire need of an upgrade... all the fixtures look worn - carpets, tile, tub, etc. Even the dresser/tv stand in our room had a broken drawer that didn't close properly.

There were creepy repair people lingering around at all times. The breakfast was substandard compared to what we've received at other locations. Just not our favorite Comfort experience... in fact, definitely the bottom of the barrel compared to the Albany, other Salem, and McMinnville locations which we thought were fantastic.

I'm sure it was an oversight on the part of housekeeping, but we also found nail clippers and toe nails between the bedside and bedside table on the floor. Kinda gross, and not what I wanted to see when I went to plug in my phone charger.

This one experience wasn't enough to deter us from frequenting the Comfort Suites line of hotels since we've had so many other positive experiences, but we certainly won't be back at this location again.

Room Tip: We always pick the top floor, but this location doesn't offer any vending or ice options on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzlove1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for sharing your comments and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Located very conveniently and in a nice area. Our room was nicely appointed....everything we needed for a one night stay. The breakfast was typical but adequate. If we were in this area again we'd stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mjandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We look forward to having you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks (with a break over the weekend). Dorane, the GM, was always accommodating and friendly. The rest of the staff as well interacted with us and did whatever they could to make our stay a positive one.
Problem arose the 1st night when one of the beds needed some repair. First thing the next morning, Steve, the repairman came in and fixed and maintained both beds. I learned that he is there 3 days a week.
One extra that others have mentioned: Monday-Wednesday they serve a light evening meal! always a tossed salad plus other items. One night was lasagna!
We will definitely return on any future visits to Salem.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room on the WEST end of the building. We had a "two queen" room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okanogan, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I stay at Comfort Inn's and Quality Inns when ever I travel. This is definately on my favorite list. My daughter attends college in Oregon and we love staying at this hotel. Not only is the hotel very clean which is super important to me but they have a wonderful breakfast and even better they have that extra special touch.....They offer a continental dinner on certain days during the week.....it's amazing!! Where do you ever find a continental DINNER??? Very rare in fact this is the only hotel I know of that has ever provided this service. That just goes to show you that they go the extra mile for their customers and I APPRECIATE it!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
We appreciate you taking time to write a review on our hotel. Glad you enjoyed our little extra snack in the evening. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here. We came for the annual convention of Jeovah's Witnesses. We love it here and will be back! The rooms are very spacious and very clean. The hotel staff are all so nice and helpful. The breakfast is great. Really, I can't say enough good about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanaincabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmor055, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you! We appreciate having you stay with us a 2nd time. Hopefully we s
see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
1.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 630 Hawthorne Ave SE, Salem, OR 97301-5096
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Suites® Airport is centrally located between Eugene and Portland in the Willamette Valley, just off Interstate 5. This Salem, OR hotel is only two miles from the Oregon State Capitol and within minutes of several colleges and universities, including Corban College, Western Oregon University, Willamette University and Chemeketa Community College.*Free High Speed Wireless*Complimentary Hot Buffet Breakfast*Evening snacks*Light Dinner snack - Monday thru Wednesday If you're leaving early, a Your Suite Success™ Grab & Go bag is available for the two hours prior to breakfast. Guests are also invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor pool, hot tub and sauna. Business travelers will appreciate access to copy and fax services. *Meeting Facilities also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Salem
Salem Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing