We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Relaxing”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was looking for a place that I could relax and escape the fast-paced world. Wanted something local, close to places that I may wish to visit (like a grocery store, fast-food, restaurant, etc.). Red Lion was the perfect choice, they did not seem to mind when we checked in late. They treated my son like he was a special guest instead of snarling their faces because a child was present. The hotel was very clean and very relaxing! I would go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is our goal to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We want this to be your home away from home, where you can relax and leave it all to us. Locally inspired - seasonally fresh cuisine in our award winning restaurant, soothing libations and cool tunes in the 3301 Ultra Lounge, and a luxurious atmosphere are just some of our wonderful features. We look forward to assisting you in your next escapade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    242
    199
    115
    84
See reviews for
278
168
72
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I travel often for both business and pleasure and are so happy to have found Salem Red Lion. We stayed on the 4th floor in a beautifully appointed room that included a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bathroom and vanity were separate so we could get ready at the same time. The pillow top bed and upgraded linens provided me the best night's sleep I've had in a very long time! Super friendly staff in both the restaurant and the hotel made this a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad to have been able to provide you with such a pleasurable experience. It is our mission to provide the highest level of quality and service to our guests. Please come back and visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We used the Red Lion for a meeting with guest rooms and they were great. I really liked the meeting space. The banquet food was also great and I love the fact that they had a restaurant on site for our guests to hang out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted that you were pleased with the level of service you received. We hope to see you back here again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Do not stay at this dump. The place is old, the rooms are disgusting, and the area is unsafe. After checking in, I tried to cancel the reservations for the 4 nights. I was too late, so I cancelled the remainder of my reservations, paid for one night and immediately left to another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected when you checked in and due to the condition of the hotel, you did not stay. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our front desk staff about your experience and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salem hotels

Portland, Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel was decent, but is not necessarily the resort advertised. The evening service at the Ultra Lounge was non existent, so I left there to find the hot tub and found that had been filled with cement... bummer. Did a couple rounds in the pool and returned to the room for a quiet night in. There might have been one other person staying down the hall I was booked on, the only evidence of that is the same room service tray sat on the floor outside a door during the entirety of my stay, about 15 hours... The room I had was very nice and the bathroom is massive, made it easy to share as an extra door separates the toilet from everything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to earn your business. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the lack of a hot tub in the pool area. We do offer suites with a private whirlpool tub for your leisure. We would like to invite you to reserve one of our whirlpool suites on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I booked with Expedia for a stay on September 13th and 14th thinking I would be getting a good rate, however when I checked in the hotel price when we chaecked in, it was the same as what I would get with Expedia, the BIG difference is that since booking with Expedia I was charged for breakfast, that came out to be an extra $150. for a 2 day stay! There were 7 of us. That made the Hotel price an extra $75 a day for the 2 rooms.
The hotel staff was very good. The rooms were vicely done.
Pool was wonderfull, just need a Jacuzzi!
My daughters used the work out room and the equipment needs some work on if you are offering this please maintain it.
The breakfasts offered on the menu was nicely done, but we had 2 children with us tand the waitress did not offer a childs menu on the first day and we didn't know of it till the second day when the other waitress offered it, the breakfast for them would have been cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Salem. We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your feedback is crucial to maintaining a superior level of quality and service, and is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We opted for this Red Lion instead of another (generally) higher end chain hotel a couple blocks away, because of the great pricing through the Red Lion R&R Club (their rewards/membership program). Check in was smooth and the front desk staff was genuinely nice and informative. Th rooms do feel older, as do many of the characteristics of the hotel.... but, the rooms we found to also be comfortable and clean. Our room had a hardwood entry, which was unique. The bathroom tub surround was newer and stylish and again...clean. Our room did have a microwave and small refrig. and the beds and pillows were comfortable.
While I didn't visit the lounge, there is apparently a bartender named James who is good as they come - another member of our traveling group remembered him from years prior!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that doesn't look directly out over the top of a lower section of a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAC12family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Salem. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our mission to make each and every stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I see that we did not dissappoint you in this regard. I would like to invite you to stay with us again, and hope you will get to enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Property: Red Lion Hotel Salem
Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing