We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly 'Port in the Storm'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Ventura, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Friendly 'Port in the Storm'”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Unexpected stay due to snowstorm on trip from Portland to Nth California. Hotel staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. This is a good comfortable, clean stay. Small downstairs indoor pool & sauna but oddly, no changing room thereabouts. I changed in Sauna since I was alone there. Restaurant is a bit overpriced for quality of food. My steak was quite tough & leeks on plate not really cooked at all. Both restaurant & bar staff friendly - eager to please. Their attitude sort of makes up for the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lindissima14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 5 December 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and providing the kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    237
    196
    113
    79
See reviews for
272
166
70
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I was traveling to Salem to visit family during a hard time. Red Lion Salem was a nice surprise on a hard trip. Check-in a smooth sailing, and our room was upgraded to a king suite, free of charge. Complimentary breakfasts really helped things out too. Couldn't have been happier and will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
We like to surprise, thank you for being our guest and the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I was in Salem OR on business. After checking in I went straight up to my room. I entered to find someone else was already checked into that room. They were not there but all of their belongings were. I tried to call the front desk but the clerk did not answer. I proceeded back downstairs to find her chatting away with another guest. After standing there for a bit she finally acknowledged me. When I told her what had happened she simply made me a key card for another room. I told her this was a safety/security issue and asked to speak with a manager. Apparently there are no managers available at the Red Lion Salem in the evenings. I told her she should alert the guest that was checked into room 406 to let them know the error she made. I doubt this happened. The next morning when I checked out there were still no managers available. I called back at 9am when they said their GM Gus would be in and left him a voicemail. Gus finally called me back 4 hours later. Obviously the security of his guests was not that important to him. They compt the room, but that was not the point. I travel with a laptop and personal belongings of value that I may leave in my hotel room when I go to dinner or the hotel fitness room. I want to know that my belongings are secure. If you feel the same you definitely won't want to stay at the Red Lion in Salem OR. Right across the street is the Double Tree by Hilton...a far superior choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLD360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing excellent service to our guests. I apologize greatly for the experience that you encountered when you were checked into a room that was already occupied. We make every effort to ensure our guests are safe and certainly understand why this would have an effect on the quality of your stay.
We do value you as a guest and I would like to assure you that this will be addressed accordingly with our staff. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salem hotels

Whitefish, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed at this property during the Thanksgiving holiday of 2013.

Great location for Salem. Shopping and restaraunts out the front door. Close to I-5.

Our room had a balcony which was used frequently to expand space and allow for the one smoker in the group to not have to go all the way out through the lobby.

Room was clean, and quiet. Pool was great but they have removed the jacuzzi... you should know that.

Room Tip: Balcony is a great help for this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoss98057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Thank you for the patronage and nice feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We were only spending one night in Salem and having stayed at The Red Lion 10 years ago decided to give it another try. The gentleman at the front desk was very welcoming and extremely helpful. I did ask for a quiet upper floor room and that is what we got. The king bed was extremely comfortable and the room had a small refrigerator. The coffee in the room was excellent. We had a drinks at the bar before dinner. Very personable bartender who knew how to make an very good drink. We had dinner in the attached restaurant. The food was very good as was the service. My only complete is the decor of the restaurant which is very stark.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Thanks for your return trip and feedback, hope to see you back more often over the next ten years :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have stayed at the Red Lion on two occasions now and each have been wonderful stays. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and some even offer a private balcony which is a huge plus! The lounge provides a great atmosphere and the service is exceptional. We dined at the restaurant which offered some of the best dishes in the city. The room service was another bonus!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jolene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 6 December 2016
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was looking for a place that I could relax and escape the fast-paced world. Wanted something local, close to places that I may wish to visit (like a grocery store, fast-food, restaurant, etc.). Red Lion was the perfect choice, they did not seem to mind when we checked in late. They treated my son like he was a special guest instead of snarling their faces because a child was present. The hotel was very clean and very relaxing! I would go again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RizAbid, Guest Services Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It is our goal to create a truly unique experience for our guests. We want this to be your home away from home, where you can relax and leave it all to us. Locally inspired - seasonally fresh cuisine in our award winning restaurant, soothing libations and cool tunes in the 3301 Ultra Lounge, and a luxurious atmosphere are just some of our wonderful features. We look forward to assisting you in your next escapade!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Property: Red Lion Hotel Salem
Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing