We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thanks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The two queen beds in our room were tied for being horrible! They are way past being replaced! Walls and adjoining room door are very thin.... we got to hear the next door two little dogs bark quite abit. We had to book for two nights because of Willamette Univ graduation week-end but
could barely last one night.

I do not believe they people in charge of Red Lion Inns are dummies so they know about the conditions and obviously have chosen to ignore fixing things

We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poohss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the beds in your room being uncomfortable. Please be assured that we will certainly address your concerns with our staff.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Quick Check in..great staff...clean room..good ac...it was quiet..clean bathroom..updated features...The grill restaurant in the hotel a little pricey and they did not make my dessert the way it was described in the menu...do basically paid 7.00 for a cold piece of apple pie

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Rosario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything about this stay was excellent. I did not arrive early enough to try out the restaurant for dinner but the room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to highway (yet quiet) and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for staying with us an providing the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel it self was beautiful! I don't think they truly expected our crowd of nail artist to show up and be there. We too are in a service industry, and we too expect high standards. Service in restaurant and lounge were slow and had things out of stock. I hope for them to be more ready next year for us!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thank you for the kind comments, we look forward to your many returns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very dated hotel needs lots of upgrading, musty smelling room like stale smoke. Staff joke but breakfast not great. Good location is the real positive. But will find a better hotel next time. There is lots of competition around

Room Tip: Use only if desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggisbasher1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

thank you for being our guest and providing feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Upon my arrival, I noticed that the room was "shabby". Not at all like the one we stayed in at our last visit in October. Also, there was a musty "body odor" smell. Not the clean and fresh smell we were used to. We called the desk and a nice young man brought some "Fabreeze" up. He tried but it didn't help at all. There was "hair" on the lamp shade, a chunk of wallpaper out of the wall and a power strip hanging on the wall next to the TV. Besides being ugly - it was unsafe to have all of those plugged in. Missing cabinet door under the bar sink and a stain under the sink as well. Dusty furniture and more. So very disappointing!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding your room. I would like to apologize for the condition of your room and that there was an odor as well. We do appreciate your feedback so that we are given the opportunity to address your concerns. We thank you very much and we hope to have the chance to serve you better in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I expected to have a terrible stay here. Salem is not exactly chock full of fine hotels, and I chose this one strictly based on its location. And indeed, my room was barely acceptable: I had a view of the roof; the room was barely wide enough to fit its queen bed; the air quality was truly terrible; I could hear my neighbors' TVs; and linens, furniture, and the hotel itself were extremely dingy and dated.

Terrible, right? Except the restaurant, bar, and customer service were awesome at every turn. Savannah at the front desk went above and beyond helping me get a good place to complete some work on my last day. The restaurant had a lovely seasonal and local menu. And, the bar can boast a great wine list, and the BEST BARTENDER IN THE WORLD. I'm serious. I've traveled the world. James Oliver is the best bartender in it. James is worth a destination trip. He knows everything, including you, your unspoken needs, your drink preferences, what books you should read, and what songs you might like. He know every ingredient in every dish from the adjacent kitchen, and what wine you might like to pair it with. He can speak knowledgeably with clients about everything from golf to gardening, and he REMEMBERS people. He makes the bar a fantastic place to spend time.

So what I thought would be a terrible weekend was unexpectedly OK, with occasional AWESOMENESS. Thanks, James!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannette777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
4.6 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites Salem
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Salem
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing