We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite, but it will do.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not my favorite, but it will do.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel for business over a long weekend. This Hotel was ok..the rooms are a little dark and the Hotel does not seem to be in the best location for going to attractions. We were at the hotel for an event at the hotel so we did not go out to see much but it was directly off of the freeway so access was easy. The restaurant on the property was marginal at best. The service was slow and the music from the bar ruined any chance of a quaint dinner with the wife. Staff was what we expected and did not do anything wrong but also did not go above and beyond to make our stay anything special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cswattravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Thank you for being our guest and providing the feedback, we appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    235
    193
    109
    77
See reviews for
264
164
69
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The staff was very friendly, my boyfriend and I made a reservation for the whirlpool suite, it was well worth it! The Jacuzzi was amazing! The room itself was gorgeous! Located right across the street from Wunderland, it was a very convenient location, very close to where we were visiting friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mercedes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The two queen beds in our room were tied for being horrible! They are way past being replaced! Walls and adjoining room door are very thin.... we got to hear the next door two little dogs bark quite abit. We had to book for two nights because of Willamette Univ graduation week-end but
could barely last one night.

I do not believe they people in charge of Red Lion Inns are dummies so they know about the conditions and obviously have chosen to ignore fixing things

We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poohss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the beds in your room being uncomfortable. Please be assured that we will certainly address your concerns with our staff.
You are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Salem hotels

Salem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Quick Check in..great staff...clean room..good ac...it was quiet..clean bathroom..updated features...The grill restaurant in the hotel a little pricey and they did not make my dessert the way it was described in the menu...do basically paid 7.00 for a cold piece of apple pie

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rosario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everything about this stay was excellent. I did not arrive early enough to try out the restaurant for dinner but the room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to highway (yet quiet) and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Thank you for staying with us an providing the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel it self was beautiful! I don't think they truly expected our crowd of nail artist to show up and be there. We too are in a service industry, and we too expect high standards. Service in restaurant and lounge were slow and had things out of stock. I hope for them to be more ready next year for us!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Thank you for the kind comments, we look forward to your many returns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very dated hotel needs lots of upgrading, musty smelling room like stale smoke. Staff joke but breakfast not great. Good location is the real positive. But will find a better hotel next time. There is lots of competition around

Room Tip: Use only if desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haggisbasher1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
thank you for being our guest and providing feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Property: Red Lion Hotel Salem
Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing