We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big deferance from Tacoma Wa.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Big deferance from Tacoma Wa.”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent two nights and enjoyed everything. Staff was great, Hotel was nice and clean, breakfast was really great. Overall was very pleasant. Was quite and the staff was very helpful when we needed things or had a question.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thank you for being our guest, we appreciate the opportunity and the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    223
    187
    103
    72
See reviews for
247
157
69
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great customer service on the phone and during check in. The room was very nice and clean. The food was very good and I would eat there again. The only bad thing was the very poor service while eating both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Red Lion. We had breakfast on Sunday morning in the hotel restaurant. They were very busy. The waitresses were doing their best. It was nice to see the front desk people come in and help with breakfast. They brought the coffee pot and ice water around until we could order. You can let customer service is very important to them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate the patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I decided to stay local for our wedding night and chose The Red Lion. We booked a whirlpool suite. To our major disappointment, the whirlpool did not work. A maintenance person looked at it but was unable to fix it. The bed pillows are smaller than normal pillows and very uncomfortable as a result. We paid additional for a romance package which included a cheap, very small, mixed flower arrangement, a bottle of champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries which were disgusting by the time we got to them. We could have purchased the same bottle of champagne for less than half of what we were charged for the package and would have been much happier. The room was spacious and clean, minus the body hairs left in the whirlpool. I would not stay here again and I would not recommend family or friends to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Dear guest,

We're very sorry about the unfortunate experience and sincerely apologize - we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We held a business meeting there and wow what great service. The water service was always full and they checked on us we did not have to chase them down. The staff was courteous and had a "can do" attitude. The room was clean well maintained. I will use them again.

I strongly recommend this for meetings. easy to find right off I-5, Ample parking, great service and helpful staff.

We do meetings all over, most places are just average. This place Rocks

Room Tip: We held a business meeting there. Will use it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venture_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The staff at this hotel are so nice right from the housekeeping to the front desk and restaurant. My husband had a medical issue recently and the hotel couldn't do enough for us. They have a special rate for people in hospital which I had never heard of before from any hotel. The Willamette Grill was excellent as long as the chef was cooking. Have been coming here for the past 5 years with groups and have always been satisfied. The property could use a refresh as showing signs of wear.

Room Tip: Business center wifi is really slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear Teresa,

We're glad to have been able to be there for you during your husbands needs. Wishing all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for one night as we were travelling from Vancouver to Los Angeles. The beds were very comfy and that was all that mattered to me at that point after a very long drive. It was a really hot day and the room was already cooled down for us when we arrived. There was free wifi & also free breakfast which was a bonus! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salem
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mill Creek Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Property: Red Lion Hotel Salem
Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing