We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs new beds and upgrades!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Salem
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs new beds and upgrades!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I was not very pleased with this hotel and I hope all the Red Lions are not like this. My bed sagged in the middle which I could notice as I walked in. I thought to myself, this is not going to be a good night. It was the most uplifting room either after a hard day's work, could use some vibrant paint new carpet. I won't be back to Red Lion.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your stay with us as your feedback is important when providing our guests excellent service. I apologize that the hotel was less than you expected due to the condition of your room. We value you as a guest and we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We will be speaking with our staff about the condition of your bed and do hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you better during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    237
    196
    113
    81
See reviews for
273
167
70
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

An old hotel but very nicely updated.
Very filthy carpet and pet hairs everywhere, no great vacuuming done here!
Pillows are unbearable. Come up with the conventional ones please or give us an option. Restaurant needs to rethink their menu and also get bartenders not trying to pick up/ or get picked up while serving other people! Over 100 F. during our stay and 2 air units worked exceptionally. Beautiful big suite on top floor but they really need better cleaners.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent two nights and enjoyed everything. Staff was great, Hotel was nice and clean, breakfast was really great. Overall was very pleasant. Was quite and the staff was very helpful when we needed things or had a question.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmantell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thank you for being our guest, we appreciate the opportunity and the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great customer service on the phone and during check in. The room was very nice and clean. The food was very good and I would eat there again. The only bad thing was the very poor service while eating both dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Red Lion. We had breakfast on Sunday morning in the hotel restaurant. They were very busy. The waitresses were doing their best. It was nice to see the front desk people come in and help with breakfast. They brought the coffee pot and ice water around until we could order. You can let customer service is very important to them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 24 November 2016
Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate the patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I decided to stay local for our wedding night and chose The Red Lion. We booked a whirlpool suite. To our major disappointment, the whirlpool did not work. A maintenance person looked at it but was unable to fix it. The bed pillows are smaller than normal pillows and very uncomfortable as a result. We paid additional for a romance package which included a cheap, very small, mixed flower arrangement, a bottle of champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries which were disgusting by the time we got to them. We could have purchased the same bottle of champagne for less than half of what we were charged for the package and would have been much happier. The room was spacious and clean, minus the body hairs left in the whirlpool. I would not stay here again and I would not recommend family or friends to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Dear guest,

We're very sorry about the unfortunate experience and sincerely apologize - we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We held a business meeting there and wow what great service. The water service was always full and they checked on us we did not have to chase them down. The staff was courteous and had a "can do" attitude. The room was clean well maintained. I will use them again.

I strongly recommend this for meetings. easy to find right off I-5, Ample parking, great service and helpful staff.

We do meetings all over, most places are just average. This place Rocks

Room Tip: We held a business meeting there. Will use it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venture_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLionSalemGM, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Salem, responded to this review, 30 November 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing the nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salem hotels
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mill Creek Inn
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#11 of 23 in Salem
177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Salem

Property: Red Lion Hotel Salem
Address: 3301 Market St NE, Salem, OR 97303
Region: United States > Oregon > Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Salem 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Salem Oregon the capital city of Oregon. The Red Lion Hotel Salem is located on Market Street, just off I-5 and minutes from downtown, the State Capitol, Salem Center, the Oregon State Fair Grounds, Woodburn Outlet Mall and Oregon Gardens. We are in close proximity to the The HOOP (5.1 miles), Garmin (4.1 miles), Sanyo (5.85 miles), Salem Hospital (5.22 miles), T-Mobile (6.89 miles) and Home Depot Distribution Center (5.45 miles).Our 148 spacious guest rooms and six executive suites are newly renovated and Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, coffee makers and hairdryers. All guestrooms include microwaves and refrigerators as well. We offer room service and valet laundry services. For fun and relaxation, swim in our indoor pool or work out in our fitness center, which also includes a dry sauna. You'll enjoy the flavors of the great northwest at Willamette Valley Grill Restaurant and 3301 Ultra Lounge, open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. With 10,000 square feet of meeting space, the Red Lion Hotel Salem is also able to accommodate up to 600 guests for your next conference or special occasion.Parents, students and alumni will find us conveniently close to all of the area's universities and colleges. Willamette University is just 3 miles west of the hotel and Chemeketa Community College 4 miles north. Two other universities that are nearby are Corban College, just 8 miles South, and Western Oregon University 15 miles West. The only HUT Portland Airport shuttle location in Salem. For care, comfort and value, visit the Red Lion Hotel Salem where our staff is always ready to respond to your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salem Red Lion
Red Lion Salem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing