We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great old western Pony Express type Hamburger Station”

Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 53 Restaurants in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
161 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great old western Pony Express type Hamburger Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The food is western fare. Excellent hamburgers of all makes and types. Great beef. Family owned and operated for decades.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank themackae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    47
    13
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the place to find a perfect burger made with your wildest topping idea. Be it cheese and bacon, or egg or peanut butter, Calamity Janes can do it. Always bustling but sufficient service in a retro-Western setting complete with theme art on the rustic walls and signed dollar bills on the ceiling. While you wait, sipping your drinks from mason jars, you can see if you recognize any of the names on the bills over your head. Prices are reasonable and you probably will need a take home box.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raechel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Be prepared to lose some dignity as you bite into their famous burgers and need to grab lots of napkins! Don't be put off by the shabby appearance: its all part of the ambiance. The ceiling is covered with thousands of dollar bills. Can you spot yours on the next visit? I have never liked French fries, but I tell everyone about Calamity Jane's, encased in their own batter and to die for! The burgers are an experience all their own. They won't disappoint! It would be a travesty to make a trip to Mount Hood and not stop for a burger on the way to or from. Incidentally, their handdipped halibut is just as good as the burgers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been going to Calamity Jane's for over 20 plus years and it has always been good food. It has to be the best burgers in metro area.

Helpful?
Thank JERRY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Burger & Shakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Visited Calamity Jane's on our way back from Kan-Hee-Ta Resort & Spa.

I live in England but had heard so much about this place, from other family members who had visited and certainly wasn't dissapointed.
The food was gorgeous, i had a burger and fries and the portion sizes could of probably been split 3 ways, they were huge. The burger was a BBQ burger with cheese and fries, i loved the littel pan it was served in and my sister and i shared a Strwaberry & Coconut shake. I can't fault any of it.
The staff were really friendly and accomodating and like the rest of the visitors we left our mark by signing a dollar and leaving it to be put on the wall.
All in all a really nice meal at an excellant price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cakey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant also viewed

 
Sandy, Clackamas County
Sandy, Clackamas County
 

Been to Calamity Jane's Hamburger Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing