We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Daybreak Haven B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daybreak Haven B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Scottsburg B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My girlfriend and I just recently stayed here the beginning of June. Was a lovely stay with a great view of the river. Pat and Shelly were wonderful hosts and great cooks very willing to work with any sort of dietary restrictions that you may have.

They have two very cute and very well behaved Pomeranians.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were referred by our fishing guide to this place. Upon arrival, it appeared to be somewhat less than impressive...an older home with vehicles in the way and we wondered out loud what we had signed up for. We were greeted by our hostess, Shelly on the front steps who assured us we were in the right place but that they were in the process of undergoing renovation and so the vehicles and clutter. We went up, still not convinced. We were shown our room and the realization of 'what' became pleasantly apparent. The room was very comfortable and had an amazing view of the river. We soon found we had access to 2 decks overlooking the river. While, again, cluttered after a windstorm, the peaceful river views were only out done by Shelly's attention to detail of making her guests feel welcome and comfortable. We could walk down to the private dock and be right on the river. The living room with it's wood floors and ceilings and beautiful burl tables fashioned by Pat, Shelly's husband, offered a warm atmosphere and comfortable seating. We had not come to a 'resort' b and b, we had come to someone's home who treated us as tho we were the long missed friends she was happy to see. We had all the privacy or as little as we wanted.

The restaurant we had hope to try was closed and we had been told dinner could be provided at the Daybreak Haven for an additional charge. Our friends were arriving later and wanted to take advantage of this opportunity and so we did. Dinner was amazing. This night we had salmon on a bed of rice with green beans. Starting with a delicious salad and ending with an terrific dessert. I do not order salmon in restaurants because I am so particular as to how it is cooked. I held my breath. There was no need. It was the best I had had without exception.

We had to be on the river at 5:30 the next morning. At 4:30, I awakened to the aroma of fresh sticky buns and something else cooking. Shelly was already up, cheerful and packing the breakfast part of the b and b for us to take with us on the boat. Hot coffee was waiting in the kitchen. She packed enough for the 4 of us, our guide and we could have invited others! Sooo accommodating and generous of time and spirit!

If you like warmth, comfort, amazing views of the river and total peace and quiet, this IS the place. We shall return!!

Room Tip: 2 rooms were available at this time. one with private attached bath and river view. the other with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mookie-Eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Wow….more than we ever imagined. We starting thinking about this trip a few years ago. We weren’t sure if we wanted to stay in a traditional hotel or a bed & breakfast…..as the months leading up to our trip passed we surfed the internet looking at bed & breakfast and just weren’t sure what we wanted but decided we didn’t want the hotel. Our trip was to be 2 weeks and after surfing the web we located this location and called with a few questions. After talking with Shelley we had an instant connection and felt we had found just the place. Although this home is located an hour from Eugene where we needed to be each day the drive to and from each day was well worth it. We stayed 2 weeks. When we arrived we were welcomed with open arms and a beautiful home located on an incredible lake. They have a huge deck with amazing views and steps leading down to the doc. The home has 2 levels. We rented the lower level which had 2 wonderful bedrooms and full bath. 1 of the bedrooms had a queen bed with a twin bed. The other room had a queen bed. The rooms were complete with everything we would need and a basket full of treats and bottles of water….shampoo, lotion etc just like a hotel. There was a hair dryer also. We had full use of a washer and dryer which was great and allowed us to pack with less. Upstairs is another room and full bath that is also available and also a very large family room, dining room and kitchen. We had full use and the owners Shelley and Pat were there to meet…exceed…our every want or need. They were so generous and kind and we arrived as strangers and left as friends. On their web site they mentioned they provide breakfast and can also provide other meals at additional cost if guest would like. Well I must say this is a MUST. Shelley is like having a private personal chef!!!!!!!!!! She is amazing and makes everything from scratch. I had e-mailed us in advance my list of allergies and she made adjustments to all her recipes so I could eat everything she made. I would say she is an amazing cook! Her meals were so amazing and yummy and we would up adding more meals and were always sooooooo happy. We went to bed each night so anxious to see what she would have for us the next morning. The 2 college students we had with us took out the pontoon boats and did some fishing and just had a great time on the lake. Pat also took us all out on his fishing boat to do some fishing….what a treat! They do have 3 dogs….we have never had any pets…..we loved and enjoyed Bailey, Morgen and Magnum. The dogs never came downstairs and Pat and Shelley are very attentive to guest with everything including whether guest would like to be around the dogs or not. We found them a bonus and really enjoyed them. Pat has so much fishing knowledge and willing to share. They made camp fires out on the deck for us and we enjoyed making samores. Shelley outdid herself and made a beautiful buffet for us and it was just so wonderful and eating out on the deck with the amazing view what just spectacular. We had rain in Eugene every day and they quickly offered us rain gear to keep us dry. I have to say staying at Daybreak Haven is like staying with really good friends you haven’t seen in a while. Pat and Shelly have been married almost 40 years and are just super to be around. They did a great job as host and we were sad leaving. Of course we left with a goodie bag of fresh homemade muffins. Their attention to detail was truly appreciated and we are planning to go back for sure. Again I say we felt like we were staying with friends. They exceeded everything we hoped it would be. What a special place and I would recommend their B&B to anyone. We will miss all the fishing stories from Pat too. Shelley has created a wonderful home and so willing to share with their guest. We just had a amazing time and can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Pat & Shelley welcome you into their lovely riverside home like old friends. Nothing is too much trouble. We arrived around 4pm and Shelley showed us our room and the private bathroom, a short walk away. Gowns were also provided should you wish to go to the bathroom in the night. We then sat out on the balcony in comfy rocking seats, in the sun, overlooking the beautiful Umpqua River. It was so peaceful and beautiful. We were entertained by hummingbirds whizzing by and by looking out for the bear across the river (no sightings unfortuntely). At 7pm, Pat and Shelley served a wonderful dinner (which we had preordered before arriving). My husband has allergies and I'm vegetarian, so we're not the easiest to cook for, but Shelley made the most wonderful dinner and it was clear a lot of effort had gone into dinner. Afterwards, Pat lit the fire ring, and we sat chatting to fellow guests, eating delicious homemade cheesecake, until after the sun had set. It was such a perfect evening. The room itself had everything you would need and the bed was very comfy. We both slept very well and woke to a cooked breakfast with fruit, juice, etc. if you are looking for anywhere to stay near Florence or Reedsport on the HW 101,it is worth the short and breathtaking detour down HW 38 (about 20 minutes) to Scottsburg and Dayhaven B&B. You will leave feeling refreshed and relaxed. The only negative thing: that we couldn't stay longer.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank TheOldMarrieds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you've been down Oregon Highway 138 from the I-5 corridor to the coast you know two things: it is an incredibly beautiful drive any time of year and there is almost nowhere to stay the night. Here is a real possibility: stay mid way right on the main Umpqua river near Scottsburg. For those in the know, Scottsburg was one of Oregon's earliest settlements,the tiny town was the upstream terminus for travel on the tides.

We found this country home style B&B quite by accident, in operation less than a year, husband and wife owners Pat and Shelly are eager to make their guests comfortable and really do a great job of opening their home to visitors. I realize this is the first review they'll have at Trip Advisor and I want to strive for accuracy and details.

Aside from an incredibly serene location right above the river this home is actually away from the road noise of HWY138 at one of the few places where the road does not directly parallel the river. We found the solitude there excellent... and we live in a very quiet place and are light sleepers.

There are three guest rooms, two on a lower level which have a river view and share a bathroom and one on the main floor. We stayed in the room on the main floor called the lighthouse room and is decorated accordingly. It has a private newly refurbished, but not adjacent, bathroom. The bathroom is actually pretty cool with a rain style walk in shower and a lot of other "not off the shelf" comforts.

We arrived in the evening and were cordially greeted. Shelly was preparing dinner for another guest couple (which can be requested in advance - wish we had) and is an excellent chef, as we were to find out in the morning. I expressed interest in having a fire on the deck later that evening (yes, in a fire ring) and Pat went about lighting a beautiful fire and inviting us to come down when ready.

After dark we went down to relax in some comfortable chairs on the deck under the big maple trees and enjoyed the river. The burning logs and a bed of glowing coals warmed the deck area. Shelly must have been paying real attention to her guests, as just a few minutes later she brought down some excellent hot cocoa with fresh nutmeg in it. It was mentioned that should one like some Schnapps that they would be happy to provide some.

We found the room cozy, the bed comfortable, and too, there is a flat screen TV with cable in the room along with a huge (hundreds!) DVD list. Under the TV we noted a basket of treats and snacks - the type you pay big for at hotels - all there for free. Honestly, we felt thanks to a discount special that we were already taking overly advantage - so we the treats stayed.

Well, what would be a review without a little down side? Ok, here's ours; at 5:05 AM the other guests got up and pretty much ruined the ambiance for us. They had a dog, the owners have three. I don't blame the owners, I'm just saying what happened, and if you're not a dog fan this would be a deal breaker because the dogs have the run of the house. The location of our room adjacent to the main living area (great room styled) meant that we would likely hear anything and everything, but dogs, conversations, lights turned on just outside our window and luggage moved about at that hour would awaken all but the dead. That was the last sleep I got.

What can a host do about such guests? I suppose little, but such travelers should have been in a motel that is set up for, and hopefully insulated against such crass insensitivity. In an hour they were gone, but the night was ruined. Period.

About seven we got up and found apology atop apology from our hosts. The understood, but were pretty much helpless too. I'm not sure we even mentioned what had happened but they obviously knew it had happened.

Shelly set about making incredible hot waffles, bacon, a fresh fruit plate and another profusion of apologies. There was milk, juice, coffee and it was prepared so beautifully I took a few pictures which I'll load up below. We enjoyed breakfast, walked out on the deck and saw a river otter in the river. We knew he was chasing fish as we had seen salmon and trout jumping. We saw some bald eagles, and there is much life along this stretch of river. Pat mentioned his seeing Elk across the river at times and having a bear occasion the area to feast on blackberries.

Fishing? Oh yeah. This would be an ideal place to spend a night prior to a fishing expedition. If you are a fisherman this should absolutely be on your list. I saw Pat has a jet boat, three personal pontoon platforms he said he loaned out to guests, and a good number of hefty salmon photos of guests catches. He mentioned being willing to host fisherman from the various pro guides on the river and has in the past taken some guests along with him while fishing for fun. For the fisherman this would be an unparalleled location. Springers, summer and winter steelhead, big a big fall Chinook run, small mouth bass, and even striped bass from Scottsburg downriver this place is all about location, location, location.

Last nor least - Pat has a $5,000 massage chair called a "King Kong'. I didn't know what to think of it but you have to try one to believe it - it was like a high dollar massage. They really do help everyone feel at home, and are kind people.

Bottom Line(s): I like a good value, yet almost felt guilty to be enjoying a low off season rate with such high quality hospitality here. It's the kind of place I want to root for. It is the opposite of commercial, plastic, stale, take a number kinds of places, and yes, it was not without it's ups and downs as I have described. Still, I hope they succeed. Hard work and truly sincere congeniality should be rewarded. This was an excellent "Old Oregon" experience that I felt luck to experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley R, Owner at Daybreak Haven B&B, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
We greatly appreciate the compliments and corrective criticism. The only correction we would like to make is that we are located just off State Hwy 38, not Hwy 138. Guest comments and suggestions are always appreciated and it will only help us to improve your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsburg
16.1 mi away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
16.7 mi away
Fir Grove Motel
Fir Grove Motel
#2 of 4 in Reedsport
78 reviews
24.9 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#7 of 13 in Florence
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Economy Inn Reedsport
Economy Inn Reedsport
#3 of 4 in Reedsport
71 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Daybreak Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daybreak Haven B&B

Property: Daybreak Haven B&B
Address: 395 Burchard Dr, Scottsburg, OR 97473-9723
Region: United States > Oregon > Scottsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scottsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Daybreak Haven B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, quiet bed & breakfast on the beautiful Umpqua river, just off Scenic Highway 38. Unwind, relax...maybe even fish! Homemade breakfasts, evening treats and beverages. Complimentary snack baskets in every room. HDTV, WiFi with password protection. Coffeemaker, hairdryer, toiletries and cozy bathrobes. We're looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Daybreak Haven B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing