We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth what we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
The Dalles, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not worth what we paid”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed two nights and wish we'd have picked someplace else. The pool was small and dirty and falling apart. Same with the hot tub. Location was nice bit price was too high for the bad quality of breakfast and the room. I do not recommend this hotel nor will we ever stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Elizabeth M.I am so sorry your stay with us was not perfect! Please note, we clean the pool & hot tub as well as the entire pool area several times a day to insure that they are sparkling clean so I am not sure what happened but I have addressed the issue with maintenance so it will not be repeated. Also, we are aware that we do have a few missing tiles in the pool area and are addressing that as quickly as we can. We hope you come and stay with us again and see the difference!
Andrew Oberembt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    38
    40
    31
    19
See reviews for
63
49
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We reserved a mini suite for a weekend trip to Seaside. We paid $200.00 per night plus taxes. At check-in, they made a big deal about not smoking in the rooms, but when we got to our room: yuck! It reeked of OLD cigarette smoke. Possibly in the carpet, drapes, and wallpaper. When I folded back our bedspread, there were stains on the underside of the spread. We had a dishwasher that had 2 inches of standing water in the bottom, the kitchen had very few utensils, and the second bed was an uncomfortable pull out couch. Every time we saw staff outside of the office, they were smoking. The breakfast was a joke! Didn't get cleaning or fresh towels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachmama98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Beachmama98, Thank you for taking the time to share with us as our guest comments are very important to us! Did you bring these concerns to our attention during your stay? We would have been happy to move you if this rooms did not work for you and we have staff available 24/7 for this. I have brought this to the attention of our staff and we are taking steps to insure this is resolved. We always want our guests to enjoy their stay and it very disappointing to us when we fall short. I apologize as well, we do offer a continental breakfast for our valued guests but it is limited as we can only carry what we are allowed by Clatsop County…I am so sorry if these items were not what you were expecting.
Andrew Oberembt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is very close to everything in Seaside. The room was HUGE. 2 quees beds and a seperate sitting area. It was enought space for our family of 4. Everything was clean and nice. Housekeeping came on the second morning and took our trash and gave us fresh towels. The pool and hot tub were nice also. And they are open 24/7 so you can go early morning or late at night to get away from the kids. The continental breakfast was good. Oatmeal, pastries, muffins and bagels, juice and coffee. Enough to get you through to lunch. The only thing I did not like was the beds. They were hard!! And the pillows were flat! Bring your own. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalia206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Rosalia206, I am so glad you had a great stay! We work hard to take care of guests and we appreciate your taking time to let us know! Also, we have just replaced many of our beds and will be replacing the rest soon. We will see you soon! Andrew Oberembt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here over the weekend for a
Volleyball tournament in town it was a 3rd floor room for 189/night. The nicest thing about the hotel were the receptionists. The room was small and wifi didn't work for the entirety of our stay, what time we spent in the room it would have been nice to watch a movie only to have one movie channel playing boxing. The area was very stinky, like dead fish or seagull poop (look at the roof across the balcony.) continental breakfast was put away before I was told that it would be, and the outside bit of the hotel was very unkept. All that being said the overall cleanliness of the room was great, and the pool was refreshing for the warm days. Not a great hotel
For those of you enjoying a good room experience but if you're look for a place to stay this is for you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reedmartin94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Reedmartin94,
We apologize for the wifi issue and please know it has since been resolved. Unfortunately the smell from the river was due to a natural occurring event that happens every few years and that too has since been resolved. As to the continental breakfast, I am a bit concerned as we left the breakfast out longer on this volleyball weekend for our late-waking guests than we normally do. Also, we are working on sprucing up the outside but some items have been deferred due to high occupancy but will be completed soon. Thank you for sharing about your stay, we appreciate your review and are very glad your overall experience with us was a positive one!
Andrew Oberembt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My family and I rented a mini suite for three nights at $189/night. The room was okay. We were in room 112 and the people above use were very noisy. The staff we're nice. The continental breakfast was poor. The pool was okay. Just keep in mind you get what you pay for.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichelleTernes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at Shilo Inns in the past and have usually found them to be clean, comfortable, safe, and a great value but that was not the case here. We stayed here on a family vacation on the Oregon coast and was disappointed in the general upkeep of this property. The air conditioner didn't work and the door to the room would not close and latch safely unless the door was slammed very hard. We got used to slamming the door but when we came back to the room after a day out we found that the cleaning staff had not properly closed the door when they left and it was open. As I stated before, I have always liked the Shilo Inn and I am very disappointed in the quality of upkeep at this particular one.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mace648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced in regards to the A/C & the door not closing properly. It is important to us that all guest rooms are secure and I have addressed this issue. Also, I know that it did become quite warm recently here on the coast and we worked hard to insure all of our guests were comfortable, and we have someone on the desk 24/7 to help facilitate any concerns our guest have. I know that if an A/C unit was having issues our staff was very willing to move our valued guests or provide a fan. Please note, we are working on updating areas of our property as well.
Andrew Oberembt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights while visiting the Oregon coast on spring break. When we went to check in, the lady at the front desk was very rude and seemed like she thought she was going out of her way to help us. The room itself was decent but very dirty. We found blood stains on the sheets and the shower didn't look like it had been cleaned in weeks. I think if we're looking for something in the same price range next time we'll try the Guesthouse Inn down the street.

Room Tip: Hotels on the bottom floor near the lobby have interior hallway entrances. Anything else will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
We appreciate your comments as they are a valuable tool in helping us be consistent when it comes to providing quality customer service and clean, affordable rooms. I really do apologize for the situations you encountered and have spoken to our staff in regards to these concerns. I did notice that you did not mention that we did immediately resolve all issues for you when you brought them to our attention and it is important to note that we did do so.
Andrew Oberembt, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.7 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#22 of 27 in Seaside
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Seaside Oregon
Motel 6 Seaside Oregon
#26 of 27 in Seaside
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#10 of 27 in Seaside
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
Address: 900 S Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6611
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shilo Inn Suites - Seaside features 59 guest rooms and mini-suites. The property is only one mile from the Pacific Ocean and the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel & Restaurant on Holladay Street just blocks from the Seaside Convention Center, shopping and local attractions. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East Hotel Seaside
Shilo Inn Seaside
Seaside Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing