We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has little tolerance for children”
Review of City Center Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Center Motel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here again! They apparently placed me next to the room that the front desk people live in. They constantly complained about my children. They then claimed I only paid for 4 nights when the money proves I paid for 7. They then kicked me out due to my noise complaints. Extremely rude.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jeffhovernick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, Owner at City Center Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks for your time to write the review. We are sorry if any inconvenience happens during your stay. Based on your reservation folio you have paid for 5 nights and stayed five nights (check in Feb 3 and check out Feb 8). If you have further confusion please call me directly at 2489108170 to discuss this matter. Sorry that we were not able to extend your stay as our policy needs full payment in advance which you were not able to accommodate for the another week stay.
We also focus on other guests comfort during their stay this why we have to inform about the noise level from your room. Sorry to hear that this made you uncomfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

I wanted to be close to beach and restaurants and found The City Center.
I checked in for an extended stay. In that time, the staff was attentive, new furniture
and bed packages were delivered, deep cleaning for all rooms took place and
I have been watching this motel/hotel transform itself with the new owner and
staff working hard to grow the business with it's "new look'.
My studio w/kitchenette is so handy, I feel like I could live here for a long time.

I had some internet connection problems but they were resolved and it's a cute
place with a personal feel. You are literally one block from beach and about fifteen
restaurants and shops.

I recommend it.

Room Tip: They have many rooms with kitchenettes or at least a fridge and microwave. This is so convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily12Petals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This is a tough review to write, because I did mostly like the place. But it needs some work. It's cute, comfortable, and cheap (amazing price). I had a remodeled room. Issues: wifi worked about 25% of stay (and I stayed in after dark hoping to watch a movie on my tablet, but wifi didn't work), NO hot water for my morning shower, so I didn't get to take one (got my hair wet with cold water, not even luke warm, and I definitely had the hot water tap on...really didn't start my day off right!), and there are no wall outlets in the bathroom so I had to dry and straighten my hair in the bedroom with no mirror after unplugging a lamp. Not to mention I'm tall so I had to sit on the floor to do this bc the two outlets in the room are low to the ground. I also had a cover on my bed that wasn't clean, but they switched this out when I took it to the lobby. I'd like to stay there again...can't beat the location and it's quiet. But those fixes really need to happen! And definitely ensure blankets on the bed are clean for new renters. Stayed in #218

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, Owner at City Center Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking your time to write your experience at our motel. We are really thrilled to know that you mostly enjoyed your stay and liked our newly renovated cute comfortable room at affordable rate. I am really sorry to hear that the limited access of Wi-Fi made your stay inconvenient. We have been working this issue and very much close to provide the guest better Wi-Fi. The technician is scheduled to upgrade the system within couple days.
As a part of renovation we are still in the middle of the process and we very much appreciate that you take time to bring those issues to our attention. We promise we will be taking acre those issue so our future guest does not experience the same issue. I will ensure that our house keeping team gets more training to ensure every guest to provide clean comfortable room. Thanks that you like our location which is only one short block from the beach and downtown Seaside. All 40 rooms are under renovation and are getting a complete face lift. New furniture, mattresses and flat screen televisions are just some of what to expect. Our goal is to provide Seaside guest clean and comfortable room at affordable rate.
I am sorry that we felt short to provide you what exactly our goal is. I hope you will have better experience in your future stay.
Hope we will see you again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Overall good experience. The room I was staying had updated furnitures. Room was clean and decent size. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The beach was only one block from the hotel. Enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sazzad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The City Center Motel is an amazing budget hotel with great warm cozy beds.only a short block from the beach and a parking lot away from Broadway with all the great shops. this is an amazing hotel with the kindest staff in the world.You are going to have an amazing time at this hotel. Me and the guys sure did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What a surprise to unlock the door and have such an adorable room waiting. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the beds were wonderful. It is just a short walk to everywhere in Seaside you would want to go, beach, dining, shopping. Yes, this is an older building, but, the prices reflect that. We will be back to stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Last minute reservations....this place was great! Within walking distrance of the beach, only 2 blocks to the boardwalk and 2 blocks to food and games. Room had everything we needed and it was extremely clean. Bonus, they have an indoor pool for those rainy days at the beach. The folks at the front desk were courteous and very helpful (ie tide chart, etc)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLP1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at City Center Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our guest service, cleanliness of our rooms and our motel location. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms while offering rate conscious rates. Thanks again for your review; we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,438 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn Seaside Oregon
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#10 of 27 in Seaside
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Motel

Address: 250 1st Ave, Seaside, OR 97138-5906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: £36 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Center Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located, Historic Motel Offers Clean, Cozy Rooms For Basic Lodging Needs. At the City Center Motel in Seaside, Oregon you'll find clean, comfortable, and conveniently located rooms. The City Center Motel's economy sized hotel rooms provide budget-conscious rates so you can relax and be comfortable during your stay. Our hotel rooms offer excellent value and many amenities including free high speed wireless internet, non- smoking rooms, pet friendly rooms, and access to our indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Center Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing