We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recomended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Center Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Center Motel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly Recomended”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Reasonably priced. Coffee maker, mini fridge, and microwave in all non kitchen units. Flat Screen televisions in all rooms. Walking distance to arcade, mall, aquarium, shops, restaurants, boardwalk, and beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christopher-version1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    102
    60
    19
    30
See reviews for
142
101
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I've visited this motel a few times, it's cheap and you get the essentials without hassle - bed, microwave, coffee, AAA discount, bath, etc. It's no luxury resort, but if you need to crash for a night or two without fuss, it's a good place to go.

Lots of parking as well, and only a few blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benwwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

OK, if you've read some of the other reviews here you'll see some widely varying opinions on this motel. I'll try to explain why here.

If you're looking for a sleek and modern facility look elsewhere. This is an older motel but the owners take care of it and the rooms are comfortable and clean, so if you're not fussy about decor then you'll be fine. They are actively improving things but I can't imagine this place exactly being a gold mine and there are a lot of rooms so it's fair enough for that to happen in stages.

The staff were great. We had a breakdown while we were staying there and they were very helpful, sympathetic and let us go back in our room after we'd checked out while we waited for help to arrive.

If I wanted a resort hotel experience I wouldn't go to Seaside in the first place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toofones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I had a deal for this motel and decided to make this a trip for me and my son. The room we were given was a little outdated but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The TV went out in our room and they attempted to fix it and when it couldn't be fixed, they moved us to a different room for our 2nd night. The entire staff was kind and helpful. One downside is the pool is small (not a problem for us) and could only be accessed by asking a staff member to unlock it. All in all, good experience and I would be willing to stay here again. Wonderful staff & great prices!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swissy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked this hotel at the last second via Priceline. I wasn't expecting much and I'm glad I wasn't.

Hotel still issues actual keys for the door (not the magnetic cards). A bit confusing to find the room, as there were 200's on both first and second floor but I eventually found mine- a tiny room up a musty corridor with views of buildings to my front and right (I think this might be "the room" for this property). Not much going on in the small room, the bed was ok and a flat screen TV with a full array of channels, but everything else looked as though it was from the 1960s. I couldn't figure out how to use the tableside lamps (they wouldn't turn on when I turned the switch). A good way to get around the nothing-but-two-prong outlets in the room is to find the adapter they use for the microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker and take one of them out from the adapter to plug in your three-prong.

The sink and shower water did take quite a long time to warm up, but stayed warm once made warm (I had been worried that it might run out quickly due to the age of the place). There was no mirror directly above the sink (instead an old one was mounted above the toilet, so I had to shave over the toilet to see what I was doing.

The property is truly in the center of the town, which is a big win. You are steps away from just about anything in downtown Seaside. I went for a run along with river and then up and down the entire Prom (pedestrian-only walkway along the shore) without having to move my car.

A somewhat rough crowd about the place (tatooed, smokers, wrinkly skin, etc.).

Overall, probably not a place I'd want to stay more than one night, but if you're headed to Seaside to experience the town and just want a place to sleep for a couple of days, go for it if the price is right. The name brands surrounding this place go for $80-$100 per night whereas this place is about $50.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This Motel was AWFUL!! I read other reviews before I started this one and I noticed the management keeps throwing around the word "renovating" Just like they told me when I was booking that it was newly renovated and we would LOVE it. NOPE!! It is FAR from renovated! They have a flat screen and new siding from what I saw, maybe a new sink which is a cold water only sink. but look closely or you may be distracted by the mold all over the blinds and pink tile everything and Gross toilet paper roll holders that you will miss the sink!

Cons:
#1 The rooms are Tight, Dark, Smelly (animal urine)
#2 Furniture and Appliances look to be from the 60's (beds look new and are comfortable but the rest of the room just kills it)
#3 TV was all static (TV was a mounted flat screen, only upgrade I noticed in the room)
#4 I couldn't charge my laptop because there are no 3 prong outlets.
#5 Pink Tile NASTY Showers. And Ice cold water or boiling. No in between.
#6 Bathroom was the size of a closet. No warm water in sink.
#7 Noise is crazy.. Our neighboring rooms kept us up almost all night including a screaming match at 2 am (right next to front office) and no one around to come shut them up.
#8 MOLD.. burnt Matches.. Cigarette Butts.. Room was not clean EWW!
#9 They throw around the word "renovated" because apparently they have done minor renovating since purchase... don't get your hopes up that it is anything an average person will notice.
#10 Pool wasn't warm. :/

Pro:
#1 Awesome staff, Karen and Tarah, helped find us another hotel for a great price for second night we were in town and issued refund for that second night that we did not stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriana e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, General Manager at City Center Motel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We are currently renovating this older motel, however are far from being done. We are taking care of the issues. I am glad to hear Karen and Tarah helped to find you a room at our sister property for the second night. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Point, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Where do I begin? We were referred to City Center Motel by the Inn at Seaside because they were full. The Inn at Seaside said that they owned the City Center Motel and that it was not upscale but it was decent. The bathroom was tiny and it took FOREVER for the the hot water to begin flowing. There were hardly any electrical plug ins. There was not even a plug in for the coffee pot. The floor was uneven and what heat they had was ineffective. The rooms were tiny, cramped, and dark. I can't remember when I've stayed at a more unpleasant place, and I definitely will NOT be back.

Room Tip: I can't think of a single positive thing to say about this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth_Hay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, General Manager at City Center Motel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for brining your experience to our attention.
We are in the process of renovation and we'll be sure to take necessary steps regarding your concerns. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,340 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Motel

Property: City Center Motel
Address: 250 1st Ave, Seaside, OR 97138-5906
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — City Center Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located, Historic Motel Offers Clean, Cozy Rooms For Basic Lodging Needs. At the City Center Motel in Seaside, Oregon you'll find clean, comfortable, and conveniently located rooms. The City Center Motel's economy sized hotel rooms provide budget-conscious rates so you can relax and be comfortable during your stay. Our hotel rooms offer excellent value and many amenities including free high speed wireless internet, non- smoking rooms, pet friendly rooms, and access to our indoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Center Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing