We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - wonderful service and super historic experience”
Review of The Gilbert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gilbert Inn
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We loved our stay. The hostess was fantastic and helpful. You truly feel as if you are residing in a 19th century home. The decor and furnishing for most part are original. The bathrooms are brandnew. Tip - use your AAA card and get a 10% discount.

We will always remember our stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelllholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilbertInn, General Manager at The Gilbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It's true that for an antique lover a stay at the Inn can be quite a little treat! The Gilbert Inn welcomes AAA, AARP and active military members with a 10% discount. It was such a pleasure hosting your stay and if you make it back to the NW I would love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for The Gilbert Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We just returned from portland, Oregon where we visited our daughter and son-in-law. A highlight was going to the coast and staying at the Gilbert Inn in Seaside. The stay was a perfect fit. It was just a short walk to the beach and resturant. The place was squeeky clean and very lovely. The hostess, Maria, was professional, but made one feel so glad to be there. The Victorain flavor was very much to our taste.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerLeClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilbertInn, General Manager at The Gilbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for the kind words ... it was so lovely meeting the four of you! Keeping the home in tip-top shape is of the highest priority for myself and my amazing housekeeping staff, so we really appreciate when this is noted. Next time you make it out to see your daughter and son-in-law please give me a call, we would love the chance to host you for another night or two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We should have paid careful attention to the negative comments and glossed over the glowing comments. Arriving at the Inn for a two night stay July 3 and 4 we were given the obligatory tour of the open areas of the inn restored by its current owner. Our room , The Daniel, was located at the end of the hall adjacent to the secondary entrance. It was a tiny 10 foot square with attached bath, queen bed, one chair and a corner 13 inch TV. We left both windows open for air. The inn is one block from the ocean beach and two blocks from downtown. It is overshadowed by surrounding high rise condos. Parking is available directly off street in a row against the north side of the inn. The noise never stopped from 7 pm on. Firecrackers, sirens, yelling, skateboarding, and condo occupants on their balconies until 3 am and this was the 3rd, not even the 4th. The owner warned us that she could not guarantee our off street parking for the 4th as the streets would be taken over. We had intended to drive to Canon Beach for dinner but feared being unable to return anywhere near the Inn. After a completely sleepless night we left at 6 am.
This is an overpriced and tired inn, no breakfast is served, and there is so much more and so much better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check out other places first
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gpstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GilbertInn, General Manager at The Gilbert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Dear Mr. Stevens,

I'm so sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your experience at the Gilbert Inn. Being given the opportunity to host your stay in Seaside is an honor to both myself and our entire staff. We make every effort possible to meet and exceed the expectation of our guests. Please accept my sincere apology.

I would like to discuss some of the key issues that were brought up in your review.

Overpriced - Mid June to Mid September is peak season on the Oregon coast. It is customary for accommodation properties to adjust their rates accordingly. The rate that you paid is well under what other properties in the area charge. The Gilbert Inn strives to make this special Historical experience accessible to everyone and our rates, in comparison to neighboring properties, reflect that.

Andrew room - The Andrew room is one of our standard rooms in the house. This is Historical Victorian home and the rooms reflect that. Our accommodations are more like bedrooms then traditional hotel rooms, this is something that many of our guests seek out. As I like to put it; standard rooms are similar to a guest room in your home, while premium room are similar to your master suite. If you find yourself looking for more room to spread out we have gorgeous common areas that include a parlor with a fireplace, a sun room and a patio.

It seems as though the largest issue that you had was the noise and crowds on the 4th of July week. This is a very valid observation. Yes, it is crowded noisy and can feel a bit chaotic in Seaside on the 4th of July. This is a reality of this Holiday, especially in Seaside where we hold one of the biggest public firework displays in the state.

This brings us to the issue of parking. We make every effort to protect our guest parking during this time. Thousands of people arrive in Seaside on the 4th and our location is 2 blocks away from all of the festivities. In an effort to to deter our parking lot from being filled with non-guests; we advise our guests to simply hold their parking space with orange cones that we provide if they leave the Inn.

I would encourage any prospective guests to call me directly at the Inn if this review has sparked any questions or concerns. It is my intention to present myself and the Inn just as we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the garret room... Up a private staircase, with an interesting window and very cute if chintzy is your thing! Spectacularly clean and plush with nice coffee. The house is beautiful inside, all wooden paneling and antiques but it does feel a little like staying in a museum or national trust property... Slightly clinical?

Seaside isn't really somewhere I'd want to spend any time... So location isn't great although it is near the beach. It really is a seaside resort, a large Blackpool...

I'm rating value a bit lower, especially as there's no breakfast in the price (we paid 160 dollars for the room only)... Passing through for just one night it was the best we could find...

Didn't meet the owners but they were very helpful with our late check in, if you'll arrive after 7 you must ring ahead and arrange.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairyTwinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This 2 floor inn is located on a quiet side street one block from the main street and a very short walk to the promenade and the beach. The Inn is a charming old home that has been converted to accommodate visitors. It has a spacious living room with a fireplace, and a separate sun room where guests enjoy daily complimentary tea and fresh baked cookies. The innkeeper, Maria, cordially greets guests, gives them a brief history of the home, and gets them installed in their rooms. The inn is reputedly the oldest home in Seaside, so there are pros and cons to staying here - Pros - it oozes old world charm. The rooms are comfortable, decorated with antique furnishings, and spotlessly clean. There is zero street noise. They offer free wifi. There aren't many rooms, so there isn't a lot of coming and going, and parking space is adequate. Cons - because it is an old home, when other guests walk around in their rooms at night, the creaky floorboards can wake you up. There is no thermostat in the room so you cannot regulate the temperature to your comfort level. The free wifi goes in and out a lot, and rarely worked in our guest room, And last but not least, this Bed and Breakfast doesn't serve breakfast, so for the B&B experience at this B&B, you're going to have to settle for just one B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kafayolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I was so pleased to find a quiet and quaint location for a weekend getaway with my husband for his birthday instead of a large chain. One of the selling points for me was the no-smoking, no children, and no animals. We were looking for peace and quiet...This is the place to go for sure!

Another selling point is the location of The Gilbert Inn. Located one block from the Prom/Beach and one block from Broadway, everything is in walking distance. It is absolutely perfect.

Upon our arrival at the Gilbert Inn we were greeted by the Innkeeper, Maria, who was full of smiles and very friendly. After we signed in Maria gave us a tour of the Inn on the way to our room (The Andrew Room). I was please to see a side-entrance into the Inn near our room because it made bringing in the luggage easier, but I really enjoyed coming through the front entrance into the main sitting room with the classical music and fireplace.

The entire house was very clean and our room was no exception. It was welcoming and had a subtle scent of potpourri. The bed in our room was so comfortable it was difficult to force myself out of bed in the morning :) I only wish our bed at home was as comfortable!

This beautiful Victorian house is the perfect place to stay for a romantic getaway. The house is quiet and secured at each entry, as well as each room. Each room also has its own bathroom with a shower/tub combo. Every inch of the house is beautifully decorated with period furniture, pieces, paintings, and photographs.

My husband and I absolutely fell in love with Seaside and The Gilbert Inn.

We WILL be back!!!

I absolutely recommend The Gilbert Inn to couples who are looking for a romantic getaway <3

Room Tip: Our room (The Andrew Room) is located on the main floor, which I was a little weary about due to pot...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LTrusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We spent this last weekend in Seaside at the Gilbert Inn. It was a beautiful historic home located literally a block from the beach. We have stayed many places in Seaside-bigger and with more amenities, but this is by far my favorite. If what you are looking for is a quiet, romantic, or relaxing getaway, this is the place for you. No children or pets-SO quiet and calm. Close to the main tourist attractions and the ocean, but within walking distance of Safeway. Maria, the innkeeper was so friendly and enthusiastic at check in, then we never saw her again (you could tell she was around, though) which just added to the homey feel of the place. Also, over two days (when the no vacancy sign was up) I only saw one other pair of guests, who were enjoying the sunshine on the patio. All in all, this home away from home was the best, most restful place I have ever stayed in Seaside and I will look here for availability before even considering other lodging in Seaside.

Room Tip: The Matthew room is the largest room at Gilbert Inn, but we peeked in several of the others while th...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1997ChrisL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.3 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
1.3 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
965 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Prom
Inn at the Prom
#9 of 27 in Seaside
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gilbert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gilbert Inn

Address: 341 Beach Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-5707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: £67 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gilbert Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Gilbert Inn Bed & Breakfast is a couples retreat nestled steps from the oceanfront and downtown activities. Offering eleven cozy guest rooms with private baths each decorated with unique period furnishings that provide the perfect blend of comfort and elegance. Couples can relax and cuddle up around the outdoor fire pit. Escape each morning to the Sun-room filled with natural light as you enjoy our homemade breakfast. To preserve a place for couples to retreat, guests must be 18 years or older to stay. Come experience a Bed & Breakfast like no other offered on the Oregon Coast. We invite you to discover our little spot of paradise on the Oregon Coast. We are not the typical motel where you will find a room with 2 queen beds. If you're looking for the un-motel experience, you found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Gilbert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gilbert Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing