We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't bother to eat!”

Bell Buoy of Seaside
Ranked #19 of 109 Restaurants in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Didn't bother to eat!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We almost always buy at the Bell Buoy's retail store where the service and products are always good.

Thought we would try the restaurant's food and couldn't get past the codgy old man sitting at the ordering menu! He greeted us with "waddya want". I asked what he would recommend as it was our first time there and his answer with a condescending tone of voice was "it's ALL good", like he was annoyed with me for asking such a STUPID question. Some other folks came in behind us, we told them to go ahead of us and we left. We will never go back.

Helpful?
2 Thank pugloverinyakima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    75
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The fish was great, but the fries were soggy and the food was terribly overpriced for fish and chips.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fish and chips, oh yeah...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Let's get this right...the little fish and chips shop behind Bell Buoy Seafood Market is called "Buoy's Best"...and in my opinion...YEP...

It's really just a hole in the wall, with a few tables and some outside seating, but don't come here for the ambiance, come here for some righteously good Halibut and chips!

We opted for a side of chowder and you can't go wrong, clams in every bite and not tiny ones either. The place sold out of chowder shortly after we arrived. The halibut and chips (we opted for the light order of 3 pieces) is hearty and yes, it's good and fresh. Big steak fries and a coleslaw with a surprise, pineapple...I was surprised at how damn good it was.

The price is above average for a fish and chips shop, especially given its divey appearance, but don't let that deter you...dive in and give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh fish!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch. I had clam chowder which was good but not the very best I had . My boyfriend got cod fish and chips and omg they were fantastic !! Lightly breaded and perfect crunch and excellent tarter sauce!

Helpful?
Thank Victoria Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
149 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We absolutely love this little place. If you are looking for FRESH seafood, at great prices, this is the place. If you are looking for fancy look elsewhere. It is a little, emphasis on little, place but MMMM the best seafood. Their crab melt is not to be missed if you like crab. Their portions on the cocktails, whether shrimp, crab, or mixed, is generous to say the least. The staff is friendly and helpful, and as quick as they can be in the very small kitchen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ORFranP86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell Buoy of Seaside also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Bell Buoy of Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing