We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very difficult”

Tillamook Head Traverse Hike
Ranked #5 of 32 things to do in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very difficult”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we hike regularly and have always wanted to do this hike. trail is in terrible condition, poorly maintained , not well marked.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyk1350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    26
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
105 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“muddy but great”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

trail was muddy but good views and well worth it ends at indian beach which was beautiful. bring food and lots of water

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gijadenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wear your boots.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This trail, which has some scenic sections, can be very muddy in places. There are logs and boardwalks in the wettest spots, but I would definitely advise you to not wear your new Nikes. Wait til the dry season to hike this trail unless you're prepared for the wet spots.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oregon Coast beauty at its best”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hike along the cliffs above Indian Beach. Trail can be a little slippery in spots but well worth the hike. Indian Beach is beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The mud is a problem”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Hi everyone. I am a trail runner. I have done the Tillamook Head trail from Indian Beach to Seaside and back twice. The first time was in September, so the mud had pretty much evaporated. I just got back from my second time and the mud was a huge issue.
Why is there so much mud? What happens is that clouds hang on the coast and the moisture in them condensates in the upper branches of the firs. Gravity then forces the moisture in the trees to fall to the ground. Even though it may be sunny in Ecola Park, it could be raining from the trees in the forest canopy.
There has been some wooden walk ways installed along the trail to help alleviate the problem. However, during summers that have more than usual cloud cover (like this one) the mess gets muddier. During the run, a section north of campground and bunker was muddy nearly the entire way. Hikers have started to develop little trails around the mud pits. Unfortunately this destroys plants
My recommendation for hikers is to start at Indian Beach and hike up the road to the campground and then come back on the loop trail, following the signs for interesting information about the forest. The road/trail is compact gravel and doesn't have the mud problem. The trail down from the campground is at a lower elevation and doesn't have nearly as much mud.
If you want to start at the Seaside trailhead or go further north then the campground, go late in the summer or take your old boots and expect to get stuck from time to time.
Now, I have a beer with my name on it waiting for me. Good Luck!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tillamook Head Traverse Hike also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Tillamook Head Traverse Hike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing