We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Clean Room Ownership Change Better Breakfast”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small Clean Room Ownership Change Better Breakfast”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This Future Guest House Inn/Hotel overcame some Main Lobby Customer Check in out construction related obstacles during our brief stay. The Continental Breakfast was above average and despite the construction and ownership issues the staff was also above average. Our Room was clean and efficient and slightly undersized as many newer Budget type hotel are. The Hotel appeared to be full and we probably paid a slight premium for the In Demand location of Seaside between Depoe Bay and Astoria. There did not appear to be many convenient Late Night Dining options in the Hotels immediate area.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room as our room was very small and we did not have much extra breathing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thanks for recognizing our great staff and breakfast!

Just need to correct that there are no "ownership issues". Ownership, management and staff are all the same - we are just changing the name by becoming a GuestHouse International Inns & Suites franchisee. As a a GuestHouse we will have more flexibility to provide the services our guests value, and our guests will have a larger family of hotels to choose from (16 in Washington and Oregon alone). Accumulate just 10 nights at GuestHouse hotels and you get a $40 credit or $40 gift card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    107
    62
    47
    24
See reviews for
123
144
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It was okay. Just okay. Nothing to rave about - the breakfast was mediocre (no hot food - but we were informed that starting next week...July 8, 2012, they will be serving hot food for breakfast). The description of the hotel states that it was renovated in 2010, and I can see bits and pieces of it, but updating a few more things can make a huge difference. The carpet needs updating and the TV's. Other than that, the hotel was clean, and simple. We had a suite, so we also had a mini fridge and microwave. The room was big enough to hang out in.
Staff was friendly, and they allow pets which was nice. $10/night per animal and the hotel didn't smell like smelly wet dogs, which shows that housekeeping is doing a good job :) Would I stay again? Maybe. But if the price difference between this hotel and one a little nicer is less than a $30 difference, I'd probably choose a different one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carollynnwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thanks for staying and pointing out the cleanliness and all the things you appreciated about the hotel!

That is correct that we now include fresh hot waffles with our breakfast that already includes fresh whole fruit, Yoplait yogurt, a wide variety of hot and cold cereals, several different muffins, 2 different bagels, Florida's Natural juices and Maxwell House coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night-we could not wait to leave. While the hotel itself was clean, the staff was beyond rude. We travel quite a bit and we have never been treated so poorly by hotel staff.

Before I express my “concerns” for how we were treated, I do want to be fair. There were some nice things about the hotel. The room was clean and there was a nice breakfast the next morning.

I am not going to post everything on here that happened for the entire community to see. People have bad days, but what happened to us was FAR beyond this. All we will say is this: be careful when you make your reservation, especially if you make it online through any one of the travel sites. Check it, check it and check it again before you get to this hotel. Also, make sure you read EVERYTHING they have you sign. You are held responsible for room damage, which is normal. However, the clerk did not like that I took pictures of our room (before we took any of our things in) and had him document the damage (that was already there) on our “inventory sheet.” (We travel a lot and I have never seen one of these "inventory sheets" before.)

We have never had this much trouble. As the saying goes, caveat emptor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thanks for recognizing the nice things about our hotel and its cleanliness.

Great advice to be very careful booking through 3rd parties. They do not always maintain accurate information. On the other hand, booking directly gets you the same rate or better you get on any 3rd party, guarantees the accuracy of information, does NOT require you to pay in advance, and gives you much more flexibility for cancelling or changing a reservation. A good rule of thumb is shop on any web site you want, but always book directly.

I am not certain what "inventory sheet" you are talking about as that is not a normal procedure for our hotel. Perhaps it had something to do with you wanting to document any damage prior to occupying the room. Of course, like all hotels, our damage policy is simply that if you decide to smoke in your room, put your fist through the wall, or walk off with all the linens, you are liable for the repair or replacement cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Microtel Seaside used to be a nice place to stay. However, a recent visit was disappointing from start to finish.

On 06/20, my family and I arrive to a lobby under loud construction. According to a cardboard sign propped next to a makeshift check-in desk, the hotel is in the middle of being converted to a GuestHouse property. When we made our reservation, no mention of construction activity was ever mentioned. Guests should be given a heads-up. In my mind, we’re off to a bad start. On the plus side, the staff member who checked us in was very nice. He tried to place our two rooms close together. We ended up on different floors, but I give him points for trying and being professional. The rooms themselves were not as clean and comfortable as in the past. Yet, we only reserved a one night stay and decide to stick it out.

The morning of 06/21, the front desk/breakfast area was still consumed with construction activity. The female staff member on shift was barely at the makeshift desk, instead chatting with her coworkers. Finally, after getting staff attention, we’re told a computer system (or something of the sort) was being swapped out. It was in the middle of check-out hours and we could not get a receipt. What a strange time to does a project like this, it feels like poor planning on part of the hotel. Why pick a time for printers to be out of commission when people are leaving and asking for their bill? If this just had to be done in the middle of morning check-out, why not preprint receipts? Or how about giving guests a heads-up? After all, communication is a good thing, we could have planned around this. What really irks me is the way the disrespectful male staff member handled the situation, the one fiddling with the computer. He basically just told my father he would have to wait twenty minutes. Ummm…that’s your attempt at customer services? No effort to offer another solution, no apology? Long story short –poor customer service provided. I guess they figure they already have our money, they don’t care if guests need or want a receipt.

In conclusion, this hotel is not as good as it once was. Is it because Guesthouse is now taking over? We’ll never know, we don’t want to stay here again to find out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
I'm very sorry you had anything less than a delightful experience. We do work hard to delight every guest, and succeed most of the time.

I do want to make sure the facts are correct:
1) The "construction" you refer to was a front desk remodel. It follows on the heels of a breakfast area remodel. Both are now complete, and both were done to improve the experience of our guests.
2) Noisy work during any remodel is restricted to middel of the day hours when most guests are not in the hotel.
3) The front desk that was being worked on was cordoned off with a floor to ceiling plastic sheeting to limit dust, etc. The breakfast area and breakfast seating was not affected by the remodel activity.
4) The "makeshift" desk you refer to was a sturdy, bi-level mobile desk designed for that purpose.

I have to disagree with you on "not as good as it once was". Our staff is better than ever, facility has been upgraded with hundreds of thousands of dollars in investment in the last 3 years, we're busier than ever and have more positive feedback from guests than ever. I hope you'll give us another try so that we can change your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

as a single person on a budget, i got a good rate on the hotel on hotwire. everything in seaside, especially on weekends, is overpriced. but with the deal, i was satisfied with my 3 night stay there. i had a small but comfortable and clean room. it did not have a microwave or fridge- those cost extra. it had a large wardrobe closet- the tv was on top of it so it was rather awkward to view the tv. the bed was lumpy. the room had a window seat and nice bathroom. i used the fan to block noise from the highway, but it wasn't too loud at night. there was a microwave and computer for public use in the lobby, which was convenient. staff were always pleasant and the breakfast was very good- hot and cold cereal, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

Was treated very well here. When we arrived we were given an upgrade on our room, the Lady manning the desk was extremely helpful and very friendly..

The suites were spacious, clean and all added extras were in the room waiting for us.

Would definitely recommend this hotel ignore the negative reviews I think they have the wrong hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorylowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thanks so much for recognizing our great staff. Manager Steve and the staff work very hard to provide our guests delightful stays. I appreciate you pointing out the kind of room you stayed in. We have different room types to accomodate different needs and budgets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel had great customer care! We enjoyed the stay the room was big enough to sleep and relax in! The bathroom was good sized and there was a vanity for getting ready in the bedroom area! Me and my husband checked out at 4 so we could enjoy another full day argue ocean and the charge was only 25$ for a late check out! They where friendly and very helpful will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Owner at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Very glad we'll be seeing you again! Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. The late checkout option is a nice way to get an extra 1/2 day at the beach. Check with our Front Desk Associate for availability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
269 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2455 S Roosevelt Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6528 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites Seaside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Seaside Hotel Seaside
Microtel Inn And Suites Seaside
Heritage Microtel Seaside
Microtel Seaside
Seaside Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing