We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A decent budget hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The room really was nice. We booked the smallest room and found it to be completely adequate for our needs. Could tell some thought went into maximizing the small space. It's a few blocks from the beach and a little far to walk in the winter, but we knew that before booking. Breakfast was nice, standard fare of yogurts, muffins, etc.

I was frustrated that we were placed in a connecting room. The sound insulation is very poor between rooms. If you're placed in one of these I recommend asking to be moved immediately. I had this thought upon checkin, but decided not to worry about it. At about 11:30 our neighbors arrived in their room and began.... Well, you know. The sounds of their activities left us mortified and awake well into the night. But hey, if listening in on others is your thing then this is totally your hotel! Some hotels put a layer of insulation between the connecting doors to minimize sound then store it when connecting rooms. I would suggest that this hotel invest in the same.

I had a piece of mail that needed to go out. It was already stamped so I asked if the front desk clerk could add it to the hotel's outgoing mail. She said she could not. No big deal, just took it to the post office the next morning but this experience really set the tone for our stay.

Overall, it's a budget hotel that really acts like a budget hotel. Now I've stayed in cheap hotels that I can really tell are trying to be a step above. This is not one of them.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a connecting room unless you are connecting the rooms. Sound insulation is nonexiste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thanks for all the compliments and for the thoughtful review.

You are absolutely correct that we are an economy hotel and we try to deliver the best value on the north Oregon coast. Compared to other economy hotels guests tell us we surpass others because we have many more options for breakfast, offer 24/7 beverages in our lobby not offered at other hotels, have comfy beds with upgraded linens compared to others, have more reliable Wi-Fi and actually have 24/7 support for guests and, of course, work hard to provide excellent cleanliness and service.

I am sorry you were disturbed by other guests in the adjacent room. We always try to space guests out when there is room, but when we have a fuller hotel there will most likely be guests next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    95
    59
    45
    24
See reviews for
114
128
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were in the lobby. My wife went up to the room on the second floor. I stayed behind to use the (very slow) computer. When I went to go back to my room, I realized I did not remember the room number, nor did I bring my wallet. I asked the guy at the front desk what my room number was, so I could return to my room. I told him my last name, thinking that would be enough proof I was a guest as it was listed in the computer when we checked in. He refused. I was treated like a vagrant who was coming in from the street. He demanded ID to prove I was who I said I was. I did not have my wallet. He said that there was nothing he could do for me. Ridiculous ! I said, I would have to sleep in the lobby. After an awkward wait, I demanded that he call my wife in our room to verify who I was. He wouldn't do that either. He did not speak to my wife Instead he put in a call to the room and told me to use the house phone to speak to my wife myself. I did. She gave me the room number. End of story. It was unnecessary to put me through the interrogation. I believe it was a petty power play by this front desk clerk (who would claim he was being security conscious of course). Totally unnecessary harassment in my view. I'll never stay there again. The attitude is not customer friendly.

Pros
Nice place to lay in the bay window
Clean

Cons
Small rooms
No fridge
No microwave
VERY slow computer, no apparent concern from staff
No pool
unfriendly guy at front desk

Room Tip: Avoid this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thanks for pointing out our cleanliness and the efficient design of our rooms.

I am sorry, though, you felt our front desk team member was being unfriendly. He was indeed protecting the safety of our guests. I'm sure most guests would prefer their room numbers and keys to their room not be given out to people who have no identification and no room number! His solution was absolutely the correct one - contact the room for you based on the name you gave and once he made contact let you speak directly with the occupant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Enumclaw, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Our room was close to the road but we didn't hear the traffic.The room was very clean and the workers were very friendly. It is close to a golf course....across the highway, close to main street Seaside, the ocean and a short distance to Cannon Beach!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for choosing us and for taking the time to point out all those great positives (especially about our great staff). As you mentioned, we are the closest Seaside hotel to Cannon Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

As stated by someone else, these rooms are so small, a large person would have a hard time getting around the side of the bed. There is little room for suitcases, as the closet is a portable type, taking up a corner of the room. The hotel itself used to be a microtel, which explains the small rooms.
The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was new, not like the 70s decor of most of the hotels on the Prom in Seaside. The towels could've come from Motel 6, they were very small, hard and scratchy. The breakfast did have the waffle machine, hard boiled eggs, and yogurts along with the typical cereals and bagels. We paid $70 for one night for 2; I think that was too high, but it is Seaside and they can get away with it. The hotel WAS very clean…a plus!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room opposite the noisy Hwy 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us and for appreciating our cleanliness and value!

The room you described is our most economical, a standard one queen. Should you choose to stay again perhaps you would prefer one of our several other room types that have more room? We try to offer choices so that no guest has to pay for amenities they don't need. In the room you were in many guests make use of the 6 foot by 2 foot window seat for laying out their luggage and personal items. We also find many guests appreciate the small environmental footprint we take with our efficient design.

I encourage all travelers to make the comparison to Motel 6, as I'm confident the differences will be very evident to you! For example, Motel 6 and us buy our beds from the same place, but Motel 6 chooses the lowest end model of mattress and we pay the extra for the upgraded mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

So I have stayed at this location roughly 6 or so times in the past year. One stay was about a week. But Id like to share the same hospitality I was shown at this establishment and write a review. I first would like to say how misleading the traveler tips are. If you are a light sleeper request a back side room. It really isn't that loud unless you get the 'party room' next to yours or the 'arguing couple '( which is unavoidable on the weekend when it fills up. Breakfast is free, someone claimed you had to pay in the travelers tips but that's a lie. The price you pay is making your own waffle. I've seen the same staff for a year and have not had a bad experience. They are all informative and very polite and hospitable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chimmi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us and for continuing to choose us. We work hard to be the best value on the north Oregon coast and it is very nice to hear that is appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

After checking in to the smallest room I have ever seen in the US I asked about the microwave. I was told that we would have to up grade rooms if I wanted a microwave and that I would know that if I hadn't booked thru a third party.
Check out was 11am and we requested a late checkout as I had a conference call taking me to 11am. The response was "oh no. We can't do that."
There are many hotels in Seaside. I wouldn't go back to this one.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saguas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Sorry to hear you won't be returning. Yes, there are many hotels in Seaside and we always encourage guests to shop around. We are confident that when guests do they will find us to be the best value on the north Oregon coast.

It sounds like a mis-communication about late check-out. We are happy to accommodate those requests at no charge if the room you are in is not needed for the next arriving guest. Check-in time for guests is 3 PM, so of course we need time to clean and prepare the room for them.

It also sounds like you chose a standard room with one queen bed, probably because it was lower priced than other room types. We find that guests whose needs are met by these rooms appreciate not having to pay for amenities they don't need. Rooms with more space, microwaves, etc. are certainly an option for those that need those amenities. Apparently you turned down that option?

Often third-party sites don't have complete information, don't have access to discounts, and don't have access to all of our room types. I'm sure our team member was trying to communicate that, and suggest that third-party sites can be a good way to do your shopping but once you've narrowed your choices you are better off to book directly with the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a nice stay. It was clean, the room was not too small, the staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast options were good and were consistently stocked and areas cleaned. They are also pet friendly and have nice grassy areas available

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenguertin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritage H, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thanks so much for mentioning the helpfulness of our staff and cleanliness of our rooms. We are, indeed, happy to have well behaved pets (and owners) stay with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
1.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2455 S Roosevelt Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6528 (Formerly GuestHouse Inn & Suites Seaside)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Seaside
Microtel Inn & Suites Seaside Hotel Seaside
Heritage Microtel Seaside
Microtel Seaside
Seaside Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing