We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Nice Manager, Decent Motel”
Review of Surfside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seaside
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfside Inn
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband, dog, and I booked a room at Surfside because it was the only place with availability three weeks before the 4th of July holiday weekend. We feel we lucked out (despite the inflated holiday rate - can't blame 'em) because Seaside's 4th of July fireworks are billed as the biggest on the OR coast, and the cars still at a standstill at 2 a.m. proved them right. Do NOT drive into Seaside on the 4th of July unless you have a place to stay - you'll never get out.

About the Surfside: it's a dinky little motel with small rooms, but the rooms were recently renovated and actually look quite nice. There's no daily room service, but the VERY nice manager will provide anything you need if you simply ask. The two block walk to the promenade is key - EXCELLENT proximity to the beach and restaurants on Broadway. The beds make a creaking sound when you sit on them or roll over - a bit annoying, but they're comfortable enough. We appreciated the free wireless internet access, ceiling fan, and mini 'fridge. Walls are thin, so you can hear activity in the room behind you.

Note to the owner: an additional mirror in the bedroom area would be helpful when one person is using the bathroom (and it'd make the space feel a little larger, too - bonus!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

This motel was booked online & oh boy what a mistake!
Seaside itself has seen better days as have many one time popular resorts, but this place was unappealing from the moment we arrived. Sadly its in quite a run down area and the motel itself has tiny rooms on the ground floor (some with no curtains) & dubious locals.
Needless to say we were glad to leave after one night.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
6  Thank paulineandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We just returned from a stay at this motel. I knew right when I went to check in it was a mistake. The office was a complete disaster. The lady running the place kept apologizing and seemed very frazzled. Could not find our room key and had to give us the office key until she could find it. We get to the room and it's tiny and very stuffy. The bed was awful! Small and noisy. We would wake each other up from turning over in bed. Bathroom has no place to put your things while getting ready either. No place to eat in the room comfortably. We had our dog with us so eating in restaurants wasn't doable. Had to stand eating with food on the dresser. Another problem with this place is the walls are SO thin you can here everything. Screaming kids all night long doesn't work for me. Over all just a terrible experience here. The ONLY good things were the location and they accept dogs. But it wasn't worth it for me. Next time I will plan ahead more and return to the holiday inn for our stays in Seaside.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mia7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The best thing I can offer about this motel is that the flat screen TV is new and the available channels is reasonable, although their subscription does not include HBO. Next best is they have hot water. Finally, and the main reason we booked a room was that they accept dogs, although with a cleaning fee. The bed was OK although smaller than the queen-size we expected. The pillows were very thin. A whisk broom was provided when we asked due to tracking in sand from the nearby beach. It is close to downtown so you can walk to restaurants and shopping. Although coffee was available to make, there were no cups. Inexpensive compared to other rooms in the city, but I'm not sure it is worth it. A very small room with very few amenities, so is very marginal in my estimation.

Room Tip: Ask if room ever had smokers in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We made reservations ahead of time and when we arrived our room was not ready. We did not have towels until the next morning. We stayed for 3 nights and our room never got cleaned. After 2 nights I had to ask for clean sheets and the manager was very unhappy about it. Everyday I had to ask for clean bath towels and we just had to pile them up on the floor because our room never got cleaned. When we first checked in we were told how much the room would be and then she charged it wrong. So the next day when we came back from shopping, on a chair outside our room was a stack of towels and a note telling us that we needed to come to the office to pay more money because she screwed up. I will say that the room was cute, but not very comfortable. There was no table in the room or chairs that you could sit in. The only place to really sit was on the bed. Also the steps were so uneven going to our room that my fiancée fell because of a slope on the top step. The parking lot is so small you can barely back a car out without hitting the cars behind you. The bed in our room was so creaky that we would wake each other up in the night just from turning over. The managers were horrible. The place was uncomfortable. The only thing going for it is it's location. Oh and due to the fact that our room was not maintained we actually ran out of toilet paper.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was an excellent little hotel! The staff was very friendly. The room was all remodeled with all wood floors, beautiful, very clean and comfortable. The greatest thing is we were able to bring our dogs and It was an excellent price. You couldn't hear TV and such from other rooms. We were also a block away from the beach and the main Seaside downtown. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we get away!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Doesn't look like much from the outside but the rooms are beutiful on the inside..remodeled..very relaxing. .we stayed in the suite and the cleanliness surpassed perfect..the manager dave is very friendly and accommodating..we were able to have our bagel dog (begal) daughter calls him a bagel ;) stay with us!! Thanks dave

Room Tip: Larger 2 bed suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atkac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
0.3 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
986 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Inn

Address: 210 N Downing St, Seaside, OR 97138-5936
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Seaside
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing