We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To describe this collection as antiques is a monumental stretch of the imagination”
Review of Antique Mall

Antique Mall
Ranked #11 of 34 things to do in Seaside
Attraction details
Tivetshall St. Mary, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“To describe this collection as antiques is a monumental stretch of the imagination”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The Seaside Antique Mall is quite an experience indeed, but not necessarily one that I look forward to having again in the mid to long term future. Sporting a large and varied collection of simply pre-owned bits and bobs that are crammed into innumerable glass cases and stuffed into various stall spaces, you would have to be using the term "antique" in only the loosest fashion to call this an antique mall. So much of what is here is just second-hand domestic rubbish that would barely grace a shelf in a charity shop in the UK; for the very odd 'antique' that is hidden here amidst the vast morass of pseudo collectables when you finally get it out to have a look make sure you're sitting down when you turn over the price ticket as it is bound to be a bit of a shock. The staff were very welcoming it must be said - but this sadly was the highlight of the stay. Think of Milton's warning when you cross the threshold, i.e. "abandon hope...."

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Don't forget to pet the cat”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great mix of furnishings - some beautiful pieces. Also excellent collection of vintage clothing - One of the things I loved most was a shelf unit made from old door frames - very unique.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Three14159265359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumwater
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is outdated, but I remember it from my childhood so love it just as it is.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We, of course, had to be on the carousel every day with two children under 5. We loved it!! The toy shop was a favorite for the kids as well. It was much better than some of the other toy shops on Broadway. It also has a Cafe inside which was nice to have near the hotel instead of just having black coffee which is served everywhere. Oh, and the cartoon artist David Poole had a station in there. It was fun watching him draw.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“enjoyed”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

always enjoyed looking at Antique! Wished we had money to buy some of the beautiful pieces. They so much to choose from!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rlfoiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Find something every time...”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

This place is larger that it seems from the outside and is a must for anyone who appreciates nostalgia and vintage. I stop in every visit to Seaside and usually take home some new treasure. Even if I don't it is a delightful way to spend some time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antique Mall also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Antique Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing