We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Inn at Seaside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Seaside
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Passing through Seaside on the way down the Oregon coast at 7PM, we were hoping for a good one night walk-in rate considering we were there on a Monday, and school, for the most part, hadn't let out yet (town itself was pretty empty). We called a couple places which didn't have the rate we were looking for, and checked out another motel on the south side of town. We were shocked to hear that they had a king for $160. Bargained them down to $120 then said we were on a budget and needed it for a better price. The lady there sort of laughed and said "well, we can't do that price here...", more or less, and you'ld be lucky if you could get Motel 6 to do that rate (I had checked online and they could)...we really didn't want to stay at Motel 6...but I digress....

To the Inn at Seaside we stumble thinking there really was no way we could get it for our price given the reviews on Tripadvisor and what sounded like an awesome place. In we walk, and talk to Linda who was fantastic. Not only did she offer the taffy and cookies on her desk to us as now we were pretty hungry, but met our price for a king bed and upgraded our room to a kitchenette to boot! Wow! And it smelled like popcorn! Wow!

As for the room - it was the best bed we slept on our week trip, bar none (a Sealy Posturpedic plush...superb), awesome pillows, room looked and smelled clean. Bathroom with one sink inside and one outside was great. The shower was great. The flat panel TV was fine and had the TV/VCR with it. Did not access the 700+ DVD library as we brought our own, but it was nice not having to connect our laptop to play a movie. The kitchenette we did not use, but if you are interested, has limited utensils, pots/pans, plates, etc. along with two electric burners, a small oven, a dishwasher and a sizeable sink. It was nice to have the extra counter space for sure. WiFi worked great. Everything about it was fantastic. The only wish really was that the curtains opened the opposite direction in that we couldn't keep the windows open for the wonderful fresh sea air and still get sufficient darkness to sleep. The complimentary breakfast was the standard breads, limited fruit, yogurt, cereal and the like.

It is not the Ritz-Carlton or the Marriott or the Hyatt, but the people at the Inn at Seaside are a prime example of what all motels should be doing for their customers - a good clean, comfortable room, with a higher quality bed and excellent customer service (such as upgrading and not charging the higher price when you know you won't be letting the room!). We honestly would return every time we travel to Seaside without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! We are completely thrilled with your comments about your stay with us. We take pride in proving excellent customer service and we are happy to hear you’ve enjoyed it. We’ll be sure and share your review with all our staff! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    752
    458
    109
    16
    25
See reviews for
551
414
45
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The staff was very accomodating and the birthday package was such a nice touch. Loved the chocolate chip cookies every day. Small pool but certainly nice to have it on the property. The room stayed warm without any problems and quickly cooled off when the air conditioner was turned on.

Green Features: Larger or easier to find recycling bins would be a nice touch.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies and our warm pool. Thank again for your review, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is 2-star motel that is trying hard to be a 3-star. Rooms are not large, but large enough. Everything is spotlessly clean. Beds are very, very comfortable. Great location just two blocks from the center of town where there are lots of good restaurants to choose from. Great selection of DVDs and free popcorn (albeit with artificial butter). The indoor pool is rather small. The breakfast buffet is sufficient, though far from fancy. This motel is priced appropriately for what you are getting. I would definitely stay there again.

Why isn't it a 3-star? When you look close, you see little places that look slightly old or tattered. For example: poor paint job in spots. The bathroom is tiny and a bit cramped (though the shower is terrific!). A three-star hotel would have a large, inviting lobby. The rooms would be much larger and the furniture would be of higher quality. Bathrooms would be much larger. If you need those things, pay 30 to 50 dollars more at one of the near-by motels. Or stay at the Inn at Seaside, save money, and be very satisfied overall.

Room Tip: Urge the front desk person to put you on the second or third floor and ask if they still have a deal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time sharing your review with us on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your suggestions, we will take them into consideration while we continue to renovate. Thanks again, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

My family and i had a fantastic time even if it was only for one night. When we left to drive the oregon coast and looking for other hotels to stay at, nothing compared to the inn at seaside and we wished they were all along the coast. The staff was pleasant and friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and its just a few steps away from the beach couldnt ask for anything more. It was fantastic!! Definitely will be Going back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHEILA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks again, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prineville, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We combined an Amateur Radio Convention/Conference with a vacation and beach romp for the dogs. The Inn at Seaside enjoys a fantastic location just across the street from the Civic and Convention Center, two blocks north of Broadway (and all the attractions located there), and four blocks east of the Ocean. The new owner is upgrading the property and the public areas are nicely done. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Amenities include flat-screen TV and DVD player with a selection of 600 free movies, complementary continental breakfast, chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon, and popcorn in the evening. The indoor pool is small but was clean and inviting. Our room was on the small side but we didn't spend much time there. We did like the large opening windows and the panoramic view of the river and surroundings. Although this is an older property, it is clean and well maintained. I was told further renovations are planned.

One disadvantage of a downtown location can be noise. We are up early with the dogs so it didn't bother us, but the street sweeper droned past the hotel both mornings of our stay. The windows are double insulated but couldn't block the sweeper racket. But the streets are really clean :-)

We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Seaside.

Room Tip: Our per friendly room was on the second floor. A top floor room would be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn provides recycle bins in the center stairwell, and doggie-doo bags in the pet exercise area.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desert_Searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you came enjoyed your stay with us while attending the convention. Thank you for highlighting we are an older property but well maintained. Again, thank you, we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem,or
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We've never been treated more like family at a hotel. The cookies and popcorn are a real treat in the evenings. On those rainy Oregon days the free movies are handy in the lobby. Harbor Pizza was very good. Easy one block walk to main street and the beach is just 2 blocks. Thank you for a wonderful time

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear we made you feel at home. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Inn at Seaside is the perfect location close to beach and shopping. Upon checking in the staff were friendly and helpful asking if we neded anything. The king bed was comfortable, the room was clean. They offer a good continental breakfast, DVDs to borrow and popcorn in the evening. They have an indoor pool which is clean. We enjoyed our stay and will be back when in Seaside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lov2travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNATSEASIDE1, General Manager at Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#10 of 27 in Seaside
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Seaside

Property: Inn at Seaside
Address: 441 2nd Ave, Seaside, OR 97138-5919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seaside
#2 Green Hotel in Seaside
#4 Family Hotel in Seaside
#5 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheerful, spacious two bedroom suites, double queen-bedded rooms and hospitality suites are perfect to accommodate families, small groups or couples on a romantic coastal getaway. And, with several pet-friendly rooms, you can include the whole clan on your Oregon beach vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Seaside Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing