We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Oceanside Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Seaside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This place had everything we could ask for... a clean spacious room, ocean views, quiet area but a short walk to the main promenade. The folks at the front desk were really friendly and helpful, offering us advice and plenty of brochures of things to do. Their outdoor common area was great as well, offering a covered BBQ area (perfect for the coast's inclement weather).

One thing that surprised me was that the kitchenette did not have any basics (oil, salt, pepper). As these are condo's, I'm not sure if that's true in every room or specific to our owner's preference. But seeing that there's a kitchenette and BBQ area, it would be great if there were a few of those things available so you don't have to buy them.

Overall if you're looking for a place to stay in Seaside, you won't be disappointed with Tradewinds!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaWorthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTradewinds, General Manager at The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your review Jessica. We loved your idea of making sure that there are the 'basics' in each unit- and you're correct, some of the owner's take care of these items- thanks to your comments, all the units will now be supplied- Judy and I both hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

What a pleasant surprise, this little place reminded me of childhood visits to the Florida beach. Everything we needed was there, Great view of beach. Fun old time photos of Seaside on walls.

Judy was sweet, gave us some sand dollars and dining advise.

Second nite we arrived back late and heard a baby screaming next door, thought oh great, but once we were inside, you couldn't hear a thing.

This is a quite old fashioned type beach lodging, with great location. Most beds are too hard for me due to hip problems but the one in our room was nice. I believe we were in 201.

Will stay again when back in area.

Room Tip: We like the end rooms with no one on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTradewinds, General Manager at The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your review- we love to hear from our Guests! We're looking forward to your next stay with us here on the Beach in Seaside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Room 207
Great find for Seaside. At the end of the prom so very quiet but close enough to walk to city center.
The condo is fully furnished. Even has sandwich baggies in the kitchen. The only flaw we found the bed needs to be updated or fixed. It creaks! Mike and Judy are friendly and helpful.
We'll be back and this time try Maggies. We just ran out of time. We did try Dundees and they had great burgers and pizza.

Room Tip: Room Number 207 is a two bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTradewinds, General Manager at The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for the nice comments- and the concerns regarding one of the beds has forwarded to the Condo Owner who is addressing the issue. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

What a great stay, room 205 has a beautiful view and all the amenities we needed to get away for a couple days!! The managers are friendly ad out room was very quiet! It's nice to be able to cook dinner while watching the ocean
We will be back...Thanks!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vickid1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTradewinds, General Manager at The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you Vicki for the nice comments- and we'd love to have you both bring the puppy on your next visit- see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the second time we stay here. We got an email from the new owners inviting us to check the place again and we did. They didn´t improve too much the premises as they were already pretty much ok; however minor cosmetic things make the rooms much more appealing. This was exactly what Tradewinds needed: attention to the detail.

Not only rooms have been improved but also the customer service. Michael & Judy take their hospitality very serious and they make all they can to make you happy. Tradewinds is not a fancy resort, even they don´t have much space to park but they´re located a few feet (literally) from the sand beach, far from downtown but still at walking distance and the price is unbeatable. What else can you ask for a pleasant weekend getaway?

We´ll come back (with our pet!).

Room Tip: Anyone facing the sea (most of them) at the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTradewinds, General Manager at The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thanks for the great review! We definitely take our Guest Experience seriously- it's the reason we do what we do! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We enjoyed a unique, GOOD experience. Mike and Judy are gracious hosts and evidently love to do what they do. Our family loves to support places such as theirs which are "homey" and personable :) A little kitchen is a HUGE bonus for our family's needs, and our unit was clean and comfortable. Things were in working condition. It was warm, the bed was nice, and the TV was good. I believe we were in unit 213?? I think each unit is different so we felt blessed by the one we got. We were on the side opposite of the units along the boardwalk but we still had a view and it was well worth it. They have access to a community center close by which I LOVED!!!! And they alerted us to some coupons to use at local restaurants just for staying at Tradewinds. We hope to be back!! Thank you!

Room Tip: They seem to know a lot about each room and can recommend what you may need if you ask :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank babybelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTradewinds, General Manager at The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for the nice comments- and we certainly will look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at The Tradewinds Condos in late January. The condo though quite small was clean. It had an ocean view and the beach was just out the door.
They allow pets which was a necessity for us as this was a last minute trip and we hadn't made other arrangements for our dog. The managers were pleasant and they offer discounts at a couple of the local restaurants in town. The kitchen was pretty bare other than plates, cups and silverware, but we got by. I would recommend The Tradewinds for someone traveling alone.

Room Tip: Be sure to look for one that is ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dthewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
1.9 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
1.4 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#10 of 27 in Seaside
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel

Address: 1022 N Prom, Seaside, OR 97138-6235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Seaside
Price Range: £57 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds is a Condo Cooperative located on the northern, quiet end of Seaside's famous Boardwalk Promenade. Picturesque and serene in its location, yet within easy walking distance to Seaside's fine dining, shopping, sightseeing and all the other attractions that Seaside has to offer. The Tradewinds Condos offer spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Tillamook head and is just 50 feet from the sandy beach! While staying at the Tradewinds popular activities include: kite boarding, surfing, shopping, antiquing, crabbing, clamming, hiking, beachcombing, evening bonfires, and golfing as well as simply enjoying the beautiful sunsets and walking along the beach! All units are non-smoking (separate covered smoking area is provided onsite), and some are Pet Friendly with a small Pet Fee. There are no cleaning fees or security deposits needed, and daily Housekeeping is included free of charge! Free year round unlimited passes are available to the Sunset Empire Recreation Center with it's Olympic pool, therapy pool, hot tubs, and fitness center! The Commons include covered BBQs with wood chips & utensils, as well as a beautifully laid out patio, dining area, and outdoor kitchen. Reasonable rates, beautiful views, full accommodations, and great customer service make the Tradewinds an ideal place to visit for those special occasions, family adventures, and whenever you desire to simply get away! Be sure to ask about our specials and promotional events! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Tradewinds Condo / Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing