We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place just far enough from the craziness of downtown.”
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
“Great place just far enough from the craziness of downtown.”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was my second stay here. I stayed for two nights mid-week during a conference. The good side is that it is close enough to the water to be able to listen to the water all night long. Downside if people use the beach for a fire at night and make a lot of noise (which didn't happen this time, but did last time). I stayed in unit 46 on third floor, second from the end of the right side. The first time I stayed I also stayed on the third floor, but two doors from the left side in unit 43. 43 is better than 46. In 43 the kitchen is bigger. In 46 the bed was more comfortable. Both rooms are clean. The hall light in 43 didn't work in the kitchen area. The office staff was helpful and friendly - I will stay there again next year, but will return to 43 or try another room. Nice place to stay!

Room Tip: Look at the photos on the website for more info on the rooms. Staff are very helpful - call them fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redlingg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Greetings from the Lanai,
We are so glad that you chose to stay with us again this year and looking forward to seeing you next year as well. With every unit here being individually owned, each one is totally different, that is what makes the Lanai so unique. It is fun to be able to stay in different units while visiting and yet we do have guests who decide to stay in the same unit each time. We are glad to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly, we hope they made you feel at home. Thank you so much for your reply. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    176
    20
    13
    6
See reviews for
220
516
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodburn, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

this is my husband's and my favorite get away and has been for many years. we always look forward to this as we return from arizona. great area for day trips to other places on the coast and a great downtown locations and has great restaurants. we also like that all the rooms are different. the location is closer to the water than any other we've found around seaside.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review about the Lanai, it is a nice and quiet little
place to be able to just get away from it all. You are right, the
location here is great, so close to the water and very centrally located
so you can get out and enjoy the sights here in Seaside or other area's on
the coast and then come back to the Lanai for some quiet and relaxation.
We will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in Unit # 23, we loved being on the ground floor and being able to walk right out to the ocean. The beach is rocky right in front of the hotel but the sand is a short walkable distance a way and I loved the privacy that gave. The room we were in was a little out dated and could use a little TLC but there was absolutely nothing that would stop us from coming back again and would definitely choose the same room! Management was very helpful and the flexible policy that allowed me to bring along my dog was wonderful. Only suggestion is would love to see the pool open later especially for the longer summer nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbaker831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Hello and thanks for sharing about your stay at The Lanai. We
are so happy you had a great time and appreciate your thoughts on how to
make The Lanai better too. Thanks again and we would love to see you again
soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just got back from an overnighter in unit 44 (June 18-19). We hated to leave, the room was clean and very comfortable. But most of all it was quiet and peaceful. The view of the cove and ocean is unmatched in the Seaside area. We saw Terns, bald eagles, a rainbow and blue skies all with a backdrop of busy Seaside. The surfers are at it all day (skilled and not so skilled) :>

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Room Tip: Third floor is the best. Room 44 had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
You are so welcome and THANK YOU! Glad to hear you were treated to great
wildlife and surf action while getting some good R&R. Thanks for being
part of The Lanai family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I came a day early as we already had reservations in Cannon Beach. I found this on trip advisor and thought it would be fun to check out, so we did. We were pleasantly surprised, we wished we had booked this first. I would have cancelled cannon beach, if it was not for the cancellation fees.
We had an ocean front room, watched surfers surf off into the sunset and listened to the sounds of waves waves. Our room was large, equipped with everything we needed from kitchette to a table for eating and a sofa to relax watch a little TV and still of coarse see the beautiful water. The hosts were wonderful, and made sure we had everything we needed. We loved this place so much when we left Cannon beach we stopped back in for one last night and our experience was just as amazing as the week before! We will be coming back again this summer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWlovinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Wow. Thank you for your wonderful review and for finding us at The Lanai.
We are so glad you had a nice stay and are coming back. Welcome to The
Lanai family and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spent 2 nights at the cove for some much needed relaxation. We stayed in room #43 on 5/31 and 6/1. The room was great and the view of the cove can not be beat! It was so fun to wake up and watch the surfers! It is centrally located - close to downtown Seaside, Ecola State Park, and Cannon Beach. The only reason we are not giving it a "5" is because of a few housekeeping oversights. The microwave oven was filthy when we checked in and the tile floors were sticky. Aside of these minor things, the Lanai is a scenic, quiet, and restful place. This was our second visit and I'm sure there will be more....

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thanks for staying with us at The Lanai and being understanding about the
“oversights”. We appreciate knowing those things so we can do better.
We’re very grateful you chose us and are coming back. Thanks again and see
you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Wow, this is a great place to stay. We went this weekend (june 16) and the weather was sunny with the clouds being held out to sea. Barb who is sometimes at the front desk is friendly and helpful. She called us just in the nick of time to come back and fetch our coats from the closet we didn't check. The beach view is just as good as the owner described in their pamphlet and the wildlife is fun to watch: seal lions, pelikans, gulls, and surfers (on our mini waves). Oh, and the people fishing for perch on the shoreline. We didn't see the resident eagle pairs or the deer playing on the beach, maybe next time. The other thing is that we were close to Seaside (enough to see city lights in the distance) and Canon Beach (just down the road) but just far enough away to think you are out town. I recommend this place to stay.

Room Tip: Actually there isn't a fitness center, I could not undot that selection once choosen. The top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Hello Nancy,
Glad you saw such great sights on the water and had a great stay at The
Lanai. Thanks for sharing your experiences and giving your recommendation.
We would love to have you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
946 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#12 of 27 in Seaside
405 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ashore Hotel
Ashore Hotel
#2 of 27 in Seaside
339 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing