We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet area with a killer view”
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here August 26 & 27. The way our dates landed, we did have to switch rooms but it was fine and the staff did everything they could to make our move easy. Our first room was 27 which met our needs. It's not fancy, but you aren't there to live in your room for the whole trip. The kitchenette is pretty bare bones though. It is on the first floor. At one point I was standing on our patio taking a photo with my phone and some random girl walked by and asked to borrow it "for a quick sec". I thought that seemed pretty odd and said no, it would be long distance for me. She said okay and never even paused her walk. I have a feeling she would have taken off running with it if I'd said yes! So just beware that there are a lot of people in the area there for the surfing that aren't staying there. We had a great time watching the surfing though - huge waves!
On our second night, we were moved to room 42. What an upgrade! Beautiful room, it's clear that the new owners of the suite are updating. The posted photos are dated, the decor has all been changed to be very beachy-chic. Much nicer kitchenette and decor, new TV, new bedding, etc. Great deck as well.
Both rooms were clean and tidy. I would stay there again. The only caveat is that it's a bit of a trek from the main drag but that wasn't a big deal for us.

Room Tip: 42! Newly updated and nice kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hi Andrea,
Thanks so much for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing your story about the person wanting to borrow your cell phone, we wouldn't have lent our's to anyone that we didn't know either. It sounds like you made a decision for the best. Thank you again and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

746 - 752 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

We love coming to the Lanai, it is a great little romantic get-a-way, private, quiet and cozy. The staff is exceptional, personable and they make sure your stay is going well. The rooms are very nice, clean and have an exceptional view of the ocean, which is just a stones throw away. We love sitting on the deck listening to the ocean and the birds and just relaxing and it's a great sound to fall asleep to. The room is set up with a kitchenette and it feels like you are staying in a little studio apartment, so plenty of room to stretch out or move about. Nothing better than sitting on the deck and drinking your morning coffee. Only bummer is no fireplace, but love that we can build a campfire right outside the rooms. We stayed in room #38, Sept. 6-9, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Greetings Kathe,
Thank you for your kind words and of course your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff as they do such a good job. Sitting on your balcony while enjoying your morning coffee is such a huge plus for so many. It just doesn't get any better than that. We look forward to having you back. Remember to check out our winter rates and specials beginning Oct. 1st. Great winter storms! Great winter rates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

The condo was very clean, newly updated, had kitchen and bath with large tub and a queen size murphy bed, sofa made into a bed, as well. The lanai was a few feet from the ocean and had a spectacular view. At night lights were turned on the ocean until about 2 am. Free parking and swimming pool. Enjoyed it very much and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Each unit is individually owned and has different décor. End suites are larger. There are three lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn E E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hello Lynn,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai. With all of our units being individually owned and decorated makes it fun when our guests come back to a different unit each time. And many guests decide to stay in the same unit each time. Our lights on the back of the building are such a plus so our guests can enjoy watching the surf at night as well. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A few years ago our best friends asked my wife and I if we would like to go to the beach with them and they told us about the Lanai at the cove. We rented two room next to each other and had one of the best weekends that I can remember in Seaside. The rooms are tastefully decorated and each is unique from the others. Very comfortable with the closet on the ocean view possible in that area. We wish we could own a condo located where these are and as beautiful, warm and inviting as they are. We always find it hard to go home when our rental time is up and will always think of renting a room at the Lanai when we are planning a trip to Seaside.

Room Tip: There are lots of places to eat in Seaside and if you mention you are renting at the Lanai at Norma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hey Shawn,
Thank you so much for your review and we are so happy that you have picked us as being your favorite spot in Seaside. We must agree, as it is our favorite spot as well. It is very kind of "Norma's" to give the 10% discount to our guests, it really brings our little community together. We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Lanai is our go-to home away from home. With its great views, private balconies, and well-equipped mini kitchens, the rooms have plenty of room to spread out. You really feel more like you are in a rental apartment than a hotel. The staff are personable and friendly, and while there seems to be concern about soundproofing, we have had no issues. In fact, I sleep fantastically well at the Lanai with the rush of surf and cries of seagulls in the background.

The pool could be a little bigger and as it is heated, I am somewhat surprised that it is not open more months out of the year. However, that is a tiny criticism of this gem of the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms facing the ocean have the best views and seem to be the quietest in terms of hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Hi Liz,
Thank you for your review and your kind words. We are glad that you consider us your "Go-to home away from home". With the Lanai being an older building, there are some sound issue's but never enough to get in the way of enjoying that surf and the cries of the seagull's. We hope to see you again soon. Don't forget, our winter rates and specials are just a couple of weeks away starting Oct. 1st.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Lanai over Labor Day weekend while celebrating our anniversary. We had room 42 on the third floor facing the ocean. The room was recently remodeled, beautiful, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. There was even a telescope. Even though the hotel was full for the holiday weekend, we never had a problem with noise or parking. We thoroughly enjoyed the views, the short walk to the sandy portion of the beach, which is huge and great for exploring or just sitting. We were glad to be out of the main portion of Seaside and more on the outskirts. Restaurants and shopping were still accessible and even with the busy holiday we didn't have trouble getting around town. Whenever we were in the room, we had the balcony door open so we could hear the ocean. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 42 was just redecorated/remodeled and was beautiful. The pictures on the website when we booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db0at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Greetings from the Lanai,
Thank you so much for choosing the Lanai and for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary get away. We agree, #42 is an awesome unit as well as many others units, the telescope is such a plus to be able to get even a better view of the surfers. We always appreciate it when our guests tell a little about are area as well. So much to do and then you are able to come back to the Lanai and enjoy some quiet time. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We have enjoyed the Lanai many times. It sits on a headland so the ocean is very close to your room. Crashing waves and panoramic ocean views from the balcony. Surreal night views with the lights glowing from Seaside. Located in a quiet neighborhood away from the bustle of downtown. It is our "go to" place at the beach. Even our spoiled picky little dogs like it. We choose the rooms with balconies but for those with children the main floor rooms may be better suited as they are on the same level as the super clean pool. The only thing that keeps the Lanai from being absolutely perfect is the sound that can travel through the walls. We have stayed at least a dozen times, our typical stay being four or five nights. Noise has not been a problem often and never bad enough to complain about but I have to at least mention it. Don't let that stop you from visiting this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hello Kate,
We thank you for review and for staying with us once again. We appreciate and value all our guests input on every situation. The noise can be an issue as the Lanai is an older building but as you mentioned, its not a big problem but it is definitely not sound proof. Being able to relax and enjoy the crashing waves as well as the panoramic view certainly makes up for it.We will look forward to seeing you again during your next Seaside visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#11 of 27 in Seaside
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: £56 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing