We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Caldwell, Idaho
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

As advertised..."best view in Seaside". We stayed from 11/27 through 12/2 in Room #47 over Thanksgiving weekend. The view was great as it is on the side of the cove and the waves pass by your room with an occasional surfer cruising by.

The room is very comfortable, decorated nicely, and the staff is courteous and always ready to accommodate.

We enjoy walking, so the 4 mile round trip to town was fine, but if that's not your thing, it's a very short drive. You can walk the beach or choose the street and prom route. We love the beach at Seaside, it's so large that even in peak times it's not crowded. Our only regret is that we didn't discover this place years ago.

Room Tip: I don't believe there are many rooms that don't have an ocean view, but the view from rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyboy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi rockyboy123,
Thank you for your review and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai. It always makes for a relaxing time to be able to watch the surfers right from your room. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again. Please note that we offer our winter specials up until May 15th, and hope you are able to get away and head back our direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    159
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
207
473
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
La Conner, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at this Seaside Gem over Thanksgiving weekend 2013. We had never stayed here before and are so glad we did. Room #37 is decorated beautifully with a wonderful view of the Ocean and Surfers. The thing we loved most though about this place besides Barb at the front desk and her 10% off restaurant cards she gave us with recommendations on where to eat, was the fact that it was away from downtown Seaside and the mass of humanity. It was a quick drive into town for shopping and dinner. At night they light up the surf with large spot lights and it is a beautiful view. You MUST stay here, great rates, friendly staff and very relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Hi Ronie,
Thank you for your encouraging words, we are so glad that you found us and that we were able to help make your stay a good one. Those 10% off coupons do really come in handy. The surf lights are such a plus and a big hit with our guests here at the Lanai. We thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed at the Lanai several times over the past 20 years. Located on the Cove in Seaside, it is one of our favorite destinations on the Oregon Coast. The friendly staff, comfortablle rooms, great ocean view, pet friendly accomodations, and convenient access to the beach make this a great place to stay and enjoy the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: Room #28 is a corner unit on the ground floor with a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Temple503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi,
Thank you so much for your review and we are glad that you once again enjoyed your stay with us. The ocean view and beach access is always a huge plus at the Lanai. Best view in Seaside! We look forward to seeing you again. Remember, our winter rates and specials last up to May 15, 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We actually chose this gem because of previous reviews...the Lanai at the Cove did not disappoint!!! We were going to take advantage of one special and took advantage of a different special and stayed 3 nights because we were having such a enjoyable time!! The location was just beautiful with plenty of activity going on in the Cove. We did have to change rooms on our last night because we had not expected to stay another night, but they let us put our stuff in the other room before we left for our outing for the day. We brought our bikes and rode over 30 miles around Seaside and Fort Stevens..the weather was wonderful for November..both rooms were different decor so it was kinda like going someplace different but with the same beautiful view. Both rooms very clean and comfortable..we also enjoyed having access to dishes and utensils in our room. Staff was very helpful in helping us choose a restaurant for fish and chips that did not disappoint. We would definitely stay here again!! Thank you so much for a wonderful getaway..Ric and Marilee Nov 25-27

Room Tip: Rm 29 on end is larger with fireplace than Rm 25 but both were very comfortable..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hello Ric and Marilee,
We are so happy that you found us on Trip Advisor and decided to give us a chance. We thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We are also glad that you decided to stay the extra night and take advantage of our winter specials. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Wenatchee, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We discovered this "treasure" from other reviewers. What a great spot. Away from the crowds of Seaside, but we were able to still walk to town along the beach. Tastefully decorated room (we stayed in #24...highly recommended). Watching surfers from our patio area was an additional highlight. One thing that sold us was the minimal charge for pets. We brought along two small dogs, and there was only a $50 fee ($25 for each) for our entire stay. Other hotels we looked at were charging that much each night. We wish they would have had breakfast available, just to save some extra $$. And, due to the location against the hill, there isn't a lot of sunshine available. But both of those issues were minor ones. Next time we're in Seaside, we'd stay here again!!
Thanks!! Dave & Doris. November 19-21.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCPick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Hi Dave and Doris,
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you found us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai at the Cove. It is always nice to go into town and then come back out here to the cove and relax. Watching the surfers is always a plus. We look forward to seeing you and your pets again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I have been coming to Seaside for over 30 years to surf from Vancouver BC and have always wanted to stay at the Lanai since it was right next to the surfers parking lot in the Cove.
Finally, I came with my wife and daughter and it did not disappoint. The room was clean and the service was great! Barb and Cory are friendly, helpful and take pride in the property. The property is close enough to town but is just far enough away to be secluded and quiet at night.
The location for surfing the cove was perfect. The Cove is the best workout facility ever and is close enough to walk to the promenade and sandy beach. We were there Nov 8-11 and the surf was huge! We are planning another trip soon.
Jay, Dana and Hana

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello Jay,
We are so glad that you gave us a try and that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Lanai. One of the greatest things is the Lanai location. Close enough to town yet out away from town so you can enjoy the peace and quiet. Thank you so much for your review and we are happy that you will be returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our room was amazing and the customer service is always right on. We have been here several times and will continue coming back. The view from all floors is just spectacular and sitting on the balcony staring at the ocean rejuvenates me every time we visit. Thank you taking care of my family each and every time we visit you!

Room Tip: Go online and look at the room selection prior. Oceanfront is my preference by far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hi Jen,
Thank you so much for your review and we are more than happy that you felt rejuvenated once again. In my opinion, there is nothing more spectacular than enjoying the view right outside you door, here at the Lanai. We are always happy to hear that our guests had a positive stay and we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing