We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I loved this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“I loved this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed in room 26. One of the first floor rooms with a patio. When the storm knocked the power out, they stopped in with a lantern very promptly! I will stay here every time I stay in Seaside! Everything was clean and comfortable! Thank you so much!! I cannot wait to come back! Julie Mills

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliemills12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Juliemills 12,
Thank you for choosing the Lanai during your Oregon Coast get away. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, power outage and all. It makes us happy to know that our guests appreciate the work of our housekeepers, we are lucky to have each of them. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    165
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
212
488
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I went to the beach to watch the incoming storm, and Lanai at the Cove sits right on the water facing north, but at the south end of seaside. It was a great place for storm watching and at high tide the waves are barely 20 ft. away. We stayed in Rm. 45, which was on the top floor. The rooms are very clean, they all seem to have queen beds as well as studio kitchen. It seemed to be very well equipped and use could certainly cook simple meals. The decor was slightly dated, but all was in good shape, the bed was comfortable, there was a very comfy recliner as well as a couch which I believe was a hide a bed. The internet worked great and my husband seemed satisfied with cable options. We lost power about 7:30 pm b/c of the storm, but they came around with small battery laterns. We decided to go out to dinner, hoping to find something open. Although the power was out in all of Seaside and Gearhart, we found the Pacific Way Cafe open with a generator and serving an extrememly generous portion of cioppino, which was excellent. For the price and location, it would be hard to find a better spot.

Room Tip: You should definitely stay on the ocean-side and unless you have a pet where having a patio would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happpycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello happycamper,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and we greatly appreciate your review. We were a bit surprised when the power went out, we were actually expecting it more so the night before but it was fun. We appreciate you mentioning the restaurant in Gearhart that has the generator so we will know where to send our guests whenever we do have area storm power outages. We hope to see you again and please remember, our winter rates and specials will last up until May 15th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed, from Dec. 29 to Jan. 4th, in Unit #28.
Love this unit, and the view of the Cove! Watching the surfers & the waves.
The only thing we would change is the bed, we are use to a King!!!
Weather was great, and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Robert,
Thank you so much for leaving a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us again here at the Lanai and that you like #28. It is always good to see you both and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plains, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is the second year in a row we have stayed at The Lanai at the Cove. It is a great getaway to end the year and start a new year. We were in room # 32. All the staff was very professional and friendly and the room was perfect. This room had the best view and was very very comfortable with great furniture that you could just melt in, have a cup of coffee, watch a movie or the beach with all its surfers. The Lanai is a very clean and comfortable place to relax and enjoy the beach with out being in the middle of town but still is close enough to hop over for food and shops. The Lanai is just a great romantic place to be.
We will continue to visit there every year to enter in the New Year enjoying the relaxing and friendly atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi Keith,
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your photo's. We are always so happy when our guests truly enjoy their stay with us while getting to relax and enjoy the scenery from your room so up close and personnel. We look forward to seeing you both again during your next visit to Seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estacada, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I gave this place an Excellent, because of the excellent friendly staff, the very well maintained grounds, despite the buildings vintage nature it still has charm, and is very meticulously clean. It is a very romantic spot on the water front. And the rates I think are a decent bargain. It is fun picking your room, they are all very differently modeled! Did I say Romantic, yes it is, with the water front, the Birds, the Surfers, and all of it a front row seat! I am already scheduled to go back Feb 14 for Valentines. A perfect little get away Cannon beach is a stones throw!

Don Williams
Estacada, Oregon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Donny,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a five star review and for sharing your experience. We are happy that you had a positive and relaxing stay while here at the Lanai. We also thank you for your kind words about our staff and the cleanliness of our property. We all take a lot of pride in our little hide away. We look forward to seeing you over Valentines day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We rented 3 rooms for New Years Eve -- #36, 37 and 46 (I think). A perfect way to celebrate with friends and family. Walking on the beach, relaxed, quiet. The rooms were comfortable, with mini-kitchens and dining tables. Restaurants and markets nearby. But the best part was watching and listening to the waves crash on the beach without getting out of bed.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to look out over the ocean. I can't imagine a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi Kat,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you all enjoyed your stay with us while bringing in 2014. We completely agree about the view and it makes it so much more enjoyable to get to sit in bed while watching the waves. We've had guests make mention of it feeling as though they were on a cruise ship. We look forward to seeing you again and please remember, our winter rates and specials run up until May 15th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

My husband and five kids ages 12,14,16,17,and 18(turned 19 on New Years Eve) stayed for the last six nights of 2013. It was fantastic. We rented 25 and 35 and experienced both views from patio and balcony. It was unforgetable! Rooms were clean, staff was very hospitable and management were not only professional but a joy to converse with.We will be back!
G. Kay A.

Room Tip: Patio lets you have easier access to the beach to build a cozy fire!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavellaannis a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi there,
We want to thank you so much for your review and for all your encouraging words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure to meet your family. Your children are so well behaved. One wouldn't even know that you had 5 kids with you. We look forward to seeing you again in August and we hope all is well with your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing