We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful yet disappointing”
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful yet disappointing”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is located in an ideal area, secluded from the hubbub of downtown Seaside. The view is magnificent and the beach just a hop, skip and jump from our room (#35). However, it's very noisy with us hearing our neighbors through the walls and a dog whimpering and barking early morning in one of the nearby rooms. Our bathtub backed up the morning after check-in and it appeared to be feces. Management said it was not and it was cleaned up quickly. However, days following, the tub drained very slowly, with us standing ankle deep in shower run-off. They advertise internet access but while we were there it was down and we relied on the internet to plan our travel and find restaurants in the area. Linai at the Cove is aware the internet doesn't always work and our argument is they shouldn't advertise, if it's unreliable. The staff are very friendly and courteous; however, this is a condominium association, so Management has very little authority to rectify problems until a problem is addressed at a board meeting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Ray D,
We're disappointed to hear the Lanai didn't meet your expectations. We take great pride in delivering high value and friendly customer service with attention to detail. We tired our best to accommodate your needs when first identified to our Managers, but apparently fell short. Our managers immediately fixed the backup problem, thoroughly cleaned the tub and there was no mention of any further problems with the tub. We apologize that the free WI-FI service was having problems on the day of your stay. We did looking into this WI-FI issue with our provider, and the Cove area was having internet problems during the week which is total out of the Lanai's control.
Our managers have full authority to handle any issues and have permission to contact me at anytime if situations require the General Managers sign-on.

I do appreciate your feedback and hope that you give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    168
    19
    12
    6
See reviews for
213
495
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is located less than 2 miles from the main beach of Seaside, perfect for a semi-private ocean front vacation. With premade fire pits, we enjoyed our stay with a campfire on the beach. We were lucky enough to get a floor room (#27) on June 14 2014, so picnic tables, the bonfires and the beach were just steps from the back door. Lastly, I must mention the decorations. It did not feel like a hotel at all...more like a vacation room

Room Tip: Bottom floor for easy access to the picnic tables an beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseMarie895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank your for
leaving a review to share your experience. It is so fun with these all
being individually owned and decorated condo's, each has it's own unique
look. A home away from home. Thank you again and we hope to see you
again while visiting the Oregon Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseau
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

After much research, this place seemed like a good one and it was everything I thought it should be. The only negatives were that it was a little hard to find since my GPS was having a hard time finding signal and it isn't on the main drag (NICE!!!) and there is no breakfast, but you have a full kitchen so bring food and you will be set!

We were only here one night but wish we could have stayed longer. While most hotels in Seaside face West on the shore, the Lanai at the Cove faces North, so you get an amazing view of the ocean, the beach and the city. Access to the beach is right out the hotel and their pool was amazing - only drawback was that it closed at 9:30. This is a managed "condo" type property so office hours are limited but our room (#47) was so roomy and comfortable, I was totally impressed and would definitely return in the future.

I also really liked how they had lights on the ocean side of the hotel so you could clearly see which building you were in. And it gave a soft light all night from our room, which we liked, otherwise you could pull the blinds.

Room Tip: We loved #47 and I would recommend 3rd floor because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Penny,
Thank you for your kind words and sharing about your stay here on Trip
Advisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and voted us in as
your " best lodging on your 10 day vacation". We hope that you can come
and stay with us again another time. Always be sure to check out our
winter rates and specials. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband, dog, and I stayed at the Lanai Easter long weekend (April 18-21). The views were amazing! We stayed in room 24, we would highly recommend that room, just for the views alone!

Staff was friendly, lady who checked us in is allergic to dogs but still wanted to come say hi to our dog outside the check in area. :)

It's nice to know that there are pet-friendly places to stay when heading on a vacation!

Loved Seaside. Would stay again!

Also, it is about a 20 minute walk to the prom...which is nice because you are away from the business and loudness of the prom. The walk to the prom is nice too - enjoyable looking at all the beautiful houses/ocean properties on the way to the prom!

Room Tip: Room 24 was nice! Ocean front and great view! Pet friendly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderwall39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hello,
We thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience while
staying with us here at the Lanai. We are so happy that you enjoyed
your time and we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just kick-started our summer vacation with a stay at the Lanai at the Cove (June 18-20). Office staff were very welcoming and provided great service! Room 47 was clean, quiet, and had a great view! The kids loved the pool, which was warm and very clean. We will stay here again when we return to the Oregon Coast.

Room Tip: We prefer the top floor, and stayed in a larger room (47) to accommodate two adults and two children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKChalfant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Greetings from the Lanai,
We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at
the Lanai at the Cove. We thank you so much for your review and we look
forward to seeing you again when returning to the Oregon coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just returned from a relaxing stay at Lanai at the Cove in Seaside, OR. The Lanai provides a quieter alternative to busy Seaside. It is located at the south end of the city right on the water and provides gorgeous views of the beach. Each unit is privately owned and gives one the feel of staying in a private home, rather than in a hotel. The accommodation was impeccably clean and had all the amenities. The hosts, Barb and Cory, were very nice and eager to please. We enjoyed watching the surfers from our balcony! The Lanai is just a short walk from the Promenade and downtown Seaside.

Room Tip: All the ocean front rooms are great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Mary,
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you
enjoyed your time with us here at the Lanai. It was a pleasure to meet you
and we look forward to you next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This month, my boyfriend and I stayed at the Lanai for our second time. The first time was a couple years ago, and this time we stayed June 7-10th. We were celebrating his birthday and my graduation from graduate school. The view from our room was amazing (both times)! The hotel is right on the cove. The hotel staff was very kind and helpful. The rooms are nice and cozy :) We love the location of the Lanai; close enough to walk downtown, but also out enough to be private. Also very affordable! We will definitely be back to the Lanai and have also referred our friends. Dean DeAngelo & Noli James

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi there,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us once again while
celebrating your boyfriend's birthday and your graduation.
Congratulations on your accomplishment. We appreciate you
making the time to leave a review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#2 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing