We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Lanai at the Cove!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanai at the Cove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanai at the Cove
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved the Lanai at the Cove!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here July 20-23, 2014 and had a fabulous time. The room is equipped with a small kitchenette and our had a balcony overlooking the beach. We were able to watch and listen to the ocean which was fabulous. The pool was wonderful, especially for our two children. It's heated and we spent quite a bit of time in it. I think it's a great location and will happily return.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello!
Thank you for your kind review of The Lanai. We're glad you enjoyed
your stay and the kids had fun in the pool. We'll look forward to your
return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    159
    18
    11
    6
See reviews for
207
473
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Claremore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here 5 years in a row. Keep coming back because the view, the quiet location, immediate access to the waves rolling on to the wide beach. Can lay in bed and see and hear the wonderful ocean waves. Having access to a small kitchen is also a real plus. Love this place! Stayed in room 33 for 3nights, 3/17/14.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenseidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello and thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We
are so honored to have you back for 5 years in a row. Thanks for being
part of The Lanai family and we'll look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was very nice, and the location was remote and quiet. Overall a wonderful place to stay. My wife and I stayed in room 27 for our 1 year anniversary. The room above us was noisy. Service was hard to reach at times. And ultimately for the price that I paid, there was nothing amazing about the room. But then again, some of the prices at the competing Seaside hotels was outrageous so perhaps I should be content with the dollar per value that the Lanai offers.

However,

Some things to know
- The sand beach is a 5 minute walk away. The immediate beach is very rocky. But the walk is well worth it, because there are some fun tide pools where the rock meets the sand. Keep in mind the tide times, because at high tide, there is very little sand to roam about, whereas at low tide, there is an array of sand. Nothing overly inconvenient, but something to be aware of.
- Closest restaurant is a 20 minute walk (or few minute drive), whereas the touristy/busy area of Seaside is a 5 minute drive away. If you like the remoteness away from town noises, then this is the place. But if you prefer the convenience of restaurants and shops, then you might consider somewhere else. Personally, I preferred the remoteness with the option to drive into the heart of town occasionally.
- Average service. Getting a hold of this hotel via phone was difficult. In a 2 night stay, the reception office was closed for '15 minute' breaks three different times. But they were friendly when they were around.
- Very noisy. Do NOT get a ground room. Sure, it was nice to just walk outside of our room onto the rocky beach. However, the noise above us in the evenings and early mornings when we were trying to sleep was incredibly loud. I'd highly recommend getting a room at the highest level. It nearly ruined the stay for us.

I had fun, but considering I live only an hour away from the beach, I think day trips will be more frequent then staying overnight in Seaside. I've also stayed in the Shilo Inn previously, which is far more expensive, and nothing special either. From my experience, these Seaside hotels do not meet the luxury standards that their prices indicate. I'll have to come up with a better local escape for my next anniversary. I love the beach, but its hotels, not as much.

However, if you do stay in Seaside, Ultimately, I'd still recommend the Lanai. If you can get around the noise issue, and enjoy the relaxing isolation, then this is probably a good fit for you.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top level to avoid noises above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello JB,
Thanks for your critique on what we are doing well and what we can improve
on. Our intention is constant improvement so we appreciate your thoughts
and are happy that in the end you would recommend us. Thanks for staying
at the Lanai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I spent two nights here during a road trip round the area with my teenage daughter. We are from overseas and this was our first time in Oregon. A friend recommended Seaside as a fun destination and Lanai at the Cove was a superb base for our stay. We had a third floor beach-view room and we left our balcony door open, and went to sleep and woke up to the sounds of the waves. The small but well-equipped kitchen area and table were appreciated, saving us money for breakfasts and drinks, and the hosts were super-friendly. We enjoyed the heated pool, too.

We arrived during a heatwave in Portland, which brought cooler than usual temperatures and fog to the coastal areas, so it wasn't as warm as we expected and we had to cancel the outdoor adventure activity we had planned. However, the wonderful accommodation helped to make up for this disappointment.

The only negative thing I have to say is that the walls between the rooms are not that thick, and we could hear a lot of noise from the family next door early on our first morning. Luckily, our neighbours the next morning were more considerate. If you're a light sleeper, I'd bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Third floor, beach view is worth it for the superb ocean views and would be less noisy than lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Louichan,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you had a nice stay in Seaside with
your daughter. Our biggest challenge has been trying to soundproof an old
beach hotel so we do have earplugs available for light sleepers and are
trying to solve the sound issue. We really appreciate your thoughts and
your business. Domo arigato!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

During a week-long trip to Oregon we wanted to experience the ocean for a few days. We needed 3 rooms and Lanai at the Cove was perfect for us! It is right on the ocean with a beautiful view. We had rooms 43, 45, and 47 but I think most are fairly similar with balconies and views. We were traveling with grandkids (ages 3,5,7) and adults and there was something for everyone. The beach at the Lanai is very rocky so you need to walk just a little way to get to a sandy beach but it is very close. While we were there, people were digging razor clams at low tide in the mornings and searching for crabs. We bought some inexpensive toy shovels in town and the grandkids were ecstatic when they found 2 razor clams and 2 crabs! While the hotel is not new, it has all of the amenities one would want. The hosts were very kind and helpful and provided us with coupons to use in town and advice on things to do. We especially appreciated having facilities to make our own breakfast or meals as needed. You can't beat Lanai on the Cove for value and providing a great family getaway on the ocean!

Room Tip: They have rooms for pets and no pets so make sure you let them know what you desire. Many of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Mary,
We're glad you had a nice stay with your family at The Lanai and found us
to be a great value. That is so cool you scored some fresh seafood! We aim
to make family memories that last a lifetime. We very happy you found us
and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I just returned from a lovely time at this motel situated on the far south end of Seaside as it curves around toward the gorgeous Tillamook Head. From my charmingly decorated room on the ground floor I could see the waves rolling in at high and low tide. Even brown pelicans diving for fish right outside my patio door. Barb and Cory were most hospitable and accommodating. They have the rooms cleaned spotlessly. My room was "pet-friendly" and there we no pet smells or stains whatsoever. Lovely flowers bloom on the patio and from hanging baskets. The kitchenette was well-appointed with everything I needed. I swam in the small pool kept at 85 degrees, when the air was a cool 65. Very refreshing mini-vacation. I will return for sure. Absolutely for sure.

Room Tip: Ground floor and first level can be accessed without carrying luggage upstairs, though I have heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppy4122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Poppy,
Thanks for sharing your experience and we're glad you had a nice stay.
We're pleased you got to witness the pelicans. We'll look forward to see
you again. We really appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am always looking for a CLEAN place to take my dog with me. The Lanai is very clean and also affordable and a great view of the ocean. I am planning on coming back soon! I like having a refrigerator and a microwave and a full view!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view of the ocean except some are pool side. Be sure and clarify.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathieW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmanager206, General Manager at Lanai at the Cove, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi Kathie,
We are glad you were pleased with the cleanliness of your room and the
"full view". Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and we'll
look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
1.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
6.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanai at the Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanai at the Cove

Property: Lanai at the Cove
Address: 3140 Sunset Blvd, Seaside, OR 97138-5041
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside
#1 Family Hotel in Seaside
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#4 Business Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lanai at the Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanai At The Cove Hotel Seaside
Lanai At The Cove Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing