We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfaction Guaranteed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma
1 review
“Satisfaction Guaranteed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to stay at your hotel during our weekend vacation. We were very pleased with our experience, and the staff was professional and pleasant. We really enjoyed the hotel, with all of the amenities (to include a fantabulous breakfast bar) and it's price. You can't beat what you get at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suite at Seaside! We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thrilled to know you had a wonderful vacation here! Happy guests are what we strive for. Please remember us for your next beach getaway!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    154
    62
    30
    22
See reviews for
175
156
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I was extremely disappointed in my stay at the Holiday Inn Express - Seaside. I booked 2 months in advance to secure a room with a river view and 2 beds. I specifically booked a room with 2 beds as my husband and I were travelling with our niece and needed two beds. I also chose this hotel over other hotels that were right on the beach front because i thought the quality of this hotel would be higher. I was very mistaken.

When we checked in, we were given our room key and sent on our way. We brought all our bags up to our room on the second floor only to discover that the room we were given was not the room we reserved. It only had one bed, and did not have the river view.

When I went back down to reception, they said they "upgraded us to a suite" (but didn't tell us.) I then explained to them that the "upgrade" was to a room with ONE bed when i booked one with TWO and that the "upgrade" was to a room with a view of the parking lot when the room i booked had a view of the river. They then proceeded to tell me they were overbooked and that it wasn't their fault. There were two people behind the counter, both shaking their heads, saying things get booked online and over the phone, they get overbooked like this all the time, they are 100% at capacity this time of year, nothing they can do... If this is the case, there is obviously a problem with their booking system that needs to be corrected. My theory is that they want people to book here instead of one of the many, many other options in town, so they overbook their "river view" rooms many times over, then do the switch to a non-river view room once people check in without even telling people or batting an eye. At that point, during high season, people don't have another option since everything else is booked up in town. This is an underhanded way to do business and will now result in me never doing business with Holiday Inn Express again.

I was also disappointed that the front desk person did not tell us about the change before sending us to the room, since he even spoke directly to my niece, he knew there were 3 of us, and i had indicated on my initial reservation there were 3 of us and we wanted a room with 2 beds. The very least he could have done was save us a trip upstairs with all our luggage. (There is one small elevator and a line of people waiting their turn to use it with all their luggage.)

After arguing with them for half an hour that i booked my room two months in advance and that we were travelling with our niece and absolutely needed a room with two beds, they did something on their computer screens and found me a room with two beds. We were now put in a room on the first floor with two beds.

When we walked into the room, we realized it had a bad odor to it. But after all the arguing at the front desk just to get a room with two beds, i did not have the energy to go back again. So we just dealt with staying in the room with the bad odor. In addition, it had a view of the parking lot. And since it was on the first floor, when we had the curtains open, there were cars right there in front of us, a foot away, no privacy at all. With the curtains closed, it was way too dark in the room, the lighting was horrible. Additionally there was what looked to be dried crusty puke on the side of one of the beds, and what looked like a dried blood stain on the top of the bedspread. Additionally the floor of the room looked like it had not been vacuumed, there were hairs found in various locations in the room, and the bathtub looked dirty. The included breakfast the next morning was also disappointing.

When checking out, my husband inquired if there would be some sort of credit considering that we did not receive the room we reserved. After arguing with them, he received a $10 credit. They said we received the "mountain view" room, which was only $10 less expensive. I can NOT believe they actually had the nerve to call that room a "mountain view" room. We paid $170 for that room. I am still in shock.

In closing, I would like to add that my husband and I travel frequently. We love to travel and take at least one pleasure trip a month. This was a special trip with my niece who is going through a very difficult time. We had hoped to give her the best trip of her young life, staying at various stops along the coast. This was our first night of the trip, and we were all so disappointed. I was embarrassed to take my niece to such a disgusting place. This was definitely the worst night of our trip. After this horrible experience with this hotel, I have to say that we will never stay at another Holiday Inn Express, and will be telling our friends and family to stay away as well.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get room type you booked and make sure to bring copy of reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travellirpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Here at the hotel we are concerned about the myriad of issues you seemed to have had during your stay. We accommodate many guests each evening, especially during the summer months, and a sold out hotel is a usual occurence. The primary goal of the hotel is to provide dependable service at a reasonable cost to our guests. Consequently it is disappointing to learn that a guest was unhappy.
We want you to know that we take all comments and suggestions to heart and strive to improve our service. Your willingness to share your recent experience is very much appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you raised have been addressed and any appropriate actions will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Decent room, well kept but worn. Small bathroom, old tv's with bad reception, DVD player, ok pool, spa and sauna. Good location on the river near everything, only a block and a half to the beach. Great friendly housekeepers, not so friendly breakfast people. We just stayed at the HIE&S in Sequim last week (which I think is new) so we were expecting more, but we'd stay here again. Great value and location.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodetravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2011
Thank you for your response. While I'm sorry we did not live up to your expections, please come and give us another try. The hotel would welcome the opportunity to make your next stay a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, OR
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Loved the location - a pleasant walk to great shopping and food. Motel was very clean and quiet. In-house breakfast had a great variety to choose from, but the pancake machine was not working. Overall, it was a very nice, pleasant overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room which overlooks the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PantherFan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
You are so right about the location. The hotel is so centrally located to all that Seaside has to offer to vacationers. There is much to do and see while here. I do regret that there was an issue with the pancake machine during your stay. This is a new addition to the Holiday Inn breakfast bar and there are a few kinks we are working out. Please come back and spend time with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

We decided to use our air miles points for our stay but had a small problem converting them to the hotels Priority club points. Anyways the manager, Sandy came to our rescue and sorted out the problem. In addition she put us in a king suite with a wonderful view of the river. The room was spacious & clean. Free breakfast in the morning. Steps away from all the attractions of Seaside. All in all we had a great time

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintagedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review! It's always great to see a guest recieve that "personal" attention from one of our staff. Everyone here works very hard to make sure that each guest has a memorable time here at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

It's a Holiday Inn Express; it's what you expect. Our room was nice enough; 4th floor overlooking the river, with a small balcony. Bed was comfortable, shower was good, room was clean. We liked having the small fridge and microwave in our room. My biggest complaint about the room was the bathroom light/fan combo was really loud. Breakfast was excellent; scrambled eggs, sausage, toast and bagels, pastries, a really cool pancake maker, instant oatmeal, cereals, biscuts and gravy, juices, coffe, tea...... The only thing lacking was fruit; they had bananas until they were gone and that was it. Located one block over from the main road to the prominade, and about one block back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatieMParsons, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for your kind response. The hotel strives to make every stay a "great one". Please if you come back to the beach let us be your first choice in accomodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stay on the 4th floor.
Only floor with view to the ocean.
Other floors are blocked by pine trees
Might be best place to stay in Seaside

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank govworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
Address: 34 N Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside Oregon. This beautiful Seaside hotel is strategically located in downtown Seaside, convenient to the Seaside Convention Center and only 3-1/2 blocks from the beach. Close to the hotel is the Seaside Historical Museum, Seaside Carousel Mall and of course Seaside's famous downtown shopping area on Broadway, home of the Turnaround. We are also located just blocks from the Seaside Factory Outlet Center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is ideal for business travelers, families and coastal visitors. The beautifully appointed guest rooms in this new Seaside hotel offer a variety of room types and styles with amenities to fit every need. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside offers an indoor heated pool, spa and sauna; fitness center and guest laundry. We also feature a business center and free high speed Internet service. The team at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Seaside is committed to providing the highest level of service and value. We take pride in exceeding our guest s expectations and making your stay an enjoyable one. We reserve the right to make changes to policies without notice. All group reservations require a 96 hour cancellation notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seaside - Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Seaside
Seaside Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing