We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold, Cold, Cold Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold, Cold, Cold Pool”
Reviewed 31 July 2008

The price of hotel was fair and the hotel design is ok. The main reason I booked this hotel because it had a indoor pool. I was very excited about this trip. We went to the pool around 9pm first night and it was cold and my poor infant had running nose. We were shaking. The next morning, we went to the pool again at 8am, OMG, the water was very, very, very cold (worse than yesterday ) that I could not even get in the pool water and my baby would just cried. Last night, the pool water was cold but we managed to stay in the pool for a little and my baby was "sort of" ok with it. I could not believe how cold the pool water was in the morning, we could not enjoy the pool at all this time, so very cold! We just had to leave the pool without enjoy it for one more time. The weather was nice when we were there. I wonder if Holiday Day Inn has regulation for pool water temperature???

  • Liked — close to the Seaside downtown
  • Disliked — cold water pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tarataraboo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    164
    65
    33
    22
See reviews for
189
167
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2008

We drove to Seaside and and checked out a few different hotels. This one was the best price and location for the money. I am very picky about where I stay after having a couple bad experiences with dirty hotels needing upgrades and putting deceptive pictures online. I have to say, the staff was helpful and nice. We had an easy check in and out. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The pool was fun and the place was very quiet. I will definitely come back here to stay again. Continental breakfast was nice with two small kids too!

  • Liked — can't chose one. it was a perfect place for us.
  • Disliked — that we had to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilyokalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2008

Had a great stay. Were there for "girls weekend" and attend "Seaside Sisters" event at Convention center. It was within waslking distance of everything we wanted to do.
The staff was great, My cell phone had lost it's charge and not only did they have a charger but when I checked out and return it they told me to keep it. I liked the business center, I work nights so sometimes my sleep schedule is kind of "goofy", I was having trouble sleeping so I got up and went to the "Biz Center" used computer to check e-mails and do a little work on the computer.
My friend was very impressed with property & the breakfast. I think I have gotten you new guest from the experiance she had.

  • Liked — close to everthing!!
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank phjeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2007

This hotel has nice rooms and tasteful decor. It is a about 5 blocks to the beach, but the walk takes you through the shops downtown, so it is enjoyable.

The hotel is also next to a river, and our room had a balcony that looked over the river. Also the continental breakfast had a lot of variety and was quite filling.

Overall this place was nice and seemed to be quite a bit less expensive than the other hotels I looked at closer to the beach. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Price, rooms, breakfast
  • Disliked — Distance to beach
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jk2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

By booking late, we ended up with a good deal on an executive suite right next to the lobby. The young ladies at the registration desk were very efficient and friendly, the wireless internet worked well and there was an adequate number of outlets in the room. We took an evening stoll on the Malecon - a short distance from the hotel - which was busy but not too crowded. Then between the hotel and the beach, we found a great seafood restaurant called Norma's Ocean Diner. The service was good, the food excellent and our room key got us a bit of a discount.

In the not too distant future, we will definitely go back and spend more time in Seaside to explore the little boutiques, check out the aquarium and the beach, and try more of the seafood restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Seaside on business for two nights in September. After reading the reviews for this property, I was a bit concerned, but my stay turned out very well. My colleagues and I all checked in after 6pm, and none of us experienced a wait for a room. Check-in was friendly and efficient. I will agree with several reviewers about the "House Rules" slip that all guests MUST read and initial at check-in. I have worked and stayed in many, many hotels in my career, and this is without question the first time I have eve seen such a thing. The clerk makes you initial the slip before they complete the check-in process and hand you a key card, so you really have no choice. Not that I really have a problem with anything that was on this slip, but pherhaps the hotel's management should re-work this piece to make it more of a "positive" rather than "negative" for their guests. Seems like a cold, "you will do this or else...!" type of thing that may give an arriving guest a less-than-friendly first impression. My opinion, that's all.
On to the room. I'm Priority Club Gold, so they were able to upgrade me to a nice King bedded room on the 4th floor. The room was clean and clean-smelling upon arrival. Also quite large, with a separate front room that had it's own TV and sofa. The view from my room was of the river behind the hotel. This is indeed an actual river - not a "stream" or "creek" as mentioned elsewhere. Maybe not the Mighty Mississippi. but an actual river nonetheless. I found the channel selection on the TV to be sufficient, and noted that the network channels were all "local" (from Portland). I saw Letterman at his normal time... Pherhaps the TV channel lineup has been changed. I enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each morning. There were several selections, including coffee, tea and hot cocoa to drink, as well as a good assortment of items to eat, comparable to similar offerings at similar properties. The breakfast room was kept stocked and clean, at least on the two mornings that I was there.
The hotel is in a good location - just a minute or two walk to a good selection of restaurants and shopping. Maybe 5 minutes at the most down to the beach. I really can't think of anything that wasn't up to standard for me, except that pesky "House Rules" slip - I can see how it might turn-off some folks, making a bad fist impression that is then hard overcome. I would definitely stay at this property again when visiting Seaside.

  • Liked — Newer, clean, comfortable and a great location
  • Disliked — The
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyGuySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troutdale, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We just returned from a night at the Holiday Inn Express in Seaside, Oregon. We found this hotel to be clean, comfortable and better than we expected from some of the reviews on this website.

Our room had a king bed, a small loveseat, table chairs and a view of the "mountains." The mountains were beyond the parking lot.

I did ask for a courtesy upgrade and was told by a very friendly front desk person that it was not possible while using points to stay and even so they were booked for the night. The parking lot was full, so I believe him.

The location of the property was great, just a block off Broadway.

This hotel was a bit noisy -- the usual doors opening and closing, talking in the hallways, and we did hear a man sneezing in the room next to us. We didn't think the walls were that thin!

All in all this was a good hotel and I would recommend it for a short stay in Seaside.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GigiPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,372 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
946 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 27 in Seaside
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
Address: 34 N Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6828
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Hotel Near Seaside Convention Center Come enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, breathtaking mountain views and endless stretches of public beaches in this ocean resort community. Whether you want to peruse the unique specialty shops, taste-test the best of the local fare or try your hand at outdoor activities, there is always plenty to see and do in Seaside, OR near our hotel. The hotel's location in Seaside, Oregon is convenient to several popular attractions, including Seaside Historical Museum and Seaside Carousel Mall and is within walking distance of Ocean Beach. Families looking for hotels in Seaside, Oregon also appreciate our close proximity to the downtown shops and restaurants on Broadway, the home of the Turnaround. Thoughtfully designed for the corporate traveler, our hotel is near Seaside Convention Center to ensure easy travel. If you are looking to host an event, seminar or banquet in the area, we offer over 660 sq ft of well-appointed event space. Meeting preparations are made easy with free Wi-Fi access and a 24-hour business center. Our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® Seaside, OR hotel offers a heated, indoor pool, whirlpool, sauna and a state-of-the-art fitness center for your convenience. Additionally, we serve a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning, which features our delicious signature cinnamon rolls and 100% Arabica bean coffee. Make your hotel reservations in Seaside, Oregon with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Seaside - Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Seaside
Seaside Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing