We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ocean view but oh so tiny!”
Review of Tides By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tides By The Sea
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I give this hotel an A for the location, staff (especially the Monday morning desk person), cleanliness, pool was cleaned daily, provided complimentary DVDs, plastic pails and shovels for kids, pool toys....nothing to mark down on. My advice though, would be to check the size of the room/suite that you are renting. Mine was listed as sleeping four, but squeezing two adults and two children in this tiny room was a challenge. The "kitchen: consisted of two stove top burners, a very tiny sink and a microwave. NO counter space; no toaster, no room at all. For a couple the size would work, but not any more. I felt I had to give a poor rating for rooms, but really only because it was so tiny and too much furniture crammed in. Barely any walking around room. When the futon was open, actually had to work hard to get around table, Walmart coffee table, wobbly legs and all, two night stands and one queen bed. Also no floor lamp, only one tiny table lamp. Would definitely stay here again, but not in this room; a larger one!

Room Tip: Skip the tiny studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, General Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Thank you for the kind words. Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

Left Best Western Ocean View & came to The Tides. What an improvement. Loved the room, comfortable bed, awesome ocean view, fireplace that worked, heat that worked. Quiet, even though full of families. Cost less & polite, helpful staff! Would stay here again & recommend to friends & family!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the ocean - what can one say - the view was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, General Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share-we think we have a pretty good spot too. Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had a 1 bedroom Condo with a huge picture window looking out on the dunes and the beach. With big recliners that swiveled to face the window or room, you could sit and enjoy the breakers without even going outside. We felt we were staying at a grandparent's house by the furntiture and decorating, which was kind of nice, very homey and comfortable. Full kitchen with everything we needed. They even left a duraflame in the fireplace. Nice family oriented place on the quiet end of town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

It was swell sharing the Tides with your family. Thanks for your kind words, my crew and I appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Can't wait to stay at Tides By the Sea again! We had reserved another hotel for Memorial day weekend and arrived to find out that they had "double booked our room and I'm sorry we don't have a room for you" Tides by the Sea happened to have a cottage available and we stayed with them. Wow! What a surprise! We usually stick to the big chain hotels because I like to know what to expect when staying. Tides by the Sea was very clean, in a perfect location and the staff was great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

I am so glad we could be there for you. It is nice to hear when you do a good job. Thanks for the kind words. Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here for the first time in January. We rented a cottage and we had everything we needed in order to make a big turkey dinner. No need to bring pots, pans, utensils, etc. The room was so nice, we booked it again for our three day weekend in February. I would recommend the cottages to everyone. Great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

Thank you for staying at The Tides, as well as your kind words. Our goal is to make folks happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hidden gem should be listed on the Seaside Hotels where others could find it! We have visited The Tides on three seperate occasions. This is a small condo type complex situated right on the beach away from the highway. Our unit is a self contained studio with a complete kitchenette, kitchen table, sofa and two big comfy chairs looking right out to an unobstructed view of the ocean right in front of us, or you can lay right on your bed and watch the ocean from the other side of the room! This unit is #148 which is perfect for a couple. Flat screen tv, free good wireless, spotless, big bathroom!!
Perfect location and ambience for a quiet get away!! Call for rates and reservation ahead.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CaboHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

We always appreciate feedback especially from those who have stayed several times with us. Thanks for the kind words. Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed here in May and absolutely loooved this hotel. We checked in very quickly and the staff was always very quick to offer us directions, tips, or even rental (borrowed) movies! It was too cold while we were there to use the pool but it looked very clean. Our room was very large with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, dining table, and separate living room. We had huge windows across the entire living area to look out over the beach and sunsets. We really liked how this hotel was just at the end of the prom; we had perfect access to walk into the square but there weren't people walking in front of our windows all day and night.

We cannot wait to return to Oregon, Seaside and the Tides!

Room Tip: Get one of the ocean view rooms, i believe we were 108? It was perfection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 276MarieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahhtides, Manager at Tides By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Thanks for the kind words-they are always appreciated. Angie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
994 reviews
0 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#10 of 27 in Seaside
415 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Sandy Cove Inn
Sandy Cove Inn
#14 of 27 in Seaside
584 reviews
1 mi away
Seashore Inn on the Beach
Seashore Inn on the Beach
#22 of 27 in Seaside
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tides By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tides By The Sea

Address: 2316 Beach Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-5016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: £61 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront Condo/Hotel at its finest. Studios, 1 & 2 Bedroom units, and Cottages. Close to golf, dining, walk to downtown shopping, beach combing, surfing or just hanging at the pool. Come relax and enjoy the Oregon Coast at The Tides by the Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tides By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tides By The Sea Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing