We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Inn at Seaside
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were extremely happy with our stay..checked in 6/16/14 and out 6/18/14. Helpful, friendly staff. Owner made himself available for suggestions/comments/concerns. Continental breakfast was just enough to give you an energy boost to enjoy the morning around town (refreshments, cereal, make your own waffles, yogurts, boiled eggs, breads, bagels....) We had a king w/pull out sofa (for our 11yr old son.) and the balcony w/view of river. Room just the right size, very clean, comfortable. Showers had great water pressure! Great blow driers for the hair - none of those lame mounted to wall ones... Nice selection of movies to borrow (no charge and there are movie players in rooms, no charge there either.) Nice that the check out time is noon....don't feel so rushed to leave. They have some glitches to work out (many people were discouraged by the lack of space in the breakfast area for people to sit/move around.) Would be convenient to have a place to hang dry swim suits in the shower area - the usual retractable clothes lines. Someone suggested having the pool open later than 10pm, I personally am glad it isn't because when the pool room windows are open and my room windows are open you can hear the activity while you might be trying to sleep. Perfect distance from anything you'd want to do in town. Didn't have to drive at all unless you want to.....we did some sight seeing of another local beach. We did use a groupon for 2 nights. So that made it an even better value =) Highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Best rooms are probably anything on the river view side further away from the bridge the better if y...
See more room tips
Green Features: I did like that they had dispensers for their soaps and lotions instead of the usual little bottles/mini soaps. My husband thought they could maybe use more led lighting to help be more environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, General Manager at River Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I am thrilled to hear all about your trip and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your suggestions and your kind comments; it is certainly nice to see what works and what could work better. Thank you so much for recommending us to others, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    244
    37
    18
    6
See reviews for
411
299
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I visited for an overnight stay. I expected a lot more from this hotel. It's virtually brand new. I found the check-in staff had an attitude of we'd rather talk to each-other than to you. The doors in were very heavy and hard to maneuver with a suitcase. The button one might hit for wheelchairs was hidden behind a big plant.

Someone mentioned all the salt-water taffy in the lobby.... really? That was never offered to us. There was a small bag in the room though.

The pool has no adult hours and fills with kids. Thus we never were able to use it. We wanted to use it.

The room. New but boring. The good was the bed and pillows - I give those a 5-star rating. The closet in the room has no door so an ironing board was our room decoration. So not cool. There is a mini-fridge and keurig coffee maker in the room but because they sit separate from other furniture it adds a cheapness to the look of the room - Furniture in a brand new hotel should have been built to accommodate this. The tv really wasn't very big and sat too low so that you couldn't easily lie down on the bed and actually see it over your own feet. The couch is a pull out and hard as rock to sit on. Without a back pillow it doesn't give good back support. The chair at the desk in the room was wacked - it almost sent me flying backwards. Tried to tighten it up to no avail - never sat in it again. Bedside lamp didn't work. Clock didn't work. With everything that was in the room, I would have found it too small if I'd had to open a full size suitcase in there. It was squishy like everything else in the hotel. View from our room was the parking lot - we were facing the ocean side of the hotel as opposed to the river side.

Bathroom on first appearance is nice... but no actual bars of soap etc. Instead they have wall mounted pumps. However the shower gel one in our shower was empty so we had to use shampoo to wash with. Uncool. Staff should be checking and refilling after every guest. Wall mounted soap and lotion dispensers by sink sat too far back along the wall making an uncomfortable reach just to wash hands. Lotion was nice though but it hurt my back just to get it. I have noticed in photos that not all these dispensers sit in the same location in rooms so maybe yours will be better.

Continental breakfast is available in the morning. The a.m. staff were nicer than the check-in staff. They actually let us begin eating 8 minutes before the official opening time of the breakfast. Nothing exciting in the food and it would be so nice if soy milk were an option since so many people actually prefer it these days or cannot drink real milk. Yes, I'm one of them. The breakfast area is right in the lobby and a little bit squishy as it fills up.

There did not appear to be brochures available about local attractions in the area.

The elevator is situated such that if you are waiting for it with luggage, no-one can get past you. Poor design. I did not see any available luggage carts.

There are lots of free dvd's you can take up to your room but with no checkout system you can be sure as time goes by these will be stolen.

Soundproofing between floors was not at all sufficient. Apparently we had a herd of kangaroos bouncing above us until they finally fell asleep. We could even hear them running back and forth in the hallway on the floor above us! I'm quite sure they were jumping off furniture. Probably should have called the front desk about it but wasn't sure they'd even know how to handle it properly after watching their attitudes in the afternoon - opted to go out for dinner instead and hope they quieted down later.

Location of the hotel is great - just a short walk from everything you want in Seaside.

This hotel is brand new and still needs some obvious finessing in staff training and maintenance. I actually would go back and try it again, hoping for a better overall experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor so you don't hear the kangaroo's above you.
See more room tips
Green Features: As far as I could see there was merely the typical sign that told us we could chose to have our towels washed or not.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmg062014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, General Manager at River Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. I appreciate all your feedback; we will take of any issues and continue to make constant improvements. Thanks again, and we hope you can visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the time of our arrival From time of our arrival to the time we left 2 days later the staff and Inn made us feel welcomed as they aimed to please. Fresh cookies and the most delicious never ending mouth watering Taffy in the lobby for all the Inn's guest to enjoy. Riverside Inn is idyllic. It is quaint, very warm, relaxing and very clean. A home a way from home feeling.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelamaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I'd recommend it to anyone.. clean rooms almost new and very friendly staff. Breakfast could be a little better.. but in general it was such a great experience we stayed an extra night. They were so nice they gave me a room with a view because it was opened for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilpeterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Loved our stay!. Only suggestion would be to allow pool and hot tub to be open past 10 or 24 hours. Loved that the staff were friendly and very helpful. Bed was very comfortable and loved the fridge & microwave. Balcony was great. Short walk to the shops, food and beach. Hope to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

this hotel is really nice its a couple weeks old so everything is great from the beds to the furniture! and they didn't go cheap either upper scale hotel with reasonable price free dvd rentals good breakfast for what it was refrigerator has separate freezer compartment coffee maker is a crupp coffee maker the pods and that's also included this is not on the ocean its on the river very short walk to ocean though this is the nicest hotel in Oceanside since I've been to a lot of them there the staff are friendly I highly recommend the River inn!

Room Tip: go mid week river veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked a last minute trip to the Oregon Coast and chose the River Inn because of a Groupon. This was our first family trip with our 5 month old, and I'm glad we chose the River Inn. We were happy to find the Inn was new, clean and family friendly. It was helpful with a baby that the room had a mini fridge and microwave. I loved the location with everything in walking distance, and our baby had her first swimming experience in the nice pool.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Southard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ashore Hotel
Ashore Hotel
#2 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn at Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn at Seaside

Property: River Inn at Seaside
Address: 531 Avenue a, Seaside, OR 97138-5725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River Inn at Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Seaside's Newest Hotel - The River Inn at Seaside is perched along the soothing Necanicum River and centrally located, just one block from downtown or two blocks to the beach. The River Inn at Seaside is the ideal hotel for all who enjoy the atmosphere and ambiance of the Northern Oregon coast, offering the comforts of home, in a convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Inn at Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing