We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Inn at Seaside
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tacoma, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location all though not on the ocean is right in town the beach is only about a 5 minute walk and restaurant's and shops are all within a couple minutes walk. The only negative which is not really a big deal is that the elevator is extremely slow. The employees are friendly and helpful. Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    259
    43
    19
    7
See reviews for
448
320
23
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in a two-queen bed room and was shocked to see how small the room was. It is the size of a regular one queen room and they squeezed another bed in. This was the tiniest room that we had ever stayed at.

There was only one chair and one table - a task chair with a small desk at the end of one of the bed. We couldn't get by if somebody was sitting there.
The tiny fridge and reg size microwave was at the end of the other bed. We stayed here with our two little boys and were literally trampling on each other.

The beds were super tall. They were comfy to sleep on but not very convenient. Because there was no chairs, we sat on the beds more than we preferred and my husband and our son actually fell off because they forgot how tall they were.

The bathroom was a reg size, thankfully. Flat screen tv was nice. Breakfast was crowded but food was ok. Swimming pool was big enough with a hot tub nearby. Location is nice. Not near the beach but close to attraction.

If you travel alone or as a
couple, this place would be great. If you have kids, it's very tight. We couldn't wait to leave. That's too bad.



  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehappybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, General Manager at River Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear about the room inconvenience. We offer bigger rooms for larger families with living room areas that can sleep up to 6 guests. Please call us directly and one of our front desk agents would help you find the best room for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We bought this on Groupon and stay here for two nights in June 2014. Everything in this Inn is new including the staff. The staff seems to be a little clueless since they have a (training tag on their shirt). They ran out of water for the water cooler and they didn't know where or how to change it. I had to go buy water myself that day. They advertised free breakfast but half of the things aren't even stocked (at 7:30am). The receptionist IS ALSO the kitchen staff.

THE ROOM- given that everything is new but the space is a little tight. They have a king size bed and a pull out couch line up next to each other and there were barely room to move around. On the plus size, they have one of those Keurig coffee maker.

AMENITIES- Decent size indoor pool and hot tub and barely any outdoor lounging area. Pictures can be deceiving.

PROXIMITY- One block away from Broadway (the main turnaround strip) and roughly 3 blocks away from the beach/boardwalk. Great for walking to restaurants, shops and entertainments.

Overall, it's probably the best deal you can get for a clean and affordable Oregon Coast inn/hotel. I'm sure their service will pick up once everyone is trained.

Room Tip: Any room is good but if you want a view then pick the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binny_and_Punky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_GeneralManager503_, General Manager at River Inn at Seaside, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our location, amenities and room. However we are sorry to hear we fell short on our staff training, we will be sure to re-visit our training for the front desk so we can offer our best guest service. Thanks again, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremorne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We chose this hotel for a mid-week getaway to the coast because I found a coupon for it. My husband summed up our experience, though, when he said, "I'd have been very pleased with this, even if we paid full price." The hotel is brand new, nicely appointed, super-comfy beds & pillows, friendly service and pet friendly. This last one could be a down side if you're not into pets. We had our lab with us and he's very quiet. Not so the small dog across the way, which we heard barking on more than one occasion. That was far outweighed, though, by the easy access to the beach and promenade, accommodating service (they let us lock our bikes in a meeting room for the 3 days we were there), and overall comfort. One suggestion: bring your own bar of soap. The hotel furnishes soap, shampoo, condition and lotion in dispensers hung in the shower and next to the sink. It was okay, but we prefer bar soap, so went and bought our own. (Grocery store is very close by.)

Room Tip: Rooms facing west (toward the beach) really don't have much of a view. Opt for an east-facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B.C., Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with 2 of our adult daughters. Excellent from the start to finish. Front desk staff (Tara?) excellent and really friendly and helpful. Spotless and new property. Pool and hot tub area were really nice and I noticed they have lifts to help people with mobilities get into the water.. Small but nice gym. Nice conference room where my daughter had a quiet space to do some work. Breakfast is very simple, no hot eggs or bacon etc, if that's what you like but fine for us and there is an outdoor patio off of the breakfast area. They have lots of free dvd's you can borrow and watch. They appeared to be assembling a children's play structure for the hotel. Suites have balconies overlooking the river...really nice. We had a one bedroom suite with 2 queen beds. Living room area was nice and it has a fridge and microwave etc in the kitchen area. Nice bathroom. One thing to note...the beds are high off the ground so a senior or person with mobility issues/ short statured etc could have difficulty getting up onto the bed.This hotel is close to the beach and to restaurants...just a few blocks. Really enjoyed our stay and would absolutely return. I think it would be a nice property for families with kdis. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Suites have balconies which are really nice..not sure if some standard rooms do too? Suites have ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelcrazy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I got the Groupon deal and stayed 3 nights in this inn. New inn which makes the stay more pleasant. The inn has 4 floor and my room is at 3rd floor. Mine is king with view so I have a nice little balcony facing the river with plenty of sunshine to read my book and enjoy my breakfast there. From time to time I saw couple of big birds fly by which is fun to watch. Flat screen cable TV and wifi is available in room. No need to make your coffee @ the toilet as they have K-cup machine which is very nice. The best of all is location, it is located 2 blocks away from Broadway and a short walk you can reach Safeway, RiteAide .. to pickup some snacks and put in the fridge which is also in my room. It may be due to my stays were during weekday and were in low season, I ended up enjoy the indoor heated pool and jacuzzi by myself. So bring your swim gear if you stay in low season. The gym at the inn is pretty small so I didn't use it but I did get a lot of exercise walking at the beach though, very pleasant walk. Complimentary breakfast item is just ok -- basic items like waffle, bagel, cereal, some juices but no fresh scramble egg nor sausage. Not a big deal to me though. If one thing I would recommend to consider to upgrade is a better noise blocking window. The inn is located next to a small local road but pretty often I can hear motorcycle or truck pass by. If you are a light sleeper, maybe ask front desk to give you the room further away from the road. Overall speaking, I will come back when I plan to visit Seaside again next time.

Room Tip: Room with view is highly recommended. For light sleepers, ask for room further away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwandiMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night recently on a two week road trip down the WA, OR and CA coasts. Found it to be one of the nicest hotels on our trip. The beds were very comfortable, more like one would find in a luxury resort. The rooms were on the small side but we still had plenty of room for all of our luggage and still move around with ease. The balcony overlooking the river was a plus and we were able to enjoy some wildlife from the area (herons, a few seagulls and even a raccoon across the river in the early morning). I too would recommend an upper floor on the river side. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the morning breakfast adequate. It was nice staying in a new and very clean hotel.

Room Tip: River side, upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodlvrTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
1.4 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Inn at Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn at Seaside

Property: River Inn at Seaside
Address: 531 Avenue a, Seaside, OR 97138-5725
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — River Inn at Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Seaside's Newest Hotel - The River Inn at Seaside is perched along the soothing Necanicum River and centrally located, just one block from downtown or two blocks to the beach. The River Inn at Seaside is the ideal hotel for all who enjoy the atmosphere and ambiance of the Northern Oregon coast, offering the comforts of home, in a convenient location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Inn at Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing