We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, with a few caveats” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivertide Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivertide Suites
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Highland, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, with a few caveats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a two-bedroom, two-bath suite with a full kitchen. It was like being in a good-sized apartment. Our balcony had a 180-degree view, taking in part of downtown and the mountains, as well as the river and the ocean in the distance. We also had our own washer and dryer.

The front-desk staff were very personable and helpful.

I will stay with the five-star review, although our stay wasn't without minor problems:

Housekeeping: This is typically the weak link in most hotels, owing to lack of attention to detail on the part of the housekeepers. One day we returned to find a bath towel on top of the rack, rather than neatly folded or replaced, and a sheet thrown onto one of the beds. I asked for the housekeeping supervisor to inspect the room. Supplies that were used were not always replaced.

Elevators: I don't know if there was another elevator in the building, but the one that we used to go to the second floor moved just slightly faster than the speed of evolution. This, with no one else using the elevator at the time, and with only three floors with guest rooms above the lobby level.

Noise: Our suite overlooked First Avenue, which is a busy street because of the convention center 1/2 block to the west. It is also a better route to the beach, as the streets in the old downtown are rather narrow. There was quite a bit of commercial traffic on this street at all hours, as well as idiots on skateboards.

All in all, we'd definitely stay here again. The proximity to the convention center and beach was excellent. We could leave our car at the hotel and walk almost everywhere.

Room Tip: Avoid suites on the south side of the hotel, due to the noise mentioned in the review. Alert the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmlowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the solid review and we recognize that there were some things we could have done a better job of. Thank you for calling those items to our attention. They will be corrected. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    222
    52
    28
    18
See reviews for
575
326
33
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just came home after spending a few nights in the beautiful seaside Oregon. The area is beautiful and only a short drive to Cannon beach, Astoria and more. The Rivertide is a beautiful hotel just a few streets from the coast line. The rooms were amazing and very clean - no issues/concerns there. Unfortunately the gym was a complete mess and disaster - yes people do work out on vacation lol! I talked to front desk staff on two occassions to have the equipment cleaned, dirty towels taken away, and to have proper sanitization items handy in order to wipe down the treadmills, etc. Also there was no air in the room which made it overly stuffy. The staff did not address any of these issues until I again mentioned it at check out. Another dissapointing aspect of the hotel was the breakfast - it is mentioned that it is a full breakfast, unfortunately there were no warm eggs - only warm item was grits and oatmeal....three choices for cereal...etc. The evening managers event is a great idea - between 5 and 6pm nightly beer and wine is served - however the snacks consisted only of preztels and goldfish - it would be better to have an easy to make appy or someother pub type food to entice more people to enjoy the hotel at this time. Do take the time to go to the crow's nest on the top floor - awesome view. I would return to this hotel in the future and hope that they will make small changes/improvements to make this hotel gain a better review.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words about the hotel and accommodations. I am sorry about the conditions in the fitness room. No excuse for that and it has been fixed. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Our family of six stayed in one of the two bedroom suites. It was such a great place!! Highly recommended. Our kids loved it so much they didn't want to leave when our three night stay was over. We would love to come back. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. The facility was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed... the washer/dryer, the kitchen, closet and armoire for our clothes, and we loved the huge jetted tub in the master bath! Wonderful! Can't wait to come back! :) Thank You Rivertide Suites for providing a place for large families to stay and play!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDfamily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Mission accomplished! Thanks for letting us know that everything was to your liking and we could play a small part in making your vacation special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

When I came to Seaside there were no rooms at most hotels. Was sent here by another hotel and was so glad I was. Reasonable prices. Room was like an apartment. Even had its own washer and dryer. Would definitely come back here in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurewoman2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a terrific review. We appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. I usually rent beach houses, but I had a family emergency so my visit this time was unplanned. The service I received at the front desk was friendly, kind, and compassionate. The room I stayed in had every comfort I could have asked for during my stay. I had a living room area with a gas fireplace and a recliner, a large kitchenette with a kitchen table, a small balcony, a comfortable bed, and a jacuzzi bathtub. It was new and beautiful. It lifted my spirits to rest there during one of the saddest times in my life as my mother was dying on hospice nearby. The free breakfast was much appreciated as I would not have eaten otherwise. And the mini cocktail hour was welcome, as I really needed a glass of wine toward the end of the day. Sitting outside next to the river brought me some much needed peace. Thank you, staff of Rivertide Suites, for the peace, comfort and privacy in my stay....and for your warmth, patience, and kindness in response to my randomly tear-filled requests at the front desk. You never know what is going on in the life of one of your guests or how your small gestures and kind smiles can comfort someone's darkest hours. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing this with us and I am glad we could play some part in comforting you and helping you heal from this difficult time in your life. At the end of the day all we have are people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Walked in for one room with two beds and found no two bed rooms available. The manager, Ed Hopman, made sure we had a room. He updated us to a one bedroom suite with a sofa bed for our daughter. Then he offered glass of wine and a beer to help us unwind and then made a suggestion for dinner. Dinner at the Finns restaurant was perfect., The room overlooked the bay, had plenty of room and was very clean. The overall experience at the hotel was terrific with friendly employees to assist in your stay. Ed didnt forget us. When we returned from dinner, he approached us to see if we located a restaurant. He seemed genuinely interested in our satisfaction of our stay. He was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms with the bay view and balcony are a must. Excellent view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the positive comments and feedback especially as it relates to our associates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Ha Just kidding. Thought that might get a few peoples attention. I would like to say that this is Seasides best kept secret but I don't think its all that secret.......
I love this place. I have been coming here for years and I rarely stay anywhere else unless I need a big place for extended family.
The rooms are great! I never have to worry about whether or not the room will be nice or not because they are always the same. From the well equipped kitchen, to the beautiful granite countertops and tiled floors, to the friendly staff. They are always helpful and asking if there is anything we need. It has a relaxed family feeling. We enjoy the 'happy hour' with snacks, non-alcoholic drinks and wine. Even the (carb-laden) breakfast is a nice added bonus. I don't usually eat it but my kids do! Is it ocean front? no Does it have ocean views? mmmm maybe from the top balcony. I love the room balconies overlooking the river. I sit out there in the mornings with my coffee and the evenings. I don't mind the short walk to the beach! I highly recommend the River-tides Suites if you are staying in or near Seaside. Enjoy!

Room Tip: I always get the one or two bedroom facing the river on the 3rd floor or higher. I would imagine an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventurer222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. While we wish the title of the review matched the service and quality you received, we hope other readers will look past the title. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertide Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertide Suites

Property: Rivertide Suites
Address: 102 N Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seaside
#2 Family Hotel in Seaside
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivertide Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first-class All-Suite hotel located along the extraordinary Oregon coast in Seaside, Rivertide Suites welcomes guests with spacious suites, plentiful amenities and first-rate service. Guests who stay with us rate our quality, cleanliness and attention to detail best-of-class in the North Oregon Coast community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rivertide Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertide Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing