We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor service, rude employees, disgusting lobby” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivertide Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivertide Suites
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor service, rude employees, disgusting lobby”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived in Seaside on August 1, planning to stay one night (pit stop). We arrived earlier than we expected and found out our room would be ready around 2:30 to 3. We left and went to explore Seaside, which is just a gigantic tourist trap. Came back at 3 to check in when the afternoon staff told us our room would be ready by 4. We waited in their filthy, outdated lobby while numerous families and couples checked in. The furniture looked thrifted and had stains on it while the carpet needed a good cleaning.The manager turned up at around 3:55 to tell us our room was ready. Went upstairs and were unpleasantly surprised to find out we were given the keycard to the wrong room. The room actually belonged to the family that rode up in the elevator with us. All awkwardness aside, my dad went downstairs to get a new room key and the lady at the check in desk didn't even apologize. It upset my family to have no apologies and having to deal with such a disrespectful staff. Unfortunately, I can't recommend this hotel to anyone. The only upside to this trip was the room was clean and well kept. The managers reception didn't have any healthy snacks only stale chips, wine and beer. Breakfast was nothing special. Glad we only stayed for one night.

Room Tip: Choose a room NOT facing the water. The smell is atrocious and there are millions of dead fish float...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikki_bruhn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
I am you found your suite clean and to your liking. I am very sorry about what happened at check-in. We made a mistake on the suite assignment and, while this does not happen often it did happen and I am sorry for the awkwardness this placed you in. I am also sorry about the lobby conditions. The hotel's carpets and upholstery are cleaned often and will be replaced this Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    210
    47
    27
    17
See reviews for
531
303
33
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a top floor suite for 3 travellers. It was large, clean and very quiet.
Nice view with balcony overlooking river.
Hot tub was clean and inviting.
Breakfast was great with a good variety of food.

Room Tip: top floor with balcony are memorable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for the Great Review and we appreciate you sharing your positive experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is dog-friendly, which in our case (we don't have a dog) meant that our room had fleas in the bed. We thought our 8-year old daughter had mosquito bites but we caught on after they kept getting worse each night. Finally I actually saw the fleas jumping around the bed, killed one, and brought it down to show the front desk. I was informed by the front desk 'customer service' manager that that was fairly common in a dog-friendly hotel. She offered no apology. My poor little girl has approximately 40 welts all over her body and still cannot sleep at night due to the ongoing itch and pain.... and we checked out of the hotel 2 days ago.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ModEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
First, I am very sorry this happened however, we believe you have the wrong hotel. We have had no reports of any fleas problems and our staff are all trained and certified to look for these types of conditions. We do not have a female customer service manager at the front desk and no reports of fleas in any of our suites. I sent you an email asking for more information and have not had a response. Again, I am very sorry but this did not happen at the Rivertide Suites Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We arrived later in the evening and had trouble finding parking. When we got inside we were told overflow parking was at the mortuary across the street, which was more amusing than annoying. The lobby wasn't very grand and was obviously, at first sight, where breakfast and the manager's reception was held.
On the way to our rooms, my mother and I were a bit skeptical as they hallways were a bit dingy and in need of a good vacuum. We were pleasantly surprised to find out how nice and clean our room was after seeing the hallway. The beds were good and having the two bathrooms in our two bedroom suite was great. The hide-a-bed was definitely for kids only. An adult had to sleep on it in our party and had to take an advil the next morning. From there, she slept on the couch, which was much preferred.
The kitchen had lots of cupboards with very little kitchen 'stuff' which was fine. The oven was tiny though and we had to cook a pizza by cutting it in half. No cookie sheet, so we had to get creative and use a broiler pan. Not my favorite, but it worked.
A word to the wise: be sure to leave your room when housekeeping is in the vicinity. They will only switch out towels if you are there. Leave your room and take a walk on the beach if you want turndown service. We did have a very nice housekeeper who took care of us early so we could put a baby down for a nap--so they are very nice and accommodating. Just don't be in the room when they are there.
Breakfast was fine. Oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, basic fruit, toast, bagels, juice, and cocoa. They also had some cereal. Was a very plain breakfast. The manager's reception was a bit of a laugh for us, since it consists of pretzels and that kind of thing and these very tiny cans of Shasta. Our favorite part of this was the manager standing over the alcohol seemingly glaring at anyone who came to grab a soda. Scary.
This was a great place to stay for our larger party and we really appreciated the two room suite. The location on the river was nice and was within easy walking distance to the beach. Only negative was the wifi was not included and you had to pay $10 for it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the good review and we certainly have a few things to work on. We will be replacing the carpeting in all of the hallways this winter as well as all of the suites. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Rivertide Suites was a fantastic hotel! The room was well taken care of and just beautiful! If you walked out onto the deck or went to the roof you had a great view of the ocean and the beach. The bathroom was great with a wonderful tub with jets, it was so clean! They kitchen was great too!! It was complete with small stove, oven, and dishwasher, sink, refrigerated, and cooking supplies if you didn't want to go out and eat. The suite even had its own individual washer and dryer, which definitely came in handy! The breakfast was nice, they had different kinds of fruits, biscuits and gravy, bagels, waffles, oatmeal, and cereal. The staff at the hotel was the kindest. I will definitely be going back and would recommend the Rivertide Suites to anyone who wants to visit Seaside!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the terrific review and visiting us in seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Due to limited availability and expensive lodging in Cannon Beach we booked a stay at Rivertide Suites. Seaside is not much to write home about but the property is spotless and about a 15 min drive from picturesque Cannon Beach. I highly recommend this property and my only complaint was the breakfast room has limited space so you'll have to jockey for a table if it prime time in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swiftfireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for choosing us as an alternative to Cannon Beach. Seaside is special in its own way and you found out that there are nice places to stay in Seaside and you still get to enjoy CB just down the road. The best of both worlds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in September, the weather was fair, city not so crowded. We wished our stay here was longer, though. We had a two bedroom condo style room, it was beautiful and clean. Two bathrooms, (one with a Jacuzzi tub) and even a washer and dryer. There were closets with shelving and drawers, very homey. We cooked a take and bake pizza in the oven. Our room had a nice full kitchen.
The pool and hot tub were a nice bonus.
This hotel is within walking distance to almost everything. Most things within a few blocks.
The evening reception was okay, nothing to rave about, except it was free. Same goes for the breakfast, better than many, not as good as some.
Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at Rivertide Suites, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for the great review and sharing with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.2 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Seaside Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertide Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertide Suites

Property: Rivertide Suites
Address: 102 N Holladay Dr, Seaside, OR 97138-6830
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Seaside
#2 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#2 Family Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivertide Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A first-class All-Suite hotel located along the extraordinary Oregon coast in Seaside, Rivertide Suites welcomes guests with spacious suites, plentiful amenities and first-rate service. Guests who stay with us rate our quality, cleanliness and attention to detail best-of-class in the North Oregon Coast community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rivertide Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivertide Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing