We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service! Bad staff!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Seaside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service! Bad staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Very Poor customer service. We booked a room 6 months in advance. My husband even called that Monday before we arrive to verify our reservations and let them know we were still coming. We drove about 4 hours to get there from Renton, wa to seaside. 30 mins prior to getting there we get a voice mail from front desk worker Rebecca [--] saying she was having trouble with our credit card so she's canceling our room.

We were on highway 101 and didn't have phone service when she called. So we called back as soon as we got the message which was less than an hour after but she already cancelled our room and they are now sold out so could do nothing for us. Rebecca Smith was very rude. When we got there she was unapologetic. Did nothing to try to make it up to us. She immediately said are you coming here to vent at me?! I don't care who you are.... Very unprofessional.

It was late at night and we had to drive around and find a different hotel to stay at because she was too rude and impatient to wait for us to call back and fix the card situation. We asked if there was a problem with the card, why did she not call us in the morning so we could give another card. She says well I was busy I didn't have time to run the card until after 8pm. She Assumed we weren't coming anymore without verifying with us first and sold our room. I have never had such poor service in my life.

Very unprofessional. I would not recommend this place. At least if she was apologetic it would have been a different story but it was her fault and she was flat out rude and did not care.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
I am very sorry about this. The credit card we were provided to hold the room declined. We held the room until late in the evening and called you but we did not receive a call back. I am also sorry that you felt the staff member was rude and uncaring. She did try and find you an alternative room in Seaside. We know you were angry about the declined credit card and again, we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    407
    209
    95
    66
See reviews for
560
642
67
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redington shores
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

You'll get a view of the beach and the mountains. Enjoyed watching the sun rise in the morning. Very nice property, clean, comfy beds. Compared to prices of other hotels this place was a steal. Would stay again and my sister is pretty picky! Staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraalgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for the recognition of our staff and the room's cleanliness, bed comfort and amenities. The smaller economy rooms are a great price point and perfect for 1-2 people traveling through. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

This hotel is located directly on the beach and is within walking distance of town and shopping. Our room was located on the third floor and directly on the ocean. When we arrived to check-in, we were told that we had been given an upgrade. Our room was very large, included kitchen facilities and a large sitting area. The room connected to the rooms on either side, so would have been ideal for a family. This hotel does not include breakfast with their rates, but they do have a very nice restaurant on site and the prices are very reasonable. The one negative that we had was the bed was very, very soft. Although we thought this would be a major problem, once we went to sleep, it didn't seem to bother us. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VAVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for the kind words and the upgrade was part of your membership in Best Western Rewards. I am glad you enjoyed the ocean front room and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Don't want to pay Cannon Beach ocean-front prices? This is an excellent option.
We were given a free upgrade to an ocean-front room (don't know why, but we weren't about to turn it down)—fireplace was nice, and the view was fantastic. Furnishings do feel a bit tired, but the bed was comfortable. Also, the room was a bit noisy but that could just have been due to our neighbors.
Fun bonus: there's a swing set on the beach in front of the property. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scoutsterkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thanks again for staying with us. You are 100% correct that Seaside offers great value when compared to Cannon Beach. And, you still get Cannon Beach as it is only 7 miles south of Seaside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

I've been staying at this particular location in Seaside ever since I was introduced to Oregon in 2006. I love the fact that all you have to do is go downstairs to the first floor and walk out of a side door and you're practically on the beach. I have gotten upgrades with no charge twice when I arrived for mini vacations. I think I must be on someone's good list. lol The staff is always pleasant and responsive to deal with on issues, not that I've had any real ones with this hotel. i don't think there's a room where you can't see the ocean. I had a room facing the parking lot which didn't bother me because I was on the 5th floor so I could see Saddle and other mountains, plus I could see part of the ocean and some of Tillamook head (a landmark near the hotel). I've stayed in a smaller room too and had a very nice partial view of the ocean. 503A, was the room I stayed in and was surprised to look out the window and see quite a bit of the shoreline and ocean and most of Tillamook Head.

Salvatore's restaurant has had consistently good food. I'd say the best clam chowder in Seaside. I know that's saying a lot because Norma's Seafood and Steak is suppose to have the best chowder and I love Norma's food too. This last time I stayed there, I had come off the beach and got a take out breakfast from Salvatore's and loved it. It was personalized, There were smiley faces on the containers of my pancakes and bacon. Gave new meaning to the phrase, "Service With A Smile" indeed. lol I didn't get a chance to thank the cook or whomever drew those little pics on my containers, but I was certainly happy about it. Also, the presentation of the food in the containers was nice too. Strawberries in a floral pattern surrounded by blueberries on top of my pancakes made me feel special.

Seaside is my get a away place from Portland when I'm feeling overwhelmed from being a care giver and day to day stuff and this hotel has never failed to help take the stress away. I will always come back to the Best Western in Seaside. In fact, because of this hotel, I'll only stay at Best Western's. Looking forward to my next trip to Seaside soon.

Room Tip: I find the rooms on the 5th floor are the best ones for quiet and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bri189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and being such a loyal guest. I also want to thank you for sharing your experiences with us, not just about the hotel and our staff but also Seaside. It's a great place to visit (and live). Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our family stay at the Best Western was worth it. Kitchenette included: stove, fridge, microwave and dishwasher---with the hotel close to grocery stores, we could eat in our room, take a lunch on the road or visit the onsite restaurant (great-priced buffet and lots of food). Staff were all very friendly, helpful and took great efforts to make our stay enjoyable. Ocean front room overlooks the 1.5 mile promenade and gorgeous sunsets. We made use of the pool and whirl pool (well maintained) and enjoyed the beach. (Lots of kite flying and evening s'more campfire opportunities). We will be returning again!

Room Tip: Kitchens come with dishwasher soap and dishwashing soap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thanks for staying with us and we are thrilled that you and your family had some terrific Family time at the Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champlin, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean View Resort in June. Room was very clean and the ocean view was excellent!! The staff was very friendly making sure our stay was comfortable. A special thanks to Terri Bischel, he took care of us in a personable, professional manner. We most definitely would stay at the Ocean View resort again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrance B, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thanks for staying with us Brian and we look forward to seeing all of our friends from Minnesota in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.4 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 26 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 26 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
Address: 414 North Prom, Seaside, OR 97138-6042
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Seaside
#6 Family Hotel in Seaside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ocean View Resort in Seaside, Oregon is located on the beautiful Pacific Ocean directly in front of one of the best beaches on the West Coast. The resort delivers first class and comfortable beachfront accommodations in a variety of suite and room types, family-style service, and terrific on-line specials on the scenic and historic North Oregon Coast. Seaside is the last stop on the Lewis & Clark trail and the area offers rich history in an incredible, natural beauty. Astoria, only 12 miles north, is the oldest city west of the Mississippi ricvh in Maritime history. Cannon Beach, just five miles south is the "Carmel of the Oregon Coast" with shops, art galleries and includes the famous Haystack Rock. Seaside boasts a variety of activities from beach combing, hiking, golf, boating, fishing, zip line and of course, the famous Broadway street and turnaround. For family fun and lot's to do, Seaside and the Best Western Ocean View Resort are the perfect pair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ocean View Hotel Seaside
Best Western Seaside
Seaside Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing