We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

wow.wow.wow! we have stayed in seaside many times and have always stuck to the popular places to stay (holiday inn, shilo, best western, comfort inn etc.) After reading reviews on trip advisor I decided to try something new. I was a little nervous about staying at the Sandy Cove because I didn't know what to expect especially since I have two small children and I am a little picky about cleanliness. The Sandy Cove Inn far exceeded my expectations! The staff was very friendly and helpful. They really care about their customers. The room we stayed in was immaculate. I wish I could clean my home this well. The building is older but very well maintained and taken care of. The rooms are very nicely decorated and oh so cute! I would like their interior designer as well as the cleaner to come to my home! The location of the property is perfect. The area is very quiet. Two blocks from the ocean and a very nice 1 mile walk along the boardwalk on the beach to the shops and main street in seaside. I will recommend Sandy Cove Inn to all my family and friends while in Seaside. You will love this place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the bottom floor are pet friendly. Pets are not allowed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    172
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
176
244
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed this month. Was greater by a nice man whom runs and owns ur with his family. My main issue is places being clean and this place could not be cleaner. So so clean.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Cove_Inn, Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
So glad you got a kick out of meeting June the Cat. She's managed to make friends with nearly everyone who visits us (even some of the dogs!). We love June's friendly personality and are glad to hear you do too. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had a wonderful 2 day stay at Sandy Cove (first time). Mike, the manager, was an extremely cheerful fellow, and "helped" me with a couple issues immediately when I asked. Room was very clean; bed a little soft, but ok. I stayed in room 29 (top floor), and did not hear much noise from other units or the street. Small TV up high by ceiling. I had to drag myself away at the last minute because I didn't want to leave; wish I would have booked for a couple more days.

Room Tip: Book room 29 to minimize noise from other units or street traffic. This has double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORtraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This place is not fancy--but it is clean and has been set up and maintained with unusual care for the type of place it is. It's in a good spot two blocks from the promenade but away from the kitschy parts of Seaside. Friendly staff and whimsically decorated (though humble) rooms. The bed was a little soft. But for the right trip, it's a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darleen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I read a lot of the reviews on TA,which is why i picked the Sandy Cove Inn. Like most people i did find the rooms neat and clean and the location good. But the one thing that is the deal breaker for me and my wife were teh paper thin walls. Not only could you hear the TV in the adjacent room, but you could even tell what show they were watching. When anyone in an adjacent room turned on their shower it sounded like a jet plane taking off in your room. I'm really surprised that this did not come up in other reviews, but when my wife want to relaxing weekend at teh beach that includes so peace and quiet too.

Room Tip: pick a roomon the 2nd level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Cove_Inn, Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Ah yes, one of the perks of having a building built in the 1940's. Some like to call it "paper-thin walls". We prefer to think of it as "surround sound". Now if only we could get each room to watch the same show at the same time - we'd be on to something! Joking aside, we are so glad you liked everything else: neat, clean and great location. I'd love to invite you stay in our Columbia Tower next time - it's a condo unit on the same block as the Sandy Cove Inn. This unit has a view of the ocean too. It's a great spot. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The property is adorable, clean and in a great location. Loved having the little tavern restaurant across the street as well as Auntie M's and the grocery store. We used all of them. The room was super cute and felt spacious. The bed was not the most comfortable and having kids would of loved to be able to block out the light that was shining in the room all night. The curtains don't block out all the light so you have the bright property lights shining through to the bedroom. We were in the Beach room but besides those two things, it was perfect!!!

Room Tip: We did like the Beach Room and the Family room next door was super cute too..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattilee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Cove_Inn, Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Pattilee - so glad to hear you took advantage of all the lovely businesses on Ave U! We are proud of how hard everyone works 'round here. I'm sorry to hear you had a problem with our blackout curtains - they usually do the trick. We were so glad to have you stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I needed a quick get away vacation and looked up motels in Seaside. I came upon Sandy Cove inn on the web and we decided to give it a try since it was away from the heart of all the attractions in Seaside. When we arrived in town, we didn't have directions and we had called the motel to help us find our way. Wow! Super friendly and extremely helpful! As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a big smile, a list of places to eat and sights to see. They even offer free movies to watch. The rooms are extremely clean and cozy. We absolutely love the themes of the rooms! We recommend that you STAY at Sandy Cove inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBear1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,424 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Shore
Inn at the Shore
#10 of 27 in Seaside
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing