We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay.”
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Centralia, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We procrastinated until the last minute to get a room for a friends wedding and got the LAST room available here. I'm glad it was still available! The staff was friendly and accommodating, and knew a lot about restaurants in the area, and suggested the perfect place for us. I love how every room has it's own theme. We were able to take a night time walk to the beach, which is clean and close. Fantastic coffee place nearby, across the street from a grocery store (keep in mind In Room Fridges). Fantastic water pressure in the showers! I know... odd thing to be thankful for, but I detest dribbling water pressure at most places. Even this close to the ocean, there was no odd scent to the water. The Only issue we had was that the bed was extra firm. Uncomfortably firm. But, with a few of the down pillows strategically placed, it was possible to have a decent nights sleep. We'll definitely have no problem going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADMower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Cove_Inn, General Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
June was an exciting month for us. We think you’ll be happy to hear about it. We purchased new mattresses! Brand, spankin’ new.

When we purchased the motel 6 years ago we had a very long list of upgrades that were desperately needed. Mattresses were on the list but more importantly were items like “plumbing” and “heaters” and “major repairs”. Slowly we’ve marked off each item as time and income have allowed. And each time we crossed something off, we felt a small victory!

The long-awaited moment has come to mark “mattresses” off the list as well and boy, are we excited. Hopping up and down excited. We’ve been waiting for this moment for quite some time. And according to our recent reviews, so have you.

We cannot begin to explain how grateful we have been for your patronage of our family project as we work tirelessly to improve our services. And now? We’ve upgraded each bed to it’s very own, brand new mattress.

We trust that the next time you visit, not only will you love the service, the cleanliness and the adorable décor, but you’ll also love your comfortable night’s rest. We can’t wait to hear those contented “zzzzz’s” coming from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    170
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
170
234
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed there four nights in August 2012 and liked this place! Nicely decorated rooms, clean and a very friendly and helpful staff. Furthermore the Sandy Cove Inn is located very attractive: Just 5 minutes walk to the beach but far enough outside of the noisy and busy center of Seaside. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 611Stevie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Sandy Cove Inn is a lovely motel in the quiet south side of Seaside. The rooms are very clean and imaginatively decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We stayed in the Blue Room on the second floor, which we found quiet and restful. We walked into town for dinner, but next time, we'll probably just cross the street to the pub. The coffee shop/bakery across the street is also a great place to enjoy breakfast. All around, a great spot. The owners clearly take great pride in making this an interesting, unique and pleasant place to stay. Such a great relief from all the cloned sterile rooms of the chain hotels and their unimaginative imitators. We will definitely stop in here again next time we're travelling the Oregon coast.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This was my second stay at the Sandy Cove Inn and each time the staff were welcoming and assistive. The rooms are extremely very clean and decorated with creative themes that make you feel at home. They are located just a block off the beach, and in that quick walk we met a few fascinating people whom we otherwise would have missed. Seaside is a fun destination for families with younger children, and the Sandy Cove is the perfect retreat at the end of the day, when you're ready to leave the downtown and enjoy a fire on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This little inn was such a pleasant surprise for us. It's located 12 blocks from the main promenade so you can walk to the craziness and then retreat to the peace and quiet. There is a market and cute pub across the street and a great coffee shop/bakery next to those (auntie m's check it out in tripadvisor). The rooms aren't huge but they are sparkling clean and fresh smelling, no musty smell. The owner's mom is a decorator and each room is a eclectic delight. You can see the beach and it's a very short walk of approx. 300ft. We are already planning our next visit. Best value in seaside.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room...bright and cheery. Makes you smile when you walk in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forkingitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed one night (just to sleep).

GOOD:
Wife liked the room decor -- unique, interesting, unusual.
Quiet, but the night we were there there were maybe only two other cars in the parking lot.
Check-in clerk gave us a lot of good travel hints for the local area. (Wish we had more time to stick around and do more.)
Close to the beach, but we just overnighted there ourselves.
Bed was a little small, but we still slept well.

NOT SO GOOD:
Furnishings in our room (vintage games) were a little worn, but not to the point of complaint.
Shower head leaked, spraying the ceiling and forming a puddle on the floor. (Looks like their plumber didn't make a good seal with the Teflon tape. The fixtures were not old/worn.) Clerk at checkout made a note to have it fixed.
Would have been nice to have a microwave oven. (Maybe they have one in the lobby. We did not check.)

OVERALL:
This place ranks high on Tripadvisor. Our visit validated their rating for the pricepoint.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The Columbia Tower was a great place to stay, it's on the quiet end of the promenade and has nearby beach access.

The unit was furnished beautifully and was immaculately clean. The staff was very helpful and courteous and we enjoyed our visit.

If I had to find one thing to say as a negative, it'd be the noise from several tenants and the smell from their cigarettes as they visited in the courtyard below on our first night there. They were especially loud and talked and laughed til almost midnight.

I would recommend the Sandy Cove Inn and would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csd2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#22 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#11 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing