We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money but........”
Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2013

You cannot beat this place for value for money - it is exceptionally cheap......but prior to booking I exchanged emails with staff about the ability to accommodate a family of 6 and was told what room to book (the beach room) which I did. Only problem was that it did not accommodate 6 people and they had to squeeze into bunks together but for the price we paid we let it go without complaint. I guess my issue is that if the room does not accommodate 6 people I would refer to be told and I would have looked elsewhere - larger groups / families beware.

The room itself is fine - neat, clean and tidy but a bit dated. When I say dated I mean dated..... my kids were bemused using a VHS video recorder and tapes for the first time and the TV was straight from the 80's..... I guess this is part of the charm of the place.

As indicated by others staff very friendly and helpful.

Location cannot be beaten, the Inn is very close to the beach and the promenade which are both well worth a look. Others have recommended the pub across the road as a dinner option. The pub is great and has a wide range of beers on tap and staff friendly but this is a burger/fries option only if you want something more substantial look elsewhere.

I have no major problems with this accommodation it would be great for smaller groups and couples it was simply too small for us.

Room Tip: This hotel does not cater for 6 in a room despite what they may tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverfox2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is such a nice and quaint inn. The decor and cleanliness stands out the best. We have the "Sweet" with a second story balcony that looks at the ocean (which is a couple of short blocks away). The staff is friendly and helpful. I like it because it is not on the crowded side of town. I highly recommend this delightful comfortable inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We booked the classic games room. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They got bonus points for having two VHS copies of the goonies available for in room viewing. I saved 10% by checking in on foursquare. We will definitely stay at the SandyCove Inn during our next trip to Seaside.

Room Tip: The classic gaming room has plenty of entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Clean room and very helpful staff. Maria was wonderfully, recommended places to eat and fun things to do in the area. After a long day of driving, this was a nice, inexpensive place to stay. Located away from the crowds, with a short drive to the promenade and downtown. We would definitely stay there again. No air conditioner, but it was cool enough with the window open.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Annstwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was our second stay (and with a small dog). We love that the décor is more like a bed and breakfast, which is much more interesting than a cookie-cutter motel, and each room is unique. It's close to the huge sandy beach and the promenade, and it is relatively inexpensive. The staff and service have been very nice. There's a pub, breakfast/lunch place and small grocery all within a block, and it's a short drive to many other restaurants. My wife says we have 17 rooms to go!

Room Tip: Room 19 is a little larger and handicapped accessible with a little more space for light cooking/eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_G52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The best thing about Sandy Cove Inn was the location, no crowds. I loved how we could walk 2 blocks to the beach. We booked 4 nights in Rm. 16 (Beach Room) on the ground floor corner. The room had no AC so we left the window opened at night which was okay until the morning. It got noisy with chatty smokers sitting right outside, loud delivery trucks beeping, and squawking birds. The bed and the shower were fine. The VCR and television need an upgrade though. A flat screen and DVD player would have been nice, and AC too. Next time I will book the 2 room suite, or leave the kids at home. All together it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsy926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed in Room 19 - is was very big as it is ADA compliant. They gave me goodie bags for my 2 dogs and were very pleasant and friendly. The bed could use an upgrade, but at least it is soft. 2 blocks to beach with about 5 other people on it at a distance! Also a close drive into town. Would definitely stay again,

Room Tip: Room 19 - biggest room with only 1 bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spareaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy_Cove_Inn, General Manager at Sandy Cove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

June was an exciting month for us. We think you’ll be happy to hear about it. We purchased new mattresses! Brand, spankin’ new.

When we purchased the motel 6 years ago we had a very long list of upgrades that were desperately needed. Mattresses were on the list but more importantly were items like “plumbing” and “heaters” and “major repairs”. Slowly we’ve marked off each item as time and income have allowed. And each time we crossed something off, we felt a small victory!

The long-awaited moment has come to mark “mattresses” off the list as well and boy, are we excited. Hopping up and down excited. We’ve been waiting for this moment for quite some time. And according to our recent reviews, so have you.

We cannot begin to explain how grateful we have been for your patronage of our family project as we work tirelessly to improve our services. And now? We’ve upgraded each bed to it’s very own, brand new mattress.

We trust that the next time you visit, not only will you love the service, the cleanliness and the adorable décor, but you’ll also love your comfortable night’s rest. We can’t wait to hear those contented “zzzzz’s” coming from your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#7 of 27 in Seaside
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 27 in Seaside
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range: £55 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing