We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last-minute booking, delightful property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
299 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Last-minute booking, delightful property!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I love this place. I have been to Seaside many, many times. I always wanted to stay at this little gem, so I decided to make it happen. I made a last minute call, forgetting it was a 3-day weekend for most people. I was dismayed to find there were no rooms available.

But, within 5 minutes, I got a call back informing me they did have a room, the Suite. I told him I would check it out online, and then decide. I took one look at the pictures, and booked it online. I would be two blocks from the beach, across the street from a pub and market. The suite had a Jacuzzi tub, and a kitchenette, along with a TV and VCR/DVD player.

I rented the suite to get away and do some writing. I am participating in the National Novel Writing Month, November. I am writing 50,000 words in 30 days. I decided this would be the perfect place to do it.

Unbeknownst to me, there was a writing desk in the bedroom. WiFi was a snap to access, I had no problems all weekend long. And, from my small balcony, I could see the ocean from my room. The pub across the street had a good selection of beers and spirits, and a yummy bowl of clam chowder (separate review coming-Ustreet Pub).

I decided to get some bubble bath from the market, and enjoyed the giant Jacuzzi tub. The Prom ends on Avenue U, so you can walk into town or drive. The Inn was quiet, and I was able to get a ton of writing done. I seriously can't wait to come back. Oh! The Inn also had a selection of VHS movies you could use for free. I watched Steel Magnolias for the first time. Of course I cried.

The south end of Seaside is one of my favorite places in the world. I would highly recommend staying at the Sandy Cove Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyGirlJenna729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    169
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
170
232
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

A wonderfully romantic stay. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very clean. We arrived a day early and the staff did what they could to get us accomodated. We stayed in a different room on our first night (because we arrived unannounced), so we were able to experience two rooms - both of which were clean and charming. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The Boat Room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The ladies at the front desk were very friendly & helpful. Anything I needed they got for me right away & delivered it to my room. Rooms were clean & well maintained. Suggestions was made as things to do in the area & places to eat. There was coffee & tea at the front desk. Free movies

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Linn, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We escaped the hustle and bustle of town, to find a very comfortable, clean room with a great location! We had the 60's room complete with lava lamp! Maria at the front desk was awesome, she went on a search for something we could put our puzzle on. We will be back....

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

It was my wifes birthday gift and she enjoyed it. Great staff, clean large rooms, comfortable bed, free movies, Wi-Fi, table setting for 2 & coffee. Close to the beach but no view. Easy to get to. The great Groupon offer made this a very good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had the white room, a little small a first, but for relaxing in the evenings and sleep it was just what we needed, the price was great. If you ask for a microwave they will provide one for you room, or the office has one too. :) I'll do it again.

Room Tip: We were in room 13 not bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

After a family weekend at the coast, we decided we needed a couples weekend and our October birthdays were the perfect excuse along with the great Groupon offer. The room was clean, comfortable and with wonderful new bed mattresses (according to the people at the pub across the street :) Everyone was friendly and helpful. Great handout of recommended places to eat. Discovered the Firehouse Grill on Broadway - our new favorite restaurant. We had never stayed on the South end of town, but it was great because it helped us to get out and walk more to get into town. The weekend was spectacular with blue skys and sun.
We also looked at their house rental next door for a family time at the coast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#22 of 27 in Seaside
78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing