We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Cove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Cove Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Favorite place in Seaside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this inn for two anniversaries in a row and now hopefully for our third. We always love the surprise of what the decorated theme will be of the room, the location near the shore, the quiet side of town, and how cozy the room is. It doesn't feel like a hotel but more like a house near the ocean. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    169
    36
    10
    6
See reviews for
170
232
33
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
East Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I see a lot of places get a lot of hype, but this place really deserves it! The location was GREAT- the direct drive and limited hwy 101 traffic of Seaside, but without the roar of Seaside. You're close enough to walk to the turnaround if you want to, and an equal distance to the tide pools on the southern end of the beach. The room was great- not too many places are designed to accommodate a family of 5. The staff was warm and professional; the room and entire inn were clean, cute, and a great value for the price paid. The only criticism I have at all is a lack of a chain guard high on the door; our little ones have never had a outside door they could just open and run out before and that caused me a few grey hairs. Next time I'll bring a safety knob with me, as we'll definitely be back! We had a great time here and can't recommend Sandy Cove enough. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKNmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colfax, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

What can I say other than they saved me in a pinch was going to go to the seaside for the weekend and had not reserved a place I have a dog and was not able to find a location they were good enough to put us up in room 12 which is the pet friendly room can't say enough great place fair value

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wantabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This place is adorable! If you don't need an ocean view or pool, a really affordable - even in high summer - place to stay in Seaside. Only 1 and 1/2 blocks to beach, nice and clean, on the quiet end of town (a plus for Seaside!), and sweetly decorated for what looks like a basic motel from the outside. Friendly office staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The outside of this hotel was super pristine. Very nice!
Room was small with tiny bathroom but I expected that.
Stayed in the 1940s room and it was adorable.
Cannot remember who checked us in but she was very nice and very helpful!
Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEP89410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for one night while driving up the Oregon coast. We got the "Monopoly Room" which was clean and had everything we needed for a good night's sleep after a long day of driving. Due to a snag in our plans, we ended up arriving after 10 PM. I called the front office and they put our key in a lockbox so we could still get to our room, which I really appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Sandy Cover for 2 nights in October 2013 on a short trip down the Oregon Coast from Canada.
I found Sandy Cove with a Groupon voucher and was glad to find somewhere for a decent price close to the waterfront and not too far from the downtown area.
We mainly used this place as a day trip base for a few drives around the area - to Cannon Beach and to the Tillamok Cheese Factory.

The hotel is very cute, well maintained, clean and friendly. Each room is painted and decorated with a theme. Our room was a Beach Surfer Theme, complete with a surfboard on the wall. The room was smallish with a double bed plus a single and double futon bunk bed. The bathroom was small and older as well, but clean and suited us just fine.

Our only issue was that the room's TV was very small and placed onto of a very tall wardrobe/closet. The only comfortable place to view it was from the double bed and even then it was quite a ways away for a small TV. (Travelling in october meant we didn't have ideal weather and were indoors most evenings, making the TV important.)

The staff was friendly and helped direct us to a few restaurant options.
I would book with the Sandy Cove again sometime in the future, hopefully when the weather is warmer and we can take advantage of more beach time.
I also appreciate that they have some rooms that accept guests travelling with dogs. That's always a bonus for me.

Room Tip: I believe there is no elevator, so if stairs are an issue ask for a ground-level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.6 mi away
Lanai at the Cove
Lanai at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#7 of 27 in Seaside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tides By The Sea
Tides By The Sea
#22 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#12 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
Hi-Tide Oceanfront Inn
#5 of 27 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Cove Inn

Property: Sandy Cove Inn
Address: 241 Avenue U, Seaside, OR 97138-5005
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seaside
#3 Family Hotel in Seaside
#3 Business Hotel in Seaside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seaside
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandy Cove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandy Cove Inn is a family-owned boutique motel located two blocks from the beach and promenade in historic Seaside, Oregon. We are on the quiet end of town but still very close to the town’s attractions, and we combine the personal touch with modern conveniences like free WiFi and some pet-friendly rooms.We have everything from basic rooms to vacation rentals, and with both a market and restaurant just across the street, we are the perfect place for a fun, peaceful stay on the Oregon Coast.We even have themed rooms like the Wave Room with surf art, a wave mural and an actual surfboard; there’s also a 1940s Room, a Monopoly Room, and a Boat Room, among several others.We’re one of the last family-owned motels in town, and that means a lot to us; in fact, we live right here on the property. We will share some of our favorite activities and places to eat with you, and we can’t wait to make you feel at home in our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Cove Hotel Seaside
Sandy Cove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing