We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View but....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Seaside
Midwest USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful View but....”
Reviewed 30 May 2006

The hotel was clean and the room was very nice. The view was picture perfect. We were on the top floor on the south side of the hotel and it was a little noisy at night on the Prom. Comfortable beds and nice kitchen area. It was a little more than we normally pay for a room. For the price I suggest a complimentary breakfast in the extremely overpriced restuarant downstairs. We will probably stay at a less expensive hotel next time, just because there were several that offered breakfast with the room and they were cheaper. If a room with a view is important to you, and price is not, then you will like it here.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iluvjamaica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    177
    137
    120
    100
See reviews for
260
275
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2006

Date: March 6, 2006.
Reviewer: A TripAdvisor Member, Portland, Oregon.
We just returned from a weekend at the Shilo Inn at Seaside. This was one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in and most definitely the most overpriced. We paid $145 for a room that should have been at most $60. It didn't look anything like the photos we saw on the internet. It had cement block walls, dirty carpets and tacky furniture. There was no hot water for showers -- for three days! And there was something horrible in the electric heater which was the only heating system for the room. My husband and I became ill with a respiratory ailment the first night after we turned it on, and immediately started to get better after we left -- it took us only one day to fully recuperate. (This has not happened to us before and we don't complain of allergies.) There was no card in the hotel asking for comments and when we told the staff about our experience, they seemed unconcerned. Perhaps they were used to those kinds of comments.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank dorismaeerwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2005

We had a room on the fourth floor, which provided a fantastic view of the beach. The balcony was also very pleasant, especially with the warm weather. The room was very quiet; although the rooms next to us were occupied, the only noise were heard was heavy walking in the room above us.

That said, I didn't think the room was worth the $229 I paid for one night. Although party updated, the furnishings didn't match and were a little shabby. There was a odd smell from the bathroom so we kept the bathroom door closed. The hotel overall was fairly plain. I haven't stayed in any other hotel at Seaside so maybe this is simply what's available for this price.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank layercake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bainbridge island, wa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2005

We booked a Deluxe Ocean View room for two nights at $299 a night. We were apprehensive as we drove into the parking lot. The exterior of the building looked more downscale than we had anticipated. So much so that we decided to leave our luggage in the car until after we checked in. A good call given the events that followed.

When we entered our room on the second floor we were shocked to see half a view. The roof from their restaurant actually obstructs the view from the top of the balcony railing down. Nice view if you're standing. An ugly roof if you are sitting or laying on the bed reading. There was also an overwhelming chemical smell to the room. My guess is maybe someone smoked in the room and it was heavily sprayed with some chemical fragrance to mask the smoke.

We headed straight back down to the lobby (fortunately we weren't hauling luggage with us). The clerk was very nice but didn't have anything higher up. During our discussion another guest on a higher floor was unhappy with their bed configuration. We waited while those guests went to our room. No go. They said it smelled and the view was blocked. Suddenly they had another room on the second floor for us to see. We were told guests didn't complain about this room as much. Hmmm we thought. It was better, it was on the end with an extra window and didn't smell so we took it. A $299 a night room, not even close.

My husband asked for a rate reduction. The clerk didn't have the authority and no one else on duty did. She would leave a note for the manager to address our concerns the next day. We never heard from anyone. We didn't want to spend our less than 48 hour vacation complaining and stewing about our hotel so we spent most of our time outside the hotel and just used the room for showering and sleeping.

The bathrooms are updated with granite shower walls, granite counters and ceramic tile floors. The carpet was new but starting to show wear, the appliances were old but that wasn't important to us since we didn't plan on cooking there. Clean sheets, firm bed, lumpy hard pillows. Friendly staff but they didn't have authority to address guest concerns.

The exterior of the building is really showing its age. The metal stairs and walkways are all outside with metal railings and absolutely filthy indoor/outdoor carpet. Not sure how they can call this a 'hotel'. It's very much a 'motel'. The non-oceanside rooms looked downright depressing. Their window overlooks the walkway and then further beyond the parking structure. Most had the curtains drawn otherwise people would be looking in your windows as they passed by down the corridor. The elevator carpet was filthy, the doors a little askew and the thing rattled as it went up and down. We took the stairs the rest of the trip.

The pool was not up to our standard. We didn't let the kids swim in it. Cloudy and things visibly floating in it.

We had no desire to eat at the hotel given our disastisfaction with the room. It also doesn't seem too appetizing to walk across filthy corridor and lobby carpets to go eat. Local restaurants Normas and Pig n Pancake were wonderful eating experiences for us. It countered our disappointment with the hotel.

I wrote a letter to them today again requesting an adjustment to our room rate. I figured it couldn't hurt. I would not stay there again given our experience. I felt it was a true bait and switch act with the second floor ocean side rooms. They must have to dance through the complaints week in and week out. Very frustrating that no one on duty had the authority to respond to our requests. Even if we had not had our ocean view blocked I would not rate the overall room and hotel experience highly. It's just plain overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank mom_is_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivehurst, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2005

The oceanfront rooms are very nice, but make sure to request something on the third floor or up - the second floor rooms give you a view of the restuarant roof and are *not* worth the $250 price. I had to haggle with the front desk to get a new room after they stuck me in smoking when I requested non. This hotel is located on the noisest part of the Prom, so be prepared to hear *everything* that goes on on the beach. Also, as noted by someone else here, the walls and floors are thin - I heard the people above me literally running around their room for 45 minutes after 11pm, which made it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 July 2005

We spent a long sleepless night in the Shilo Inn. The evening was cool for July, but the hotel does not have A/C. Our room was like a sauna. We couldn't open the window because it was on the corridor, and the noise was incredibly loud. Kids were running and screaming until all hours of the night. The pillows were cheap and lumpy. Think twice about staying there.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 May 2005

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. We had a top floor suite with view in two directions, with complete kitchen and a fireplace. The staff was wonderful.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seaside hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Seaside East
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites by Seaside Convention Center/Boardwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Seaside
Inn at Seaside
#6 of 27 in Seaside
1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Seaside-Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn
#10 of 27 in Seaside
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront

Property: Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront
Address: 30 N Prom, Seaside, OR 97138-5823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Shilo Inn Suites Oceanfront Hotel you will be right on the beach in the center of the cultural and tourist attractions of Seaside. The newly updated spacious oceanfront rooms offer Shilo guests a spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean and glorious sunsets. Children 17 and under always stay free with an adult at Shilo Inns. Dogs welcome with nominal fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Seaside Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn Seaside Oceanfront Hotel Seaside
Shilo Inn Seaside Oregon
Seaside Shilo Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing