We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Silverton; love this restaurant”

Howard Hinsdale Wine Celar
Ranked #13 of 40 Restaurants in Silverton
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love Silverton; love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our hotel recommended we visit Howard Hinsdale Wine Cellar and we did. It is right in the middle of tiny Silverton on the River. We ate outdoors on the deck over the river (be sure to ask for a table there, weather permitting. It is delightful). There were four of us and we all ordered different dishes and all were quite good (my very fresh salmon was delicious). The entrees are not oversized and the prices are very modest. The waitress suggested a wine that accompanied everyone's meals. We adjoined inside to listen to two guitar players (the good old fashion ones without electronics!). It was a very pleasant weekday evening and we will go back when we visit the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaretcov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Oh Yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

At the corner of the main street and the bridge crossing Silver Creek. Thought this was a winery (the name seems to imply), but it is a great place for a meal. We sat outside and enjoyed the inventive menu and wonderful local wine selections.

This would be our first choice on a return visit to Silverton.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David12815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
275 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Going to have to work on your hospitality!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We had a deal from local hotel for BOGO. It was fairly busy but the staff who we think was owner was pretty rude. Tried to order chicken option and had nuts in it and with severe allergy was told not very nicely that can't take nuts out. Of course when salad arrived it had nuts and when advised felt like we were putting him out. At least the beer was cheap and we won't be going back.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mraschio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney Bc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We were staying at the Oregon Garden Resort a few minutes away and received winery and brewery invitations. One of them was for this delightful restaurant with a two for one entrée coupon. The restaurant is five minutes from the resort in the historic and charming community of Silverton. We parked nearby and were escorted onto the patio overlooking a small creek which runs beside the bistro. There are about 15 to 20 seats outside on the deck, slightly more inside, as well as a private dining area for a small group.
Our host Kevin Cobb and we hit it off right away as he regaled us with vignettes about the bistro and the location and the food! We had a wonderful dinner, and enjoyed a special dessert and two local beers.
We can't rate this any higher than to say this is a MUST place to enjoy a meal as a couple or a family. Just don't ask to see the winery or the brewery as there isn't one or the other. Just a great little restaurant and a very hospitable host.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great evening, excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were guests at the Oregon Garden Resort, and they provided enticements to try some of the local eateries. This restaurant looked interesting - and it was!

We had an unusual host and server - I believe his name was Kevin - he really had an animated personality, to say the least and he helped make the evening - and was very good about making recommendations from the menu. His suggestions were spot on and all of us enjoyed the meal, the wine and the surroundings.

Dessert...when asked for the best...Kevin said the bread pudding - Habenero, bread and whiskey...very unusual, very interesting, and completely enjoyable....

Would we return to this facility? Absolutely...there were several items on the menu I'd love to try.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howard Hinsdale Wine Celar also viewed

 

Been to Howard Hinsdale Wine Celar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing