We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Pretty”

Sahalie and Koosah Falls
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quite Pretty”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Another attraction I visited after spending 26 years in area. Should have gone years ago. It is a beautiful, moderately easy hike through old growth Douglas fir and cedar. Both Sahalie and Koosah Falls are pretty nice to behold, and the small reservoir down below was serene. A great place to take visitors and small kids. Arrive early, as the parking is tight and the trail gets a lot of users. Folks were parking on the edge of Hwy 20 when we left.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cariboo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    32
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely little break during a long drive”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stop at Sahalie Falls every time we travel over the pass. The scenery is just beautiful. One year we stopped in the middle of winter. The parking lot isn't open during winter but we trekked down to the viewing point and what a treat. The falls were frozen over with a trickle of water coming out and rainbow over the top. I wish I'd had my camera then.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A wonderful hike to some incredible waterfalls. If you go at the beginning of the summer, the snow melt off makes the falls more powerful then at the end of the summer. Anytime you go they are beautiful. Pretty easy hike as you walk along the river but beware of tree roots on the pathway. Highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hikes”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My daughter and I parked just east of Clear Lake. We hiked around one side of the lake, and door planning on our own the trail to Sahallie falls. We didn't get as far as Koosah falls, as winter days are short, and we didn't make it back to our car until after dark. (Poor planning and late start) Wouldn't have traded the day for anything though. Clear lake is a astonishing beauty. Only second to Crater Lake in my opinion. The hike between the lake and the falls is easy, No. a lot of climbing, although there is a point where you cross the highway, but it is in an open area, and that was easy. If you are concerned about that, you can park at each individual spot. Work the trip. About an hour from Sisters, and about an hour from Eugene.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLeeFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Gorgeous series of falls with a beautiful trail along the river. Pop down to only see the falls or spend a little more time and stroll along the banks of the river. There are a series of falls and a lot of whitewater in between. The forest around it is balsam fir and incense cedar -- it smells amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Respilosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sahalie and Koosah Falls also viewed

Sisters, Central Oregon
 
Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to Sahalie and Koosah Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing