We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait and drive”
Review of Proxy Falls

Proxy Falls
Ranked #4 of 25 things to do in Sisters
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the wait and drive”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Proxy falls is located on hwy 242, you can only get there in late summer. It was the most beautiful falls our family has ever seen. The path was challenging, but not difficult. We walked it the opposite direction than they suggest, viewing the lower falls first,much easier climb.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cloud7seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sisters, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Porxy Falls a Gem in the Woods!”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A short hike through the thick pine forest and lava rocks leads to a true PNW gem in the form of Proxy falls. Bring a tripod for slow camera exposures in the shade of the trees for that nature lovers look to your photographs! Lots of green moss and blue green waters to enjoy on a hot summer day!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Tiered Falls! Worth the hike/walk!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

These falls can not be seen from the road, however the senic winding trails are well worth the small hike/walk! The trail is narrowish and hilly in a few places with tree roots sticking up out of the ground....not wheelchair accessible, if you have trouble walking or use a walking aid use causion and go slowly. Part of the trail winds through an old lava bed, it is fairly narrow at this part, if you're lucky you may run across a small lizard sunning it's self on the rocks. We took the trail that leads right to Proxy Falls to an area that looks over a small, but fairly deep gorge, across to the cascading waters of the falls and the river/stream in which it plunges. If you are adventureous, as we are, it is possible to get up close to the falls but the going is very steep with loose footing! If there is time take the trail to Little Proxy which is in the opposite direction of the trail to the bigger falls. about 1/2 way along the main trail there is a fork, that is marked, which heads up near the top of Proxy this trail traveres a small bridge. There is plenty of parking and bathroom facilities + a few picnic tables in the same area. I think fees depend on your length of stay in the park area.....a camera is a definite must have, so are a good pair of walking/hiking shoes. The entire area is pretty shaded as the trails, etc are in the forest, wonderful on a hot day!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Falls”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I had some information that said to hike the trail in the opposite direction of what the signs state. We did this and it was a great hike through the forest, nice and shady and cool in the heat of the day. The falls were beautiful. My suggestion would be to turn back around after seeing both falls and return the way you came. If you continue to walk the loop you end up walking through lava debris, big boulders and switchbacks with no trees to shade you. It also seemed to take longer than going the other way--maybe we were just hot!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank calcetin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I was here (PROXY FALLS) about 20 years ago and it was not marked and the trail was marginal. Today it is a loop trail, a little incline and about a mile walk round trip. The fallas are incredible. There are now restrooms there and plenty of parking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Proxy Falls also viewed

 
Sisters, Central Oregon
Sisters, Central Oregon
 

Been to Proxy Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing