We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT TO GO or STAY”
Review of Fishtails Cafe

Fishtails Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
South Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HOT TO GO or STAY”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

FT is one of the best kept secrets in SB! We love the home cooking breakfasts lunch dinner too when there is a hunger on for great omlets, burger/frys or the special of your choice. {Prices are fair} Great value and portion sizes and always good. We like the coffe too.

So, if you cross the Yaquina Bay bridge south find FTs at the village and ENJOY.
Jerry Z

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JER Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    50
    21
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We will be back tomorrow!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My husband was a little reluctant to try this spot due to the kitschy little village around the corner, glad we stopped!!! The staff were friendly and the food fantastic!!! We will not bother adventuring further for breakfast during our two day stay in the area.

Helpful?
Thank sheri h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do You Like Hashbrowns? Huh, punk? Do You Really Like Them?”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

OK, if you are a hashbrown fanatic (as I am) don't miss this out-of-the-way breakfast spot just south of Newport near the Aquarium. Owner Barbara Abshire takes real pride in her homestyle breakfast fare. I visited her website before venturing out and was intrigued by fellow TripAdvisor posts on her french toast. When I read on her site that the hashbrowns were made from SCRATCH, we grabbed the car keys and scooted on over!
Abshire met us at the door, and invited us to sit wherever we wished. Hubby and I took seats at the back of the rustic and comfortable dining room. It was a late breakfast for us, so only a few diners to share the space with - everyone was friendly to us non-locals. I ordered the chicken fried steak (can't recall the last time in a decade when I've ordered this) because Abshire boasts about it being all fresh and handmade. Hubby ordered the Marionberry French Toast, made with Abshire's homemade white bread, stuffed with a sweetened blend of cream cheese and sour cream and topped with fresh Marionberry sauce (sugar/lemon juice/cornstarch) and a dollop of whipped cream. Wonderfully delicious,but plan to share as it defiitely qualifies as a dessert! Go Barbara!
Now for the important part - my delicious, light and flavorful Chicken Fried Steak was accompaniedd by eggs, (given to hubby) hashbrowns and toast of my choice. (I asked Barbara to recommend one of her homemade breads - selected sourdough) To say it was a generous portion would be understatement. It was huge. But the hashbrowns - oh Lord...when they are done right, are a meal in and of themselves. Perfectly crisp, hot and not over-seasoned. My only regret was that I was unable to finish anything on the plate. (took things back to our hotel room for breakfast the next day)
While we enjoyed our meal, the real treat was Abshire herself, who shared recipes, suggestions on other restaurants (she likes Stephanies at Nye Beach) and chatted occasionally about learning to cook in her native Missouri. (that explains the properly prepared chicken fried steak) What a charming lady!
She said they roast their own turkey for their club sandwiches on the lunch menu and we will be returning to enjoy one before leaving Newport!
They say breakfast is the most important meal of the day - so is eating breakfast at a place that makes quality a priority. You'll find it at Fishtails.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystralle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food. Great value. Great service. hiighly recommend this cute little place!”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stumbled on the wonderful little place and had had delicious lunch. the Clam Fritters were great as was the turkey club and clam chowder with shrimp. our server was lovely. Highly recommend it. the outdoor decor is lovely!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katiekyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Try it”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Marionberry French toast is unbelievably good...sweet so share. Clam fritters are yummy. Food is good overall. Clean and comfortable atmosphere. Mostly good service but sometimes not friendly. They do try to accommodate GF diets.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OregonBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishtails Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Fishtails Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing