We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B&B was good, the wedding photography wasn't”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Crest Cellars Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 South Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2010

My wife and I were married at Stone Crest Cellars in August 2010. Here's my take:

The positives:
We were in awe of view of the Pacific Ocean just outside the B&B's back yard. The first night we stayed in the house, and the next night we moved to the cottage (aka "The Love Shack"), which is a few hundred feet away from the B&B in a small enclave of homes on a cliff above the beach. We really liked the cottage and its 40s and 50s decor and record player.

Breakfast was decent, and Judy and her assistant, Morgan, were friendly accommodating, as well. It was a nice touch when Judy lit a fire for us in the home's large fireplace and offered us port and chocolates after we returned from a seafood dinner in Newport.

The negatives:
When we arrived in the afternoon the first day, we were weary from traveling. We checked in and went to our room to nap, but we were unable to sleep because there was a wedding at the house. There were quite a few people roaming the house, and we felt trapped in our room. Also, the B&B offers wine, cheese and grapes each night around 4pm. We partook the first night, but felt like we couldn't the second night because there was another wedding at the house with a throng of people milling about. We felt unwelcome when we had to go the house to get soap because the cottage was out. People stared at us like, "Who are you?"

Our biggest disappointment was the photography that was part of our wedding package. When we booked the package, my wife specifically asked if we needed to hire a wedding photographer and was told no. Judy said photography was done by Photography By Danaya (which turned out to be Judy's daughter). Unfortunately, Danaya wasn't available during our wedding, so Judy had to be officiant and photographer. Very few of the photos Judy took turned out. There were lots of shadows and awkward poses--they were amateur. The photography session lasted about 30 minutes right after our short wedding ceremony. We felt rushed, as there was a wedding rehearsal for a larger wedding right after ours. Hire your own photographer if you want good photos!

All in all, we liked the location, but there were times we felt like a king and queen and times when we felt like village serfs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

Judi and Craig know how to take care of visitors, whether a quick getaway or a memorable wedding. The place is beautiful, the view breathtaking, the hosts amazing and the pets are cuddly!! The area is superb for fine food and wine, or the best fish & chips and beer. Judi and Craig can give you advise on the best hiking areas, tidepools, blow holes and anything else you wish to do or see on the Oregon coast. We have stayed @ Stonecrest four times now and will be sure to return many, many more times in hopes of seeing it and eating it ALL!
Thanks for all that you do!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

The hosts, Craig and Judy, were gracious, meals were excellent, and home was spotless and warm. Loved the private bluff over the ocean - a place to sit and relax with a glass of wine. This B&B has a niche as a place to be wed. We just enjoyed it as a quiet get away. Breakfasts were amazing! Afternoon wine and cheese and fresh fruit. Evening night cap of port and small cookies.

Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnsr1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

Excellent breakfast, stunning view from the inn, just breathtaking, Super nice folks run the inn, make you feel at home. Heated floors in the rest room. Watch the sunset from Airondeck Chairs on the beach in front of the inn. Light and airy and very comfortable. No negatives at all

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank guestRelationsSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Stone Crest Cellars Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Crest Cellars Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9556 S Coast Hwy, South Beach, OR 97366-9605
Region: United States > Oregon > South Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Beach
Price Range: £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing