We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money or your time!”
Review of Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Inn
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Sutherlin, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Don't waste your money or your time!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The only reason we are giving this place any stars at all is because of Whitney (front desk) and the maid. Checking in was a nightmare We are both disabled and on a limited budget. We checked card balance just before checking in. Went to check in and it kept saying the card was declined. After a re-check of the balance it said that a payment was made to Village Inn. Went back in and Whitney went above and beyond to help us. finally giving us a forced check in until it could all be figured out. We were hot and tired and had a very long drive up and a busy day. The maid (wish I knew her name) was very sweet and helpful. She found the smoke detector wasnt working in the room and had to search a few other rooms to find one that worked. The room smelled nice but we found big cigarette burns in the carpet, Nicotine dripping down the walls of the bathroom and into the room itself and a hole in the wall from where the door knob was hitting it. On our second day we went up to the office to pay for another night as we had to stay one more night for a very important medical appointment. We had to borrow the money from my daughter to do this. After telling the woman at the front desk what a nightmare checking in was she said she would comp the room for the last night. We were thrilled and went to Denny's for dinner and got desert with the money she saved us. Friday rolls around and about 12:30 we get a call from the front desk asking if we were going to stay another night. Uhhh yes it was all arranged and we were told the room was comped for the night. Turns out the woman that comped Friday night had no authority to do that. After going up to the office several times to see what was going on and getting more and more attitude each time we went up we had quite enough. We packed our things and left. When we went to the office to return the key cards we were told we were not welcome back! REALLY?? No worries we will never return! And we intend to tell everyone we know to steer clear of this place! Because we had spent the money we THOUGHT we had we didnt even have enough for a room somewhere else. We ended up spending the night in our car because of this whole mess. May I mention one more time we are disabled!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    20
    10
    20
See reviews for
33
11
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We needed a place for 1 night, quick off the hiway that wasn't downtown Eugene, close to the U of O. AAA rated, but I think maybe only 1 star but in our price range 75-90. We didn't have our book. Comfortable, if slightly retro 70's type of furnishings: basic, basic, basic. Bed soft for most folks. Restaurant next to hotel actually pretty good and Denny's style. Generous 1/2 chef salad, home made croutons, dressings, nice presentation.

Room Tip: Always away from any stairs. You felt every step. Could have a smoking section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Had a 2Q room, disability. Bathroom was fabulous A. Main room was totally typical, a tv, a desk, 2 beds, a heater/ac unit, some blah paintings. Small metal ramp into room. Close to ice machine and back parking lot. Motel is recessed below the busy street of Mohawk (aka 14th) in central Springfield. For newcomers Springfield is long from 1st to about 75th on Main which splits downtown into one-way streets. It has a northern part (mostly houses) and it is cut in half by the I-105 (aka 126 aka Chris Killcullen highway). Its the "freeway" (actually an expressway since it has stoplights on it) that connects 58th in Springfield and Eugene (going e-w) and crosses the I-5 (north and south). Off I-5 is Gateway area which is our mall, and shops and restaurants area. it has the big motels like Holiday Inn, Best Western, etc. The ONLY decent motel that is NOT in the Gateway (aka Beltline area) is the Village inn. It's quiet, has its own restaurant, is across from Izzy's Pizza/buffet, near McDonalds, Subway, Burger King, 2 shopping strip malls, and its RIGHT OFF the I-105. It's probably 5 or so miles from I-5 and 8 miles or so from Eugene. So, if you want quiet, low traffic, nearby amenities and a decent/simple/affordable restaurant (on premises) and you don't need to be near Eugene, this is a good spot. Staff is friendly. If visiting anyone in Springfield its a good location. Its WAY less expensive than the big chains and during big U of O games if the others sell out, this may be your best bet. Dog friendly. Clean. Not fancy, but totally adequate and has everything around it you might need.

Room Tip: The courtyard faces all the rooms on the north side, the restaurant is in the middle and the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My no-compromise items are safe and clean, and this hit both. I am always looking for dog friendly places, and this one is truly dog friendly (as opposed to advertising dog friendly and then giving you an attitude). The room was large, comfortable and quiet and everything worked. The location is great. If you don't need lots of frills, but like a good value, this place is for you.

Room Tip: I'd take the second floor if possible--windows on the first floor look right out onto the parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aichilik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Found this motel by chance and it was a very pleasant stay. Starting off with the desk staff, she was very pleasant and helpful, which is what is needed after a long drive. The rooms were well presented at a very good price. But the icing were the beds. One of the best nights sleep on such a comfortable bed. The only downside were the showers, which were a little week, but nothing's perfect in this world

Room Tip: Just ask for the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It was a struggle finding a place to stay over Labor Day and opening day for U of O football. This hotel was actually mentioned by a competitor.
Overall the place is decent. Nothing really special. But the rate was outstanding for the area!
Something to note is that there is an apartment complex behind this hotel which shares the same name. If you want to swim in the pool you will be using the apartment complex pool, so that was interesting. And they charge you a $10 key deposit.
We did find a dead bug on a pillow. We mentioned it at checkout. They weren't concerned. Also, one of the beds was terrible. Sagged greatly in the middle.
Part of our family went to the Duck game. It was a breeze dropping them off and picking them up. Probably a 5-10 minute drive.
We ate at the Restaurant on site and it was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarandelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langlois, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This had everything I needed and was very comfortable. It's nice to have a good restaurant right there, and the freeway (I-105) is easy to access yet not noisy. The pool is exceptionally nice and refreshing. My only comment is that the refridgerator was noisy and ran all the time. I ended up turning it off at night. And the toilet has a weak flush - had to hold the handle down until the bowl emptied.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
2.6 mi away
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
Super 8 Springfield/Eugene
#2 of 14 in Springfield
462 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Eugene / Springfield
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 14 in Springfield
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Eugene Springfield
5.3 mi away
Valley River Inn
Valley River Inn
#5 of 35 in Eugene
690 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Eugene
Comfort Suites Eugene
#14 of 35 in Eugene
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Inn

Property: Village Inn
Address: 1875 Mohawk Blvd, Springfield, OR 97477-2505
Region: United States > Oregon > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Hotel Springfield
Village Inn Springfield, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing